We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights up our Life”
Review of The Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Berwick
Ranked #199 of 857 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Horley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lights up our Life”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to take our 13 year old daughter to Blackpool to see the lights and found a guest house online and thought we would book it. We were so happy on arrival to find not only was it in a superb location but that the accommodation was comfortable and clean - indeed just like being at home. Yvonne and Eddie were brilliant hosts - always willing to offer help and advice on the local area but also made time to get to know their guests. Superb home cooked food and plenty of it.

We left saying we would be back in 2013 and we have indeed booked to go back in August - can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
67
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent hotel - food and accomodation second to none. Must be one of the best small hotels in Blackpool being situated in probably the best area. Food and accomodation superb - especially the puddings. Yvonne and Eddie were brilliant hosts and ensured our stay was memorable as allways. We will return next year.
David, Jenny, Sarah and Mark

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we had booked a short break for our 25th wedding with our two sons who had never stopped in a guest house before .We were welcomed and treated better than the queen herself .The rooms were spotless the meals were of the highest standard fresh hot and pentiful .Yuonne and Eddy encompassed our lads and all the other guest in conversation and a genuine interest in what they had done during the day we all had good interactions post dinner. Any request was honoured and the host went an extra mile. Ihad never found such proffessionalism of this standard an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: no woorries on any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOSTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here with our 6 week old daughter and was accommodated extremely well. We were offered a travel cot and was placed in a room where we had enough room for our daughter to sleep and for us to move around. The breakfast was amazing and I could eat the toast all day. Before we left we booked ourselves in for next year. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a short break to see Blackpool's illuminations. Son booked The Berwick near to the Cliffs without knowing what to expect. What a revelation! In 'old man's' terms, this is a B&B Guest House but step inside and the quality will take some beating, anywhere! Superb quality decoration, space to move in all the rooms and the food, "home cooked" might suffice but that has been overdone elsewhere and this is real quality home cooked "with a twist". You want the tastiest poached eggs without that taste of vinegar? Got it. Melt-in-the-mouth choccie pudding with Baileys you can really taste? Got it. Roast beef that doesn't taste like roast leather? Got it. Value for money? ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS.

Room Tip: The rooms will not disappoint you - all are quite superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyT49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for such positive comments about the Berwick and us. We appreciate all comments made, but these were especially heart warming. Our home cooked food is very popular with all our guests and requests are frequently made for certain dishes, steak and mushroom pie being a prime example, as well as chocolate sponge with Bailey's cream! All I can say is thank you to your son for choosing The Berwick for your short break to see the illuminations. We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

andy and jayne from stoke on trent we stayed at the berwick this weekend been there before standards were exellent as we new they would be yvonne and eddie were their usual friendley selves warm welcome when we arrived and hot drinks rooms were warm and very clean and comfy had a lovley weekend looking forward to our next stay with them

Room Tip: had room on south side very quiet and warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Berwick again. It was goood to see you and also to meet other members of your family. It is good to hear that our standards are still as good as you remember. We always endeavour to provide quality service and facilities so that guests feel they can return to The Berwick.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

my sister and myself went back for a second time this year in august 2012, evonne and eddie welcomed us with tea and coffee as we arrived , food once again realy nice an home made ,rooms were superb spotless ,

Room Tip: stairs a bit narrow so no lift choose a room on the bottom floor if your getting on in years
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review about the Berwick. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive response. We are asked all the time whether we have a lift or ground floor rooms, but unfortunately due to safety regulations, we are unable to have a lift installed. We unfortunately have no ground floor rooms. We always assist guests with their luggage to their bedroom and will 'fetch and carry' if requested.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 70 in Blackpool
1,490 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,977 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#218 of 857 in Blackpool
131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#309 of 857 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwick

Property: The Berwick
Address: 23 King Edward Avenue | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 857 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berwick is a small, family run guest house in the North Shore area of Blackpool. Recently awarded a 4* rating from The AA. We have 8 en-suite bedrooms providing for mature couples, singles and responsible groups. We pride ourselves on our clean comfortable accommodation with good food and a friendly atmosphere. Evening meals are an optional provision and drinks from our licenced bar are served in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing