We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berwick
Ranked #205 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here with our 6 week old daughter and was accommodated extremely well. We were offered a travel cot and was placed in a room where we had enough room for our daughter to sleep and for us to move around. The breakfast was amazing and I could eat the toast all day. Before we left we booked ourselves in for next year. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
66
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a short break to see Blackpool's illuminations. Son booked The Berwick near to the Cliffs without knowing what to expect. What a revelation! In 'old man's' terms, this is a B&B Guest House but step inside and the quality will take some beating, anywhere! Superb quality decoration, space to move in all the rooms and the food, "home cooked" might suffice but that has been overdone elsewhere and this is real quality home cooked "with a twist". You want the tastiest poached eggs without that taste of vinegar? Got it. Melt-in-the-mouth choccie pudding with Baileys you can really taste? Got it. Roast beef that doesn't taste like roast leather? Got it. Value for money? ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS.

Room Tip: The rooms will not disappoint you - all are quite superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyT49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for such positive comments about the Berwick and us. We appreciate all comments made, but these were especially heart warming. Our home cooked food is very popular with all our guests and requests are frequently made for certain dishes, steak and mushroom pie being a prime example, as well as chocolate sponge with Bailey's cream! All I can say is thank you to your son for choosing The Berwick for your short break to see the illuminations. We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

andy and jayne from stoke on trent we stayed at the berwick this weekend been there before standards were exellent as we new they would be yvonne and eddie were their usual friendley selves warm welcome when we arrived and hot drinks rooms were warm and very clean and comfy had a lovley weekend looking forward to our next stay with them

Room Tip: had room on south side very quiet and warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Berwick again. It was goood to see you and also to meet other members of your family. It is good to hear that our standards are still as good as you remember. We always endeavour to provide quality service and facilities so that guests feel they can return to The Berwick.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the comments you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

my sister and myself went back for a second time this year in august 2012, evonne and eddie welcomed us with tea and coffee as we arrived , food once again realy nice an home made ,rooms were superb spotless ,

Room Tip: stairs a bit narrow so no lift choose a room on the bottom floor if your getting on in years
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review about the Berwick. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive response. We are asked all the time whether we have a lift or ground floor rooms, but unfortunately due to safety regulations, we are unable to have a lift installed. We unfortunately have no ground floor rooms. We always assist guests with their luggage to their bedroom and will 'fetch and carry' if requested.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our reason for visiting Blackpool was to meet up with relatives from the South who wanted to see the Illuminations and The Berwick provided an excellent base for us. Yvonne and Eddie never let their high standards slip once. Excellent accommodation, very clean and welcoming. The bedroom we had was roomy, warm, well furnished with extremely comfortable beds. We were expecting a very small en-suite shower but were pleasantly surprised. All towels and bedding were of good quality and well-laundered. Breakfast was excellent (perfectly poached eggs!) and the choice for both breakfast and dinner very good indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Berwick. We welcome all comments made by our guests and are very pleased when we succeed in satisfying their needs. It was lovely to meet the two of you and hope the next time you visit relatives you will use us as your base again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Blackpool is reviving and in no small part due to excellent little hotels like the Berwick. Owners Eddie and Yvonne provide above and beyond service with a personal yet non intrusive touch. The rooms are also a very pleasant surprise - roomy, airy and with all amenities. Would definitely recommend and would stay there in preference to the many larger establishments.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
It was lovely to meet the family of two of our regular guests.It is always good to be able to put a face to a person we hear so much about. when your parents stay with us.
We thank you for taking the time to write a review and appreciate the comments you have put.
Blackpool is moving forward with lots of changes and improvements and we hope to be a part of that for the foreseeable future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at "The Berwick" for a few days from 5th September and would like to take this opportunity of thanking Eddie and Yvonne for their friendly welcome and thoughtfulness during our stay. We were bed and breakfast which was magic. Our room was very comfortable and extemely clean. A credit to Eddie and Yvonne. Would certainly recommend this hotel and will most certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Berwick.
One of our priotities here is the comfort of our guests and according to your comments we are achieving this. WE like to think of all our guests as being part of an extended family and we look forward to your return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Remo Apartments
San Remo Apartments
#47 of 130 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#243 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwick

Property: The Berwick
Address: 23 King Edward Avenue | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star quality multi-award winning Berwick offers a relaxing break and is one of the best small accommodation providers in Blackpool. Beautifully decorated guest bedrooms with TVs, hospitality trays, hairdryers and complimentary toiletries; comfortable TV lounge and spacious dining room. Homemade food and excellent service. 2nd place in the Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism Guest Accommodation of the Year 2007/8: Gold National Clean Air Award: Healthier Hotel Award. Official birthplace of Jaguar cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing