We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”
Review of Osborne Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Osborne Hotel
Ranked #614 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good time”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a very nice time, the landlord and landlady were very welcoming. The hotel was very clean, the food was excellent over all we had a very good time.
John and Joyce.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I am looking to visit the Lakes this year and a great stopping of point will be the Osborne Where I stayed a number of years back. It was neat, clean and extremely friendly with a great breakfast but pride of place goes to Dave's Shepherd's Pie I will post a request note before I arrive. The Osborne is great value.
Anthony

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

After our original Blackpool booking thru expedia fell thru when we checked in, we were eventually found alternate accommodation at The Osborne.
A basic family room with basic amenities, but just what we needed. (far better than sleeping in our car!!!).
We found all the UK beds too small (we are used to a Queen size being 6'1 & 5'9 tall)
A mini fridge would have been very useful for milk etc with 2 kids.
Perfect location.
We had a park spot, although parking could be an issue with so many hotels in the street!
Breakfast was great, as were our hosts.
We have already recommended The Osborne to friends who are planning to travel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The location was fine. The room was very below average. It was supposed to be a family room - there was a three quarter bed and a bunk plus a very small bathroom which just managed to fit a toilet, small sink and tiny shower. Really not sure how three stars have been awarded here?

However, the main point of this review is to highlight the rude, obnoxious, threatening behaviour which we encountered from the owner of this place.

My children and I arrived mid afternoon and we were let in to our room by the owner whilst my husband was parking the car. Once my husband arrived we headed out for a walk. At about five o'clock we returned to the room to freshen up. The lock on our door was broken and we couldn't get in to the room.

I found the owner eventually who tried the door himself. He then proceeded to say that it was somehow our fault and therefore our problem!! The lock had apparently been working for years with no problems. He was not to be reasoned with - in fact he was quite aggressive and intimidating. We had our children with us aged 2 and 4, and were not about to have a row with him or indeed break down the door ourselves (my husband is a barrister and a criminal damage charge would not be good!). Also, we are not argumentative people.

We called a local locksmith, which we paid for ourselves and he got in to the room in about ten seconds. He said that the locks are extremely cheap and loose and that the catch had locked the door itself when we closed it (it was an old loose Yale lock). He said that it is most definitely not the first time it had happened.

I am not a complainer - look at my other reviews, but in all my life I have never come across a situation where I have had to pay for a hotel's maintenance.

Breakfast was supposedly included - we were downstairs at eight the following morning and there was no-one to be seen. We were glad to leave.

Stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 2 unless you are a locksmith.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michelehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Osborne Hotel
New Osborne Hotel
#328 of 858 in Blackpool
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#209 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#313 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Property: Osborne Hotel
Address: 31 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #614 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing