We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant new year”
Review of Helmshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Helmshore Hotel
Ranked #197 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Brilliant new year”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a fantastic stay my family have just had with Terry, Jenny and their whole family. They made us so welcome and they were amazing hosts, they were so kind and welcoming throughout the stay, nothing is too much trouble for them. I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicarl7879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    38
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
58
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from staying at the helmshore for new year. There was seventeen of us in our group and we were made to feel very welcome by Terry and Jenny. Room was lovely and comfortable. We would definetly recommend anyone to stay here first class.. We will definetly be returning..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_myers_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

stayed here for three days when attending dance comp in blackpool tower.
terry was a very good host and there was a lot of kids staying in our group, dont no how he kept hes head onlolkids had so much enregy, but he was always pleasent. kids loved the snooker table and music with disco lights. rooms were warm and clean. hotel is in great location to all sites and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a good location. Jenny and Terry make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Hotel is spotlessly clean. Lovely room, nice and warm. Really comfortable bed. Breakfast is first class. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Blackpool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having stayed in July and had a great day, I decided to book again I was glad I did it was another fantastic stay, Jenny & Terry are amazing hosts they are so kind and welcoming throughout the stay nothing is too much trouble for them, Jenny also very kindly talked us through the discount we could receive on the Merlin attractions around Blackpool which we purchased & was a fantastic day out! The room was fantastic had an amazing view of the Tower lit up in the night. The room was very warm & specious! Looking forward to booking more stays with Jenny & Terry throughout next year! I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Friend and I stayed during our Northern Soul Weekend. It was perfect for what we needed, close to the Blackpool Tower, rooms really comfi, breakfast lovely, just what we needed after a nite of dancing.
The owners we really approachale, very helpful, nothing was a bother.

Room Tip: has a lift to all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of the illuminations.Very friendly owners, nice little bar area with a pool table, very child friendly.The breakfast was excellent ,with a good selection to chose from.Parking (over the road from the hotel) was arranged by Jenny in advance .We had a family room with en suite & tea & coffee making facilities.The room was so warm & comfortable. Its the only time I've ever had a warm room in Blackpool! Overall a graet stay, will definately be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laaheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#40 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alviston Hotel
The Alviston Hotel
#748 of 853 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charnley Gold Hotel
Charnley Gold Hotel
#80 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#119 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#239 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Talbot House
#718 of 853 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helmshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmshore Hotel

Property: Helmshore Hotel
Address: 24-28 Charnley Road | Central, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helmshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family hotel, the Helmshore is under the personal supervision of the owners, Terry and Jenny. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well furnished and equipped with colour televisions, tea making facilities, continental bedding and heating. There are five ground floor rooms available. Our large, comfortable bar, lounge and games room is an ideal rendezvous for meeting friends old and new. Here you can relax with a drink or enjoy a game of pool. Coach parties, conference delegates and dancers all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Helmshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing