We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest hotel ever! :)”
Review of Helmshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helmshore Hotel
Ranked #220 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Helmshore. Have to admit im usually only pushed to write reviews as a warning to others but i just had to say i (and the other girls in our party) were very impressed with how warm and welcoming the owners are, they just couldnt do enough to make sure we were all happy and well looked after from the minute we arrived, have honestly never experienced such genuine friendliness from anywhere ive ever stayed before. The lovely couple that run it were always on hand and at breakfast they even remembered that 2 of us were vegetarians, having mentioned it the day before (was amazed as there were so many other guests including another large party) and made us meat free sausages and made sure we had loads of tea, coffee and toast. The place itself is ideally placed, we even had a perfect view of the tower from the bathroom window! Rooms were minimalist but had flat screen tv and the beds were very comfortable. Fair enough the decor could do with updating but i suppose thats part of the blackpool b&b charm. Everywhere was clean tidy and presentable overall. Theres a lift to all floors which was a life saver plus a sheltered private area right outside the bar for smokers. Had a great time, made even better by the accomodation, which for the price we paid we honestly werent expecting anything like this. Will be recommending this lovely place to anyone heading to blackpool, hope i get the chance to go back myself.

Room Tip: No swimming pool/fitness centre -accidently marked it and cant undo for some reason! My room tip w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helmshore, Owner at Helmshore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review
Really appreciate the great comments about the staff and food etc
Sorry about your towels! The staff do room tidy's daily and are told
If towels are on floor or shower tray to exchange if they are on towel rail to
Leave so apology's for this oversight
Hope to see you all again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just back from 3 days in Blackpool,stayed at the Helmshore hotel in Charnley Road.Staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.Room was clean and beds were really comfortable,tea and coffee were supplied and replenished each day,only thing i could moan about is if you like fresh towels each day take some of your own.The breakfast was excellent and there was a choice if you don't like full english every day, i had elderly parents with me and they didn't leave a thing on their plates.Hotel has a lift so really handy if you can't manage stairs.It is also in a great location for all that Blackpool has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Fantastic Hotel, hosts Terry & Jenny make you feel so welcome. Fantastic breakfasts with plenty to eat, staff asking repeatedly if you want more tea / coffee & toast, hotel staff are very friendly. En-Suite rooms are lovely & clean with flat screen tv`s, welcome tray & extremely comfortable beds. Lift to all floors, lovely brand new carpet in reception & stairs. Jenny always asks if everything is alright. Have been coming to The Helmshore for years, well done Terry & Jenny.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helmshore, Owner at Helmshore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your great review always nice when guests return
Year after year we really appreciate your loyalty
Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff also
For noticing the new carpets it was a huge job!
Very busy re vamping rooms at the moment
Look forward to seeing you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Helmshore last weekend for a hen party. There were 41 of us, and I must say Terry and Jenny couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. excellent value for money, breakfast included which was really nice, and if you sweet talk Tezza he'll keep the bar open til you drop! They take everything I their stride, can't do enough for you and the hotel is clean, tidy and in a good location. Would defo go back. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helmshore, Owner at Helmshore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review
We really appreciate it so glad the girls had a great time
Hope to see you all next year for a re union?
Regards to all the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My self and 3 friends stayed for one night 7th July. Greeted by Jenny upon arrival, We arrived several hours early but Jenny said the room was available so we were allowed to go straight up to our room which was fantastic, the room was really welcoming and spotless, nice size flat screen tv and the beds where extremely comfortable, Breakfast was at 9am the staff were very friendly and breakfast was really nice generous portions, we were constantly asked if we would like more toast, tea/coffee which was superb, Jenny came round to everyones tables asking how everyone was etc she is such a lovely lady. Would definitely stay again planning to hopefully return in September and have already recommended to friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed one night 29 June. Greeted by the friendly owners, Jenny and Terry. Check-in quick and Jenny took us to our room on the ground floor. Lovely room, spotlessly clean, nice white towels and walk-in shower in the bathroom. Kettle, tea coffee etc and flat screen tv in the room. Very comfortable bed. Lift to other floors and down to bar area and restaurant. Security good, given an outside door key. Breakfast was at 9am and the waiting staff were very friendly. Excellent breakfast and we were constantly asked if you would like more toast, tea etc. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helmshore, Owner at Helmshore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for the great comments
Sorry for taking so long in responding but have
Been busy really enjoyed our chats about all the terrific
Places you both have travelled to
Hoping on a return visit to hear about your latest travel
Adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Myself and 40 others have just returned from another great week at the Helmshore Hotel thanks to Jenny, Terry and their staff. The food was great as usual especially the breakfast, the rooms are very clean and comfortable with plenty tea coffee etc. The lift is as added bonus especially for the elderly. The downstairs lounge and bar provides us with lots of fun and entertainment. The friendly atmosphere at the Helmshore is second to none and we have already booked our return visit next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnsmith_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel - Adults Only
0 mi away
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
#98 of 137 in Blackpool
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#282 of 864 in Blackpool
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helmshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmshore Hotel

Address: 24-28 Charnley Road | Central, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $70 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helmshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family hotel, the Helmshore is under the personal supervision of the owners, Terry and Jenny. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well furnished and equipped with colour televisions, tea making facilities, continental bedding and heating. There are five ground floor rooms available. Our large, comfortable bar, lounge and games room is an ideal rendezvous for meeting friends old and new. Here you can relax with a drink or enjoy a game of pool. Coach parties, conference delegates and dancers all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Helmshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing