We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and inviting...........Would recommend to all.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helmshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helmshore Hotel
Ranked #228 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and inviting...........Would recommend to all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I Stayed here with a group of 9 other girls for the Saturday night over the Jubilee weekend and have to say we all found the Hotel lovely, the owners and Staff were really friendly and helpful especially Jenny......I would certainly recommend this Hotel to all (In fact our only complaint was to our group leader for not booking us in for an extra day haha.)
Thanks to Jenny, Terry and staff for helping to make our weekend an enjoyable one :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XX7Angel7XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    36
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the helmshore for my hen weekend and it was a fantastic hotel. the service was excellent, the rooms were lovely and the overall experience was one i wont be forgetting. thank you for making my weekend one to remember

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbienandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I took a group of 30+ people (the majority of whom were senior citizens) to Blackpool for 4 nights - by choosing the Helmshore the trip was made so much more simple and enjoyable - I encountered far fewer minor complaints than I was anticipating and the few that were aired were quickly and pleasently resolved by Jenny and her staff. I had no problems with the either the quality or selection of food on offer (unusual for such numbers) nor had I any difficulties in making special arrangements for meal times. The Hotel was well situated for our purposes (access to tghe Winter Gardens and local shops) and everyone appeared to sleep well once they went to bed - Terry was remakable in this area by providing an extremely efficient late evening bar service for all. Working on a tight budget meant that we anticipated a drop in expectations and although the hotel would not be described as luxury it more than made up fo rthe lack of frills by providing a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.
Of the problems encountered two regarded kettles and were resolved a) by plugging the first one in and b) by removing excess water from the second - both were sorted out straight away and in a pleasant manner - one or two moans were heard about the lift - but with only one lift serving the number of people and, due to our itinerary, with everyone using at at roughly the same time this was unavoidable.
Overall I would reccommend this Hotel to anyone as a good base for a short break in Blackpool due to its location, value and hospitality all combing to provide the best possible platform for an enjoyable time in the area

Room Tip: Smokers be aware some of the smoking rooms are very small - make sure you know what you are giving u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comet218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed from Friday to Monday over the 2011 New Year celebrations. Can I just say what a warm and relaxing atmosphere this hotel has. Thanks to Terry and Jenny and all there staff for a fabulous weekend. Breakfast was no problem for any of there staff, 'do you need any more toast, any more tea, can I get you anything else', what polite staff this couple have employed. can't wait for 2012 New Year celebrations. Thank you Terry and Jenny (and staff) for making us feel part of your family Hotel x

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is the perfect place for families and the welcome is second to one. Terry and jenny make the blackpool experience feel warm and welcome, they really make you feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

stayed for 3 nights over new years eve the room was fab the hosts terry and jenny brill and best of all the breakfasts were superb.. we haved booked again already..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed over New Year had a fantastic time. Rooms clean and tidy. Fantastic host's terry and jenny. Makes you feel "at ease” in their company. Food is gorgeous. Bar is well stocked and just a brilliant hotel. Would recommend to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coocad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Alviston Hotel
The Alviston Hotel
#789 of 913 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#226 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charnley Gold Hotel
Charnley Gold Hotel
#72 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#108 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bradleys Hotel
Bradleys Hotel
#339 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franklyn Hotel
Franklyn Hotel
#260 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helmshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmshore Hotel

Property: Helmshore Hotel
Address: 24-28 Charnley Road | Central, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helmshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family hotel, the Helmshore is under the personal supervision of the owners, Terry and Jenny. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well furnished and equipped with colour televisions, tea making facilities, continental bedding and heating. There are five ground floor rooms available. Our large, comfortable bar, lounge and games room is an ideal rendezvous for meeting friends old and new. Here you can relax with a drink or enjoy a game of pool. Coach parties, conference delegates and dancers all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Helmshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing