We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Henson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henson Hotel
Ranked #255 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Egham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We used to come to blackpool a lot when we were younger with the kids.now they have grow up and we have come back to a diamond of a hotel.the henson is fantastic, we booked the clifton suite and what a room.large screen tv,enough room to swing several cats, two settes, a reclining chair all in leather and the biggest bed you have ever seen.the staff are friendly an most helpful, the breakfast was lovely, we also had the 3 course evening meals which were very good, we could not have asked for more.they deserve 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: The clifton suite costs a little more but I think it's worth the money.it's the biggest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davej1719, Owner at Henson Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for your superb review , hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    96
    22
    20
    13
See reviews for
96
98
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

another weekend in sunny blackpool, the henson hotel was situated just opposite the big blue hotel near the pleasure beach. very welcoming reception. on the friday night we had booked to go and see the viva show which we enjoyed although it was a little repetative in the second half. saturday we ate at the hotel, food was simple but very good. we then went for a walk and came back later to watch the evening entertainment. bingo was included which im not a really big fan of but it was made entertaining. then later the comedian came on not bad had a few laughs. oh i forgot to mention we had a problem with the shower, but as soon as we reported it it was fixed within 15 mins. breakfast was good lovely bacon. all in all a good 2 day break. the good thing about blackpool your not ripped off for drinks and food because there is so much competition.take it as you find it and just enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanette078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break. Made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Dave , Sue and their team all work well together and nothing is too much trouble. The girls in the dining room were lovely. My 4 year old, Oliver, was really pleased as after asking his name on arrival was used through out the stay. It's these touches that make the difference. Room was clean and spacious ( 51 ) there was a gap in the room door at the bottom however we didn't hear any noise. Parking, added bonus. Breakfast was plentiful and a great choice. Only had dinner once, both opted for salads as it was warm, theses were very basic. Bar area spacious and nice outside seating area. Location looks onto the pleasure beach, couple minute walk to the beach and tram stop. Will definitely be coming back here next time we are in Blackpool. :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

just got back home today after staying 2 nights in the henson hotel, the hotle inside is very clean and they have made a real effort with the decor inside the hotel, we had breakfast on thurs and today and it was very nice and there is lots to choose from and the bacon is of good quality (although i prefer mine a little more well done). We had our evening meal last night and again there was plenty to choose from and it was very nice, the dining room is large and very clean, the bar area is also large with a dance floor but unfortunatly no disco or entertainment as it was pretty quiet. The beach is very very close and the pleasure beach is across the rd and there is plenty of shops and pubs and arcades about a 10 min walk away,the staff were friendly and helpfull and yes we would go again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheffieldsam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over the weekend - arrived friday afternoon, checked in quickly and easily then walked the couple of hundred yards to check out the sea front before popping in to the pleasure beach for the afternoon. Tram stop close by took us to the Tower the following day. Dave the owner is always on hand and happy to help, and never seems to sleep - entertaining guests into the late night, and assisting with the breakfast the next morning. The saturday night cabaret was brilliant - a singer / comedian with a great voice and a wealth of jokes. Overall the hotel was great value for money, and brilliantly located - walking distance to everything, but not too close to disrupt sleep. Please note, this review is for the Hotel, NOT for Blackpool itself...I'll leave that up to you.

Room Tip: We had room 10 - only up one floor, not much of a view but we were out most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Henson this weekend on a very reasonable deal we saw advertised online months ago. The hotel, although being rather dated (this doesn't detract from the experience at all) was fantastic. The room was small, but big enough for what we needed, with a clean and comfortable bed. Everything you would expect was available in the room, including en-suite facilities, clean towels and plenty of milk which you often don't get in some hotels. The two breakfasts we had were top class, quality ingredients beautifully cooked, and served with a smile by Dave. We were able to park the car outside for free. The entertainment on Sat night was top class and we were ably entertained by Tony Rydal who is one funny man and a great singer to boot. We didn't need to ask for anything else but feel sure that any requests we had would have been fulfilled with a smile by Dave and Sue. Also any stories we heard about the demise of Blackpool are greatly over-rated and untrue - Blackpool was alive! We will be back and will stay at the Henson.

Room Tip: The lift gives easy access to the second floor and the rooms at the front have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbriangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on a kgbdeal, quick and pleasant check in, able to check in early as room was ready. We forgot our voucher to confirm deal so asked my daughter to emailed a copy of it through to hotel, panic over. Room small but very clean and fresh looking, thankfully it did not get direct sun as think the heat would have been unbearable in it. We had roast beef dinner on first night which was in with kgbdeal, disappointing, dried up roast potatoes and over cooked frozen veg but breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and fresh cooked. Enjoyed our stay and the hot weather was a bonuses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaylady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#22 of 860 in Blackpool
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Hotel

Property: Henson Hotel
Address: 23 Clifton Drive, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Henson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Pleasure Beach on the Blackpool's South Promenade, this friendly, family-run hotel has free parking and free Wi-Fi. With modern rooms and a bar, there are also delicious breakfasts. Blackpool's lively town centre and famous piers are less than 2 miles up the coast. Blackpool Tower is a 5-minute drive away, passing restaurants and shops on the way. The Henson Hotel is just 50 metres from Blackpool Pleasure Beach Train Station, and 1 mile from Blackpool Airport. Each of the rooms has a TV, free tea and coffee and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a separate lounge area with sofas, and a large flat-screen TV. The bar and games room offer good views of the sunset, and Henson Hotel provides seasonal entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Henson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing