We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly place to stay in blackpool”
Review of The Hotel Wilmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Wilmar
Ranked #165 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We found this little jem mant years ago and with its current owners it just gets better. Ideal for the pleasure beach, it is still close to the tram and bus lines for trips to town but without the noise of a central hotel. From the moment you arrive nothing is to much trouble weather it be extra pillows or special diets, and Derick and Rian do all in there powers, and more, to make yoyr stay special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Wilmar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

The B&B is in a great location for the Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Rhianon and Derek who run the B&B were so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was fantastic - at last a B&B who don't serve slimey oil covered food. Portions were generous and cooked to perfection. The whole place was clean. Had a great stay and the overall experience at the B&B added to that. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Lovely B&B.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJK3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Family of 6 (2 teenage girls, 2 young lads).We chose the Wilmar on the strength of all the positive reviews we read and it was easy to see why Derek and Rhiannons Hotel was held in such high regard. Our rooms were clean, bright and homely, the beds were comfy, the Breakfast was marvelous and plentiful and nothing seemed too much trouble for Derek and Rhiannon who were warm and friendly and great with our children. There were also lovely touches such as a cup of tea as soon as we arrived, chocolate mints on the pillows and bottled water in the rooms. The location is perfect, a short walk (couple of hundred yards) to the pleasure beach and prom and just far enough away not to be disturbed by noise at night. A great family friendly hotel.We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteHalifax_WYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Great food spotless rooms and fantastic owners. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Great location.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert220562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Derek and Rhian are fantastic hosts. We were warmly greeted, given a parking space right outside the door and then received a cup of tea which was lovely after a long journey.

Derek was very helpful when it came to choosing where to go out to eat and booking us the taxi to get there. We didn't have to lift a finger!

Our room was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping in a strange bed. My hubby said the cooked breakfast was delicious whereas I had chosen a simple toast and cereal - it was great to have the option.

We would definitely stay here again when visiting Blackpool.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTKilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I read all the reviews listed about the Wilmar and hoped they were all true. I was thrilled to discover they were. If you're looking for the friendliest hosts, a wonderful breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms, you'll be very pleased with what the Wilmar can offer you.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaySumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

just got back from what was the best guest house we have stayed in in blackpool.the room we stopped in was clean and tidy.bed was realy comfortable and shower was perfect.rhianne and derek made you feel like you was going from home to home.very plesent and great people who couldnt do enough for you to make it a realy great stay.
last thing of all was the most amazing breakfast that we have ever had while away from home,the more you eat the bigger the breakfast came out next day.we have already booked up again and cant wait to go back their.so if you dont believe my write up on this go and try it yourself and you wont be dissapointed.thanks again rhianne and derek.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langroyd Hotel
Langroyd Hotel
#89 of 859 in Blackpool
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Beckwood Hotel
#724 of 859 in Blackpool
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jeanne
Hotel Jeanne
#192 of 859 in Blackpool
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#189 of 859 in Blackpool
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Wilmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilmar

Address: 42 Osborne Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $58 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Wilmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Wilmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing