We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast Comfortable bed BUT”
Review of The Glenroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glenroy Hotel
Ranked #200 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stoke
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good breakfast Comfortable bed BUT”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Although Pat and his mum made us very welcome,served an excellent breakfast and supplied a very comefortable bed, other parts of the hotel need upgrading. It was like stepping back to the late 60s early 70s,the decor is predominatly Dark Red with red carpets, the dinning room is tudor style with beamed and artex walls ,beams in Dark Red artex in Gloss magnolia with green bench seating,Our bedroom was a large front room but unfortunatly it had been made into 2 small doubles leaving only 9 inches between the bottom of the bed and the wall, the en-suite shower hand basin and toilet were housed in a wardrobe size room 3ft x8ft.and the wardrobe its self was an awful canvass thing. If the place was bought up to date it would be a nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royston7049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
59
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Firstly i would like to thank Pat and him mum Maureen for there hospitality, Nothing was to much trouble for them and they even gave us a poker mat and some chips to play with on one evening.
I and 5 lads visited for my stag weekend in Blackpool. There was no prejudice as there are with some hotels about booking for a group of lads and they accommodated very well.
Pat gave us some brilliant advice to help us stay out of trouble in Blackpool and told us the best places to go and things that we could do.
Hung-over both mornings the breakfast was wonderful and generous. The cup of tea really helped with the hangover too!
Will defiantly be staying in this hotel next time.
Thank you very much

Alan Cox

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

After over 30 years of holidaying in Blackpool with my family, My wife and I discovered the Glenroy Hotel years ago and believe me "It's the BEST hotel in Blackpool".

Pat & Mo (Mum) are the nicest most down to earth people you could ever meet, they are so accommodating with any request you have --- Breakfast --- MMMMmmmmm.

Having stayed here year after year the infrastructural improvements that Pat & Mum have made is unbelievable, Every penny profit must go back in to this lovely little hotel.

No matter who your party consist of you'll be made welcome ie:- My wife and I went for a "Kid's free" weekend and sat up late (Sep '08) joining other couples for a late night drink in the bar with the brilliant (Adult orientated) banter greatly appreciated.

We then visited again (With our two kids in Oct '09) and as a few of the other guest's started to get a bit merry with the language - Pat asked them (Politely & firmly) to mind there P's & Q's in front of kids (Which they did & apologized) .... Pat's a true gent ....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weefatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Very good location, central to everything Service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble for Pat or his mum. Breakfast was fantastic everything done as requested. Relaxing on the front wth a cold beer or Southern Comfort just perfect

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Glenroy and what a wonderful time we had,Pat and his mum Maureen are terrific it was like visiting family.The hotel was spotless the service was 1st class.We will definitely visiting pat and his mum again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmariebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel, and what a fab time we had. Pat and his mum Maureen made us very very welcome. You would think they had known us for years.On arrival we were greeted with a hot cup of tea and coffee. Pat even took our suitcase up to our room. We can not praise these two people and their hotel enough. Nothing was any trouble to them. The food was excellent and the rooms were spotless. The bed was nice and cosy. Pat is a good laught and a good barman, we will be returning in the autumn to see the lights and we will defienatley be stopping their.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edithmayTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2010

On arrival Pat made us very welcome and offered us tea and coffee.
He showed us to our room which was warm and very clean.The bed was very comfortable with feather pillows.
The location was ideal, being just yards from the seafront but far enough away not to suffer with noise.
The bar was well stocked and Pat was the perfect host staying up late to the early hours, sorry Pat !!!!!!
.Breakfast was excellent, a good filler for the day ahead. We would fully recommend Pats hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floristDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,968 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 69 in Blackpool
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beechwood Guesthouse
The Beechwood Guesthouse
#139 of 858 in Blackpool
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenroy Hotel

Property: The Glenroy Hotel
Address: 10 Trafalgar Road, Blackpool FY1 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ae a family run traditional bed and breakfast - where we pride ourselves on our friendly and 1st class service with free wi-fi and a fully licensed bar. We have 10 rooms which are all en-suite and have flat screen digital televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing