We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Richie's Stag Do”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lark Inn
Ranked #190 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Richie's Stag Do”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

To call it crap would be unfair, but it looks clean to start the weekend and ends up filthy - which is only down to the clientele and the fact nothing gets cleaned over the weekend.

Beware, the wash / toilet facilities are typical of Blackpool in the 70's / 80's - right down to the old fashioned wash basins in the rooms! they'd go for a fortune as Retro! I counted a total of around 35 people there at one point, and i only found 2 working showers and 3 toilets! It's a rough ride and suited to people who like flared jeans, 3 day working weeks and Watney's Red Barrell!!

If it's for a Stag or Hen night you're ok - and for the older members of your party you can get a night's Kip (the music there is loud, but you can hardly hear it in the rooms).

The breakfast is chaos, though Gill (?) trys very hard and is always helpfull. Don't expect good home cooking - my 80 year old mother has always been a rotten cook, but her breakfast is better!!

Overall, Blackpool tries its best to rip visitors off, is appallingly racist, full of the sort of young men football got rid of 20 years ago and hasnt got a decent pint or food outlet in it!!

The Lark Inn is a rough ride in a rough area of a rough town

Come to Cardiff, you'll think you're in paradise!!

Room Tip: There are a couple of Ensuties - demand one (& extra sets of keys - the front door will lock on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    24
    13
    8
    20
See reviews for
51
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

it was a pleasure staying at the the lark inn he was very welcoming and friendly. he showed me where my room was and it was very clean and tidy. the breakfast was very nice i got what i asked for. i will definatley stay there again it was a pleasure to stay there thankyou x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

As we walked in we were greeted with clouds of smoke that hits the back of your throat like getting hit by a bus at 60mph. The music was at a nightclub level at 3 in the afternoon with not a sole in there (maybe he was practising his moves when alone). Asked him if we could pay by card he said yes but insisted we pay cash and directed us to the nearest atm. Got to our room (think of a box room then halve the size) which was tiny and a wet patch on the floor that i'm hoping was a radiator leak as i stepped in it a couple of times. The room itself looked clean until you take a closer look behind the headboard full of dust and questionable looking stains.The noise was at its loudest while we were trying to get to sleep with the music blasting till 4 in the morning and people walking past our room shouting at each other and the gaffer coming down and shouting louder than the people who were originally shouting which led us to having none to very little sleep.The bathroom was tiny but the shower was the 1 of 2 decent things about the place the other was the brekkie which was pretty good your standard full english with orange juice and cuppa tea/coffee.

Room Tip: to choose a good room try a different place maybe a hostel or shop door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here for the last weekend of the illuminations, had a very good time, location is very close to the town and sea front meaning we could walk everywhere from the hotel without need for cabs.
Room was quite basic but had everything we needed and I loved the crispy clean white bedding and comfortable bed. Breakfast was quite good as well with all you can eat cereal, toast, fruit juice and full English on offer. Thank-you we will be back

Room Tip: We had room 5 it is a quite big double with en-suite and a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good all round value and service. Loved the bar with a pol ta ble that was open until 4am good value drinks and free jukebox was a bonus. Missed breakfast because we were out so late but it smelt lovely wafting through the building in the morning. Thanks we will be back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freddddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/w
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've been staying here for the last 2-3 years now and try to get there about twice a year. Each time we stay we are met with very friendly , accommodating staff who are more than happy to help. Our rooms are not full of things we dont need instead we had very airy bright rooms with just what we wanted , tv ,comfy clean bed, coffee and lots of time to relax. With free wifi for use it was bliss to be away from home and still be able to keep an eye on whats going on. The breakfast is also a treat as theres pleanty on offer its all freshly done to order. The location is a short but relaxing walk to places we visit and and the end of our day we can head back for a very warm welcome again at the hotel bar.I must mention the Free parking which is a huge bonus in Blackpool, Excellent value for money and they always go that extra Golden mile for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sham6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Excellent, rooms clean, tidy, everything you wanted, tea, coffee, towels and flatscreen digital TV. Staff were very helpfull, espeically Joe on reception.all staff helpfull with entertainment, transport and gave service over and beyond what we expected of a Blackpool B&B. Couldn't fault them at all. Breakfast was great as well I asked for secoconds and a second full engish which went down well after a late night out in the town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#18 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#67 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Langroyd Hotel
Langroyd Hotel
#90 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lexham Hotel
Lexham Hotel
#366 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#283 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lark Inn

Property: The Lark Inn
Address: 41-43 Banks Street, Blackpool FY1 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lark Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lark Inn Provides B & B Accommodation in the heart of Blackpool. The Lark Inn occupies an ideal position on the corner of Banks Street and Lord Street in the heart of Blackpool adjacent to the Promenade and only 100 meters from the train station and a very short walk from the bus station, Funny Girls, Winter Gardens, conference centre, ballrooms, Tower, Hounds Hill Shopping Centre, theatres, night clubs and bars. You can enjoy a full English cooked breakfast prepared by our resident chef, ensuring only freshly prepared quality food is served. Our 17 comfortable bedrooms all have central heating, television, tea/coffee making facilities,towels and some have en-suite facilities. The hotel has a well stocked late licensed bar with large screen TV, Music, Games Machines, Pool table. Well behaved groups welcome at The Lark Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lark Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing