We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"We Loved It, Great Value For Money"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crest

The Crest
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crest
Ranked #801 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"We Loved It, Great Value For Money"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is now the second time my fiancé and I have now been to The Crest, same time of year for the last 2 years end of July/start of August Mon-Fri. We have stayed in the Premier en-suite double room which is very clean and comfortable, it offers everything we possibly need, not a huge room but we were more than happy with it. Gary the owner is very nice and is more than happy to answer any questions, when we have made use of the bar the prices were very reasonable and again had a good wee chat with Gary. The full breakfast is fab value for money and very tasty, great way to start a busy day in Blackpool. The Crest is in a great location as it is just one street back from the promenade at central pier, everything is within walking distance or you can jump on one of the trams which are reasonably priced. There are so many comments about The Crest being across the road from the job centre and a sex shop but what is the problem??? You don't get any bother from any of these places. The street is very busy to try and get parked but on both of our visits we have been very lucky to get parked after sitting waiting for 10-15mins then the car stays there until we are ready to go home. Over all we would recommend The Crest as we loved it. Hopefully we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Premier En-Suite Double room which has a lovely 4 poster bed and bay wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is our second stay at the crest and both times we have been made to feel extremely welcome. We have stayed in both their on suite room and as we nicknamed it the broom cupboard, they were both very comfortable and offered us exactly what we wanted a sound nights sleep after a long day of exploring Blackpool and fleetwood. Please bear in mind though this is not the Hilton but a good traditional B & B

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Gary the owner was brilliant very sociable if we needed info he tried to help bar was open when we went in morning,afternoon,evening price was very cheap rooms were very clean and tidy with fresh towels free view T.V tea coffee facilities comfy beds got back 3 days and looking forward to next year it is opposite a sex shop and job center but they have to go some where lol there was n winos or pervs hanging around them and every where was a 15 min walk from hotel (26/08/11)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethalloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Did not recieve the confirmation i was told i would get.
Parking was as expected, could not park outside the hotel, had to park a street or two away. Though I was able to move my car to the front of the hotel later when the Blackpool day visitors had gone home.
We did not mind how the street looked as all we wanted was to be central to the pleasure beach and tower, so for us the location was great.
On check in was asked to sign and given our key. Was told we had to fill in a form if we wanted breakfast in the morning, which we didnt bother with so cannot comment on breakfast. Did not see the owner again during our stay as the bar was never open and he was never around.
The delux room looked nice initialy, bright and modern. The four poster bed was very comfy. Then we discovered the en suite.. A tiny room with a toilet and shower, no sink as this is in the bedroom next to the bed. The bathroom door is a half wood and half glass spacesaver door, which doesnt even shut nevermind lock. My other half could see and hear everything while i was in there.
Checking out we handed the key in, the owner offered to get the door and that was it.

The bedroom was nice but was totaly spoilt by the bathroom, no space or privacy in there watsoever. I also found the owner unfriendly. And for these reasons wouldnt return.

Room Tip: Don't book the delux room if you like your privacy, the see through glass door is rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leax123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

stayed for two nights. room was good stayed in room 6 which was en-suite. rest off hotel very dated. never had breakfast as this is not included in the price. Tyldesley Road not the best area lots of guest houses totally derelict not very nice on the eye. very central for prom and good pub ma Kellys Foxhall just round the corner n open till 2am. would prob stay up town area next time . we did manage to get parked on street further down from guest house.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Arrived on our trip for valentines 3 night stay , Great location , Everything within walking distance, Great staff, Asked if needed help with luggage, explained all we needed to know , asked of required breakfast in morning to fill in form and hand in night before at fair prices. Didnt get up early enough to have so unfortunatly cant tell you of the quality.
Parking is roadside so bit up and down on how close could park to hotel but usually few cars down , Literally couple of mins wlk to chip shops, cafes, beach, shops, about ten fifteen mins walk to town but literally down one long road/the promenade.club reflex also couple of min walk and karaoke bars and bars, pubs. so great location.

Room spacious, very clean , very tidy , we had the standard double room, double bed with en suite the first night which was lovely . bathroom clean tidy . fresh towels and bedding . exactly what ud expect . Also had a single bed in room . Tea coffee station.

We moved to the deluxe double 4 poster bed room also with en suite , we hadnt had the first night as was already taken or we would have . which was also very clean and tidy wih fresh towels and bedding . i thought was very beautiful and really enjoyed stay in this room inparticular very romantic and great for the money we paid.

Only fault was in was feburary and although we had dequate bedding very nice and comfortable and radiators were on warm . . it was cold at night.

Bar will be open most the time or wen shut u can ask and he will open it . Limited stock but had what we needed. Had space raider machine and slot machine . So whilst i was doin my hair and make up my partner enjoyed himself at bar lol as the owner was very friendly and gave my partner lots of advice and tips on places/attractions, So again great service.
Very quiet though when we went no noise so was great . As we went on a football weekend was lots of footie hooligans lol as u say about celebrating and enjoying themselves, we could not hear from our room so was great .

Would recommend to singles/couples, families,
Not recommend to disabled or elderly as steps to get in and to rooms .steep.

Room Tip: take pjamasdressing gown in cold weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngandfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a lovely time, rooms are very clean and modern with everything you need. Breakfast was very nice and staff couldn't do enough to help us throughout our stay. Great location near cental pier but within walkin distance from both north and south. Would defibatly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire-lass1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#201 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#340 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#462 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crest

Property: The Crest
Address: 16 Tyldesley Rd, Blackpool FY1 5DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing