We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my life - kicked out with 2 babies!”
Review of Wallace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wallace Hotel
Ranked #433 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went to stay at the Wallace hotel on fri 21st sept - me and the family were looking really forward to it. Arrived n the man seemed ok - a bit bossy about what we could eat in our rooms etc and informed us if it was busy we would have to wait for breakfast which was a bit disappointing as I have a 3 year old and 1 year old who awake at 7am and bfast wasn't til 9 n then we would have to wait longer if there wasn't a seat. Later when we got in we were getting ready for bed when John chapped door to ask us to stop banging. A bit puzzled I went down to speak to him thinking it couldnt have been us n was greeted with him to say my kids were making too much noise - stomping around and he couldnt have this all weekend!!!! He offered to move us rooms as he had an elderly couple next door (which turned out to be lies). Then said he had no rooms so we would have to leave. Back of 7 we got thrown out with 2 tired n upset kids. Still waiting on a refund but the tourist board are being very helpful in dealing with the matter! Rooms werent what we are used to anyway but hey it's Blackpool! Avoid this hotel if you have kids!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LindsMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thankyou for this review.First and foremost I believe that our guests have a right to a peaceful stay at my hotel, I explained to you when you arrived at 13.42 hrs that children were welcome but must not disturb other guests. There was continual banging from your room ,so much so that we had to turn the TV volume up in the bar / lounge so that other guests could hear it ! And YES there was an elderly couple next door to you in room 5 who complained about the noise from your room. I knocked on your door and asked you to keep the noise down , I then went back to the bar where you followed me and said that you wouldn't or couldn't keep the noise down as your kids 'were here on holiday' ( by the way so were the other guests ) I then said that if you couldn't keep the noise down you would have to leave, you opted to leave.As for your refund , your card was refunded with every penny that you paid ( even though you were here for over 6 hours) . I have checked the card machine and your full refund was processed at 19.47 hrs and you signed the refund voucher so why are you saying that you didn't get a refund when you actually signed for the refund ?
I stand by my view that children are welcome here but not if they disturb other guests , this is after all a hotel and not a playground, I would not expect to be disturbed at home by neighbours , nor will I allow my guests to have their stay ruined by noise nuisance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

What an absolutely fantastic august bank holiday!!!! John was absolutely amazing the room was spotless breakfast and waitress service was second to none and very friendly (home from home) definatly be coming back time and again the atmosphere with everyone was brilliant.. Thankyou john you are fantastic xxx Sam thankyou chick (JAERGOR BOMBS) How the head hurt lol xxx See you soon xxx Love Dom and Wayne xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominique r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thanks Dom, it was great having you and Wayne here for the weekend .... Look forward to seeing you again soon.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We are just back from a mon-fri holiday at the wallace hotel and it was fantastic. Our rooms were lovely and very clean. The kids had a room for them and it was perfect. Even our teenagers did not complain which is so unusual. Our wee one made a friend with host John and she enjoyed telling him all her tales of each day each of which he gave her his full attention, which was very sweet. The breakfast was great, cereal and a full english with tea and coffee and a friendly smile from waitress Sam. We could not have asked for a better hotel, better host or better waitress, cannot wait to return. Thank you so much for a fantastic week. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your review ,MIT was great to share your company and your kid was delightful...... I look forward to seeing you again soon.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

stayed 2 nights at the wallace couldnt have wished for a better place to stay very modern comfy room,spotless.very comfy bed,nice chilled out bar.john the owner was the nicest fella you could wish to meet nothing was to much for him to do,1st class breakfast.we will defintely be staying again.thanks john for a most enjoyable couple of days.

keith,lisa,mason,anthony

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hi guys, thanks for your review it was a pleasure meeting you both and the boys as well, glad you had a good time here in Blackpool , I just wish that the weather had been a bit better for you....
Looking forward to seeing you again soon, there will always be a warm welcome for you here.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days loved every min perfect family sea view room with a beautiful view. John is our freind now and we will be going back again to stay just wish I was still there now it was that good I recomend this to any one wallace hotel is like home from home :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dendav154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind review , it was lovely meeting you both as your such fun and lively !! Looking forward to seeing you again soon .
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

what a great time in blackpool and even better time in the wallace hotel great service great food and a great guy thanks john for given us a great stay room fantasic sea view and we are going back in november thanks john from chubby brown lol thats us

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your review , it was a pleasure having your group here and you certainly brightened things up with your fancy dress outfits !!! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Regards John at the WALLACE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Wallace from Thursday to Sunday.. the hotel room was beautifuly decorated and very modern and very clean the service from john was amazing the breakfast was lovely.. I take my hat of to u john u do a fantastic job so thanks again x

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workingmumx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Wallace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind review , it was a pleasure having you here and I look forward to seeing you again soon !!
John at the WALLACE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#237 of 863 in Blackpool
121 reviews
0 mi away
Cowley Hotel
Cowley Hotel
#672 of 863 in Blackpool
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wembley
The Wembley
#493 of 863 in Blackpool
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Hotel

Address: 239 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $51 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wallace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is ideally situated on the promenade overlooking the sea; we are situated very close to central pier. The tram & bus stop is across the road from the hotel so getting around is not a problem. David & Agnes welcome you to the recently refurbished Wallace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wallace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing