We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby and dangerous”

The New World Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New World Hotel
Ranked #664 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2009

i stayed for 3 nights with my partner over aug bank holiday never again!!! stayed in african themed room which on first inspection looked small but ok for the price.however on further inspection there was mould in the shower which was also rusty,on the the 2nd night (sunday) my partner got a shock off the light switch which we complained about and were told nothing could be done till the morning.rooms wernt cleaned properly beds just thrown over instead of being made properly tea and coffee wasnt refilled .the sink in bathroom was not attatched properly.however staff very nice owner seemed to be overworked but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellows09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for The New World Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

A group of 10 girls stayed at this hotel in August 09 for a hen due. Hotel was dirty the staff especially the owner was exceptionally rude.... at one point even telling us we would not be staying at the hotel if we were noisy (laughing on outside our room in the middle of the day!) Lots of hotels specify no hen or stag parties if you do accept then understandably there will be a little noise as with any kind of large group!! we were certainly not running round making a lot of noise! The hotel wasn't very clean with tiny bathrooms, in our room the shower head broke off mid shower! Breakfast was cold with tinned mushrooms and one of the girls in our group saw staff take a left over sausage of someone's plate and put it back in the pan to be served again!

Charges 5 pound parking which is not mentioned when booking, and you have to leave your car keys with the staff as you end up parking a few people in! Is not very central about a 20/25 minute walk to the central pier!

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stop Read this review before y read others!!!!!!

My husband and Is stayed at this Hotel July 2009 and after reading previous reviews we were a little apprehensive, however no need to be. We Booked the Manhattan room and were pleasantly surprised in the room, all I can say is WOW WOW WOW. The room was so thoughtfully decorated with personal items of the owners, who I may add are well travelled and articulate people. The hotel was welcoming and nothing to much trouble, Stephen and David made our stay so special and welcomed us like we were family. The hotel has lots of thought behind it and many Stories to be told about them. If you are looking for a wild weekend then don’t book this hotel, (there are lots of seedy tacky hotels around for that) but if you’re looking for a warm welcome, fantastic wonderful items from around the world then BOOK BOOK BOOK. Breakfast was amazing, cereal, toast and cooked breakfast with no grease and very well presented. Stephen and David could not do enough for their guests. We will be going back in August for the weekend and have recommended to our friends and family already.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here on the april bank holiday. The Owner was very friendly.
However our room was dirty ,rundown small. The shower room was so small, it was difficult to even dry yourself. After arriving we found that for some reason there was toilet tissue in our tea box...strange!! The staff are very friendly ,but this doesn't make up for the state of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed there in Sept for one night as friends had already booked there for a long weekend. Booked thru hotel direct at cost of £60 which isn't cheap for these sort of places in Blackpool.

Hotel is quite central but that's about all the good I can say about it. Checked in without problems and guy seemed ok but the common areas had a horrible stale smell in them and the decor....well...we all have different tastes I guess.

Room (I think) was of African theme or at least there were a couple of pics of elephants up and the bed covers were zebra(ish) patterned. Shower room very small with paper hanging off walls etc. We just dumped our bags and went out and enjoyed the tackiness (hehe) of Blackpool for a few hours before heading back to get showered and changed.

**THE SHOWER WENT ON FIRE WHILE IN IT!"** We should have reported them to HSE. No apology and were told to use the communal room at end of hall. We specifically asked for an en-suite but as we were late for our evening out there was nothing we could do.

In the morning at checkout it wasn’t even mentioned. I felt I had to bring it up and again there was no apology. They guy was very rude and basically said because we got one of the “better” & “bigger” rooms it was “6 and half” that we didn’t have en-suite!! Can you believe that!

Best stay away from this place, as well as the risk of burning or electrocution, the place smells badly and staff are very rude. Rooms are small and in need of work.

Oh, must mention the owners dogs barking like mad outside the window at 7.30am!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ianp00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for one Saturday night. We were in the scottish twin room. The hotel and room was clean and well maintained, the hotel seemed cosy with the lovely lamps about the place, and the different artifacts dotted around made it an interesting place to stay, the decor seemed well thought out and not as tacky as I expected! Nice little bar area.
However, the room was tiny & I'm sure the wardrobe was bigger than the bathroom, my friend could not close the bathroom door while he was in there, I really do not think the room was worth £80, especially as we looked out onto brick walls. Not a room I could stay in for any time except for sleeping.
The guy who dealt with us seemed friendly enough but his english was a bit ropey.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank shyiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Stayed at the hotel with my fiance for 3 nights from 18 August 2007.

Arrived at the sister hotel The World Hotel on Landsdowne Place. Advised that The New World Hotel had rooms available for the 3 nights.

We were offered a Triple room with full sea view. The room decor was good and room was comfortable with view of the prom and the trams. The bathroom although compact, was adequate for its purpose, and had a good hot power shower.

The 9 item breakfast was excellant, and included Black Pudding if you liked. As weel as the full Engish, you could help yourself to cereal, juice, and fresh fruit, and were offered plenty of toast and tea & coffee.

The hotel has only been owned by the present owner for a year or so. They have plans to change bedrooms to make these larger and to update the en-suites.

Overall very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,521 reviews
0.0 mi away
The World Hotel
The World Hotel
#763 of 859 in Blackpool
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#330 of 859 in Blackpool
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#288 of 859 in Blackpool
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New World Hotel

Address: 238 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #664 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing