We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but lacks something”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Promenade Hotel
Ranked #283 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
2 reviews
“Friendly but lacks something”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed for a 3 night weekend. Staff very friendly, rooms average size, linen and towels very clean.
Was supplied with one front door key and one room key between us. The room didn't seem to be visited day to day and we had to ask for extra towels, toilet paper and coffee making facilities. Also we had to make the beds and empty the bins.
There was no remote for the television, no hangers or light in the walk in wardrobe.
As expected the rooms were very noisy at this time of year with the passing throng of tourists. Parking was very limited which was dissapointing as this was one of the reasons we booked this hotel, 5 or 6 spaces only.
The bar facilities and breakfast were excellent as were the helpful staff.
A bargain price during a peak time, therefore I would expect some shortfalls.
I would stay again as I enjoyed the stay but a little attention to detail would put this hotel in a much better catagory. All in all a good cheap hotel at the centre of Blackpool which is a good choice for a short break despite some minor faults.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms in high season, all on seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintonMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPromenadeHotel, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
we are happy that you say you would return and that you found us friendly.We have enquired with the bedroom staff who say that they knocked on the door and the room was occupied but in any case we apologise that they did not try later.We will look to improve the other points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    65
    18
    17
    47
See reviews for
97
74
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed there last week, there were 9 of us in total occupying 4 rooms. I shared a twin room with my 12 year old child whom I was charged half price for ( most other hotels require 2 full paying adults per room in order to get children half price) The first room we were in was a bit on the small side, when mentioning this to peter (the owner) we were given a bigger room no problem. The hotel is situated on the corner so even if you are not in a front facing room you still have a good view of the sea from a side room. Rooms and bedding were clean and bins emptied on a daily basis. Breakfast was always served piping hot and with as much tea/coffee and toast as you wanted. The only problems I encountered were with the loo not flushing very well and the shower being a bit tempremental. It would've been nice to have some entertainment in the evening, there was a singer on the Wednesday but I can't comment on that as we were out that night, although I heard from other guests that he was good. Overall I would say you get what you pay for and would recommend it. We plan to return again next year. Thanks for having us. Elaine & Sean

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPromenadeHotel, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for the review and thank you for booking again.We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

the hotel sevice was excerlent all the staff are very friendly and helpful. the hotel was very clean the bedroom we had was very clean the hotel was idealy situated for us buses and tram stop on the doorstep the food was fantastic couldnt fault it at all

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPromenadeHotel, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great few days in this place, good location very clean, great atmosphere would definately recommend and most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzimc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPromenadeHotel, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

we have just returned after spending 3 fantastic nights here, with friends and family, the rooms were lovely with a sea view, plenty of space even with the travel cot in, the food was lovely, aand the evening meal excellent value for money, All of the staff were so helpfull nothing was too much trouble< i would recommend this hotel too anybody, thanks for having uss, and you will be seeing us again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPromenadeHotel, Owner at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
thank you and we would like to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

stayed there 1 nite got bak at 1am cudnt get in even after constantly ringin night bell and ringin phone 2 hours of knockin on door even tried ringin hotel next door and police 2 try wake em up 2 hours in wind and cold wasnt happy they only give us 1 key 2 room no key for outside door it was a nightmare

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPromenadeHotel, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
We are sorry that you had this problem.We do not understand what happened to the second key.We are checking all keys to make sure it cannot happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Have just returned from 3nts stay and I wud def recommend it. Rooms very nice, staff very friendly. Food was great and the 4course meal is well worth the £7. Location is great central to everything. Will def return again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaraw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaplins Hotel
Chaplins Hotel
#32 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#4 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#259 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earlsway Hotel
Earlsway Hotel
#664 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Promenade Hotel

Property: The New Promenade Hotel
Address: 229 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Promenade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The New Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing