We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pearl amongst the Cockles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Promenade Hotel
Ranked #283 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Pearl amongst the Cockles”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Discovered this Hotel by using Google earth’s street map. I had already rang the places that we usually stay at Tiffinanys and the Edwardian but when they wanted a supplement of £20 (each) for a sea view we decided to look elsewhere. We have been to Blackpool a few times now and must have walked past The New Promenade Hotel (TNPH) numerous times. from the outside TNPH is pretty unimposing, stuck on the corner opposite the Manchester Pub it has a car park that at a push will take six cars, on the corner itself is what can only be described as a Hawaiian garden shed (I think its for the smokers amongst us for when it rains) all in all it does look a bit tatty. But step inside, what a surprise, walk down the hall to the reception desk (don’t blink you might miss it). New carpets and well decorated hall will take you to the bar area, it’s small but has got everything you will need. A pool table, plenty of upholstered seating and a well stocked bar that would put many a pub to shame. Although the barman doubles as the receptionist you will never wait longer than it takes to draw breath to get served.
From the bar up the rather steep stairs to our room, number 24. We opened the securely locked door to find that not only did we get the sea view room that we had requested (at no extra charge) but it had a bay window, you could see from one end of the golden mile to the other. The room was spotlessly clean, new carpets and well decorated and had more than ample tea and coffee making facilities and a colour TV with free view, the bed was comfortable and the linen was spotless. The en-suite was tiled from floor to ceiling with pristine white tiles whilst the floor was tiled with non-slip tiles, no soggy carpets here. There was also the distinct lack of mildew or the smell of damp. While the shower itself took a bit of fiddling to get the right temperature it worked in the end. Don’t let your kids go in first.
Back down the stairs to the dinning room. It was clean and well laid out but the décor did let it down a little but then you are only having your breakfast or evening meal there and not a wedding reception. The food was well cooked and served piping hot, the service was provided by a really bubbly Thai girl, I think her name was Daim?? What a treasure this young lady was, she was courteous, considerate and made you extremely welcome, from the moment she first meets you, you become her friend. Mind you the same can be said for all of the staff.
Anyway to sum up…..The TNPH is a clean, welcoming hotel that puts the larger more well known hotels to shame, would we go back, yes without a doubt. Did the TNPH have a down side, none that I could find and I’m a fussy so and so, just ask the wife?
Make it your first choice for a stay in Blackpool.
Marty and Eleanor Dowling.
ps to get a parking space plan to arrive about 10-30 to 11-30, but be aware your room might not be ready untill about 14-00.

Room Tip: Ring well in advance to get a seaview room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MartyandEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    65
    18
    17
    47
See reviews for
97
74
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

we usually come to blackpool on a regular basics and stay on albert road found this hotel on the off chance and can honestly say it is one of the best hotels i have been to yet staff friendly meals were great hotel was spotless and fantastic size room and you were left to come and go as you please all in all a great weekend had by all will without a doubt be using again and again we were down the 27th till 29th may 2011 big thanks to gary and staff for an excellent weekend see you soon

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Had 2 nights in this hotel. Bed clean crisp and comfy. Breakfast hot and delicious and plenty served with a smile. Could have the evening meal only on Saturday night but great value for money. £7 each only 2 of us for the dinner which was a shame because there was no atmosphere. Well worth a stay right on the front. Staff very pleasant nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuesday93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

this hotel is superb,great location.we booked in for 2 nights half board,the food was top class,nothing was to much bother for the staff,breakfast was excellent and the evening meal is well worth the money. food was absolutely gorgeous,what i noticed here was the tea/coffee facilities in your room was great i have never been to a hotel where you can have at least 6 cups of tea/coffee,normally there are a couple of teabags/coffee and usually 2little milk portions!!!!!the staff make you welcome,so much so we have booked the whole family in for a christmas break.overall a lovely hotel,fantastic food,very clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snitterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

good friendly staff, good food, great entertainment, right in the sea frontage, great for night clubs,clean and tidy rooms , possible biscuit in room and a good shower,but like most thing moderniation reflexes on price increase.

haven't been to blackpool for over twenty years , but really enjoyed stay at hotel & blackpool

Room Tip: as above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyFairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Been coming to this Hotel for 15 years now and have seen various managment come and go during that period. Have to say Peter, Gemma and Wayne now are the best the hotel has ever had. They are all so friendly and cannot do enough for us everytime we go. The rooms are lovely and clean, the bar is brilliant and reasonably priced. We try and go and see "Our Friends" at least a couple of times a year now!!! Cannot wait until July 3rd when we are back there. Could never imagine going to a different hotel now. WELL DONE ALL THE STAFF you are doing a brilliant job!!! Sue & Howie Long, Liverpool

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

i had a wonderful christmas and new year plenty of good food nice bar with very reasonable prices very socailable staff wayne and andy who made my stay all the more enjoyable, the hotel was nice and clean with a homely atmosphere. im booking for next year and would recomend it to anyone who is interested

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taz12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaplins Hotel
Chaplins Hotel
#32 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#4 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#259 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earlsway Hotel
Earlsway Hotel
#664 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Promenade Hotel

Property: The New Promenade Hotel
Address: 229 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Promenade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing