We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guesthouse”
Review of The Merginn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merginn
Ranked #368 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I will say it how it is and this place is superb for what you pay for, and Steve and Dawn are an easily approachable, polite, respectful and friendly couple the guests are in their best interests and I just wish that more people were like them, so book here you won't regret it!!! Yet another satisfied guest who stayed at The Merginn for my holiday :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevinlangford1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay for one evening only in Blackpool. I chose the Merginn due to the excellent feedback left by others. I would just like to say a big thankyou to Steve and Dawn for making me feel very welcome. Shame about Steve supporting Derby though :). Thanks Paul

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have just got back from a two night stay. I can honestly say that our stay was faultless. I was greeted by Steve as soon as we pulled up. Within literally 5 minuites the kettle was on and Dawn was making us a lovely cuppa. We felt at home right from the start. The rooms were lovely and clean and beds were very comfortable. Our reason for staying in Blackpool was for my Daughter's first ice skating competition for which both Steve and Dawn showed so much interest. The breakfast was second to none and cooked to perfection. Thank you so much Dawn and Steve for making us all feel so welcome. See you again next year for the next competition if not before. Whenever we are in Blackpool would not contemplate staying anywhere else.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

we stooped here for 4 days in feb 2013, steve and dawn were excellent and all you had to do was ask,good transport link,bus and tram stop 50 yards away,very clean accommodation and the breakfast was cooked fresh and excellent,definately go back again,i was a bit worried cause I was treating my parents and have had bad experiences of blackpool,but I needn't have worried

Room Tip: all rooms are good and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The MERGINN is simply the best! – This is why we have been back 7 times!

We have nothing but the highest respect and praise for Steve and Dawn!

As with previous visits to the MERGINN, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms as well as the place itself, the quality and variety of breakfast, along with the attention, the friendliness and treatment shown and given by Steve and Dawn make the holiday memorable for all the right reasons!

To Steve – as always, you are the brightest illumination in Blackpool, your friendliness, helpfulness; information giving and attention to detail allowed us to do what we set out to do – have a really good stress free holiday.
To Dawn – Many, many thanks for the kind help, as well as the care and consideration you gave to us regarding the personal crisis we suffered two hours prior to our arrival! Fortunately with your help we were able to enjoy our holiday.

Once again, to both of you, thank you for yet another brilliant holiday in Blackpool…………………………………………………We will return!

Diane & Ian
West Yorkshire

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shayman-Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'm here at The Merginn, sat in my lovely warm room. I was greeted by Steve when I arrived, and like the last time, he made me a warm drink and we sat down and had a good long chat with himself and his lovely wife Dawn. This is the best budget accommodation that money can buy, it's cheap and cheerful, as well as being, clean, friendly, warm, and homely. I'm into my 2nd of 5 days now, and nothing at all has been too much trouble. I'm here as a solo traveler having a carer respite break, and I feel very very welcome. I certainly recommend The Merginn and would/will certainly come again. Keep up the good work Dawn & Steve.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diskmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

exelent hosts made us very welcome good food good rooms we stayed there for three nights steve and dawn even acknowleged our sons birthday and gave him a card definetly would return and stay there again mark jannete & stevie boy

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.2 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#592 of 861 in Blackpool
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#194 of 861 in Blackpool
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#213 of 861 in Blackpool
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Sands Guest House
The Golden Sands Guest House
#162 of 861 in Blackpool
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merginn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merginn

Address: 9 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $50 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merginn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merginn is situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool where you will find it quieter and more relaxing, yet still within easy reach of all Blackpool'€™s many attractions. Buses and trams stop each end of the Avenue. Gynn Avenue is a lovely quiet street close to the Gynn Square. We are only a 2 minute walk to the promenade, and just a mile back into town and the Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Merginn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing