We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vile bed and breakfast and vile hosts”
Review of The Merginn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Merginn
Ranked #377 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

it would have been easier for the owner to say what you can do instead of what you cant.. bombarded us with rules from the 1st min we walked in.the rooms were discusting, the breakfast was rubbish with only 5 items. walked out the dining room starvin hungry. on leave the owner had the cheek to charge extra 5 pounds becos we put bags on the spare single bed.. this means he went into our room also and for all we kNow snooped around out valubles. .. owners r horrible people that should not be in the hotel trade.the owner is aggresive also. with out shaddow of doubt out of all the bed and breakfasts in blackpool we picked the worst one with the merginn. i recomend this place to no one. do yourselfs all a favour and give this place a wide birth.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domstarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strawberryBlackpool, Owner at The Merginn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

This review is from a guest who was asked to leave our guest house due to foul and abusive language towards us and several other guests staying with us that weekend. We do not feel we need to respond other than to say that this is a "sour grapes" review.

Please Note - we have a certificate of excellence issued by Tripadvisor for 2013! and you don't get this if you act in the manor alledged by the reviewer!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed there overnight 28/9/13 last minute trip to see the lights, booked
on line and got a good deal, dawn and steve made us very welcome great couple, the room was very clean and so was the whole b and b, breakfast was fantastic. Overall wonderful place, would definitely stay here again, thank you for making our weekend !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gb24680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a 2-night stay and have to say that Steve and Dawn are very welcoming people. Lovely comfy bed (and pillows) and great breakfasts. Only thing was - we are not young anymore and were on the top floor so it was a hike to get up the stairs. Nevertheless, we managed (even though hubby has bad feet) and enjoyed our stayed. Must say a big thanks to Steve - half way home and hubby realised he had left his wallet (!!!) Steve kindly left it with his neighbour as they were going out. Thank you both once again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedmo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very good hosts who made us feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast well cooked and good choice. Rooms average size with good comfy clean beds. Unfortunately very dusty and big cobwebs on both walls made my dust allergy quite bad. Had to take antihistamine both days when indoors. A little more attention to cleaning would have made us return in the future but my itchy eyes and sneezing put a stop to that. Good value as we got an offer of half price rooms but would have been disappointed if paid full price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strawberryBlackpool, Owner at The Merginn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Firstly thank you for your review, we always find it helpful when feedback is given. Obviously when nice things are said i.e. our breakfast being good and our beds being very clean and comforable,we appreciate your telling us.

We were not aware that there was a problem with the cobwebs being in your room. The walls in the your bedroom are artex and small cobwebs can appear over night. As you were with us over two nights, we would have thought you might have pointed out that this was causing you a problem and we would have dealt with it accordingly with apologies! As for dust your room was dusted prior to your arrival but we note that your window was wide open during most of your stay. We cannot control dust through a wide open window. Sorry that your allergy is so sever, and had we been aware we would have re-dusted and closed the window. All our previous reviews state that their rooms were clean and comfortable, and we pride ourselves on this,

We note that you have said you wouldn't visit us again but should you change your mind you would be made very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Dawn & Steve were amazing from the second we got there! Had a good chat as soon as we arrived and even a cup of tea, helped upstairs with the bags aswell! Beautiful breakfast every morning aswell, perfect location away from the centre of Blackpool, only a 5-10 minute walk aswell, very clean all round, nothing was ever too much trouble! Thank you for helping us have an amazing weekend Dawn & Steve :)
Jamie & Michelle x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieAndChelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed from the 12th to the 16th of aug 2013. The B and B was very clean the room was a good size. Every morning we were cooked a lovely full English breakfast , Dawn and Steve and very nice people and made us feel very welcome from the minuet we arrived. We think its very good value for money and we will be going again next year with our two younger children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My self and husband stayed two nights we got a great welcome the room was clean Steve and his wife were very nice and very friendly breakfast was great I had a bad foot but to walk into Blackpool only took 10 mins and I had a bad foot but buses and trams right on the door step would definitely stay there again we went 23rd of July was a nice weekend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewcastleGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#589 of 863 in Blackpool
32 reviews
0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#215 of 863 in Blackpool
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#195 of 863 in Blackpool
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Golden Sands Guest House
The Golden Sands Guest House
#170 of 863 in Blackpool
138 reviews
0 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#241 of 863 in Blackpool
41 reviews
0 mi away
The Sandalwood
The Sandalwood
#541 of 863 in Blackpool
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merginn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merginn

Address: 9 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $50 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merginn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merginn is situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool where you will find it quieter and more relaxing, yet still within easy reach of all Blackpool'€™s many attractions. Buses and trams stop each end of the Avenue. Gynn Avenue is a lovely quiet street close to the Gynn Square. We are only a 2 minute walk to the promenade, and just a mile back into town and the Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Merginn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing