We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great hosts. Breakfast sets you up nicely for the day.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Merginn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Merginn
Ranked #379 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, great hosts. Breakfast sets you up nicely for the day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My partner stayed here for 8 days and I came to visit him for a one night stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and great value for money. Dawn and Steve were lovely hosts and very welcoming and friendly. I would recommend a stay here to any of my friends and readers of this review. Thanks again Dawn and Steve.
Michelle and Gary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellesooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    24
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
52
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Was made to feel welcome from the moment I stepped in the door.

Nice clean, warm room. Steve and Dawn were great throughout.
Lovely fresh cooked hot breakfast.

Very reasonable room prices too, I can spend more on a night out than what it cost for a four night stay here.

Beach is almost at the front door, and shops just around the corner.

Won't hesitate to go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diskmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the moment I arrived I felt very welcomed, Steve & Dawn went out of their way to be helpful and the coffee I received after my train journey was much appreciated, it's situated about 15 minutes walk from the town centre in the quieter North Shore so you get the best of both worlds, nothing seemed too much for Steve & Dawn and this continued through out my 16 day stay, the room was lovely and clean and i felt at home there, the breakfast was excellent, I could not have asked for a better stay at a hotel, and will certainly be going there again with no hesitation,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A very warm welcome from Steve and dawn with hot drink on arrival. A good chat about Blackpool then shown to our room which was a good room with an ensuite shower. Breakfast was fab. Steve and dawn couldn't do enough for us. We also booked another 2 rooms a single and a double they were smaller rooms than ours but still good rooms and good value for money. We all enjoyed our stay in Blackpool. Thank you Steve and dawn hope to be back and will defo be staying at the merginn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got home after a lovely night at The Merginn.
Dawn and Steve made us feel like part of the family. On arrival we were greeted with a nice cuppa, which just hit the spot after being stuck in traffic. We drank whilst we were checked in!! As we sat talking to Dawn and Steve in the B and B lounge room we told them our plans for the night ahead. They give us a very informed view of which taxi company to use and how much it would cost. As we had pre booked a restaurant Dawn gave us the low-down on it as she had been previously and provided us with a menu to look at so we knew what kind of food we were getting. They also suggested pubs that we might like and helped us with the Trams.
Steve took our cases up to the room which was very clean and conformable. The shower was red hot ad the linen on the bed was crisp and clean. :) Our breakfast order was taken during check in. Perfect for my girlfriend who isn't talkative of a morning! Breakfast was freshly made and of a good quality and exactly what we ordered, much better then hotel breakfasts. The secure gated parking was a bonus as there isn't much available on the street. The street is very quite and only a 2 min taxi ride from the Tower.
We will go again and would recommend this B&B to anybody A+++++++++

Thank you to Dawn and Steve for such a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: we had a family room with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkSmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just got back from a weekend at The Merginn. We were in Blackpool for a football match. So glad we booked this b & b. Dawn and Steve were great friendly hosts, from greeting us on arrival to saying goodbye when leaving. (Not forgetting a welcome big mug of coffee)
Rooms were big, clean, cosy and warm and had a big en-suite. Super breakfast which kept us going all day. All in all good value for the money we paid, would definitely return again.
From the five footie fans from Leicester

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We was welcomed at the door by a lovely couple named Steve and Dawn. Who made us feel welcome, parked us in secure parking around the back and offered us a drink. Room was clean and a very comfy stay all round. Breakfast was very nice and Steve and Dawn were more than happy to help with any queries. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bear8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#212 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#342 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#460 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merginn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merginn

Property: The Merginn
Address: 9 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Merginn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merginn is situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool where you will find it quieter and more relaxing, yet still within easy reach of all Blackpool'€™s many attractions. Buses and trams stop each end of the Avenue. Gynn Avenue is a lovely quiet street close to the Gynn Square. We are only a 2 minute walk to the promenade, and just a mile back into town and the Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Merginn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing