We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family, Excellent Accomodation”
Review of Tam O' Shanter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tam O' Shanter
Ranked #720 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Family, Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the tam o shanter in an en suite double room. The room was very well decorated and extremely clean. The hosts Nigel and Emma are lovely welcoming people.
Break fast was very filling and well presented. If your looking for a bed and breakfast in blackpool, you dont need to look any further, this ones great.
Thanks so much nigel and emma, you deserve your 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    14
    9
    22
See reviews for
28
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Central location, however, found the hotel very dated, and beds & bedding were very poor quality. Dining area doubled up as a bar. Could do with a revamp and clean.Place seems to be run on a shoes string budget. Service was very slow for breakfast. Poor girl who was in charge seemed to have a lot on her plate! In summary, this hotel needs a lot of improvement, other hotels for the same price are 10 times better!

Room Tip: stay clear of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelemma, Owner at Tam O' Shanter, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay here with us but we would like to make a few points here at our little guesthouse we have eight rooms which vary in price due to the size and the comfort when you booked you booked our cheapest room at just £10 per night per person so you paid £80 for two people to stay for four nights bed and breakfast. As all our literature shows the room you booked is a very small room and is only a place to put your head so is only suitable for people that want a place to sleep when you booked you were told this and we advised you to take one of our double ensuites as when you explained what sort of break you wanted we advised this room would not suit you but you said no the cheapest room possible will be fine. We offer a good service in a family friendly accommodation and have invested a lot of money over the last six years the room you were in we will admit have not undergone any refurbishments as that room is part of our plans when we go fully ensuite but the room is priced accordingly to show this most people that stop with us enjoy what we have to offer but you can’t please everyone. We would ask you to e mail us the names of the guesthouses that would give you ten times better accommodation than us for £80 for two people for four nights bed and breakfast as when we take a holiday we would love to stay in one.
Nigel Billing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Booked last minute for one night. Good location, pay & display car park at the end of the street, close to central pier. Owner very friendly and made us feel welcome. Room spacious and clean and breakfast very good. Just couples and families allowed which is a bonus !

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sweetpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelemma, Manager at Tam O' Shanter, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi
Thank you very much for writing a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

just spent a fantastic 4 days here with my son. owners are super friendly and made us feel very welcome. this place could not be in a better spot right by central pier. rooms are clean and tidy and beds were very comfortable we cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanaherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelemma, Manager at Tam O' Shanter, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi
Thank you for writing a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Family run b&b by Emma and Nigel and her two boys.We were made very welcome and nothing was too much to ask for .The rooms are basic but what are you expecting for the price and the breakfast was good the location is brilliant all in all a great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gangad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelemma, Manager at Tam O' Shanter, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just back from this small guest house..2 mins from central pier...just 8 rooms ..no hens or stags..friendly little place with xbox and internet..free to use...hot full english...well decorated..comfy bed..freeview tv...shower...very hot water...family run...Emma is really down to earth...would go again...

Room Tip: room 8 at the top...matching bedding...up to date shower..new decor...quiet...great tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelemma, Manager at Tam O' Shanter, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review it's all to easy to write a bad review but it takes effort to write a good review once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

For anyone that has Put a bad review needs to take a look at themselves, where did they think they were staying? The Hilton? For the price you pay it's spot on! Room was clean, staff were pleasnt great location took us 1 minute walk to central pier, was close to all the attractions, stayed for 5 days didn't have any problems, land lady was single handedly running the show, she didn't stop. A real family like experience, thought I was staying at my sisters house or something.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wesearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#231 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#304 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#260 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tam O' Shanter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tam O' Shanter

Property: Tam O' Shanter
Address: 8 Coop Street, Blackpool FY1 5AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tam O' Shanter 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce that following a very thorough inspection by the English Tourist Board we have now been awarded 3 star status for the quality and excellence of the food.The Tam O’ Shanter is the ideal Blackpool holiday choice, with a central Blackpool location and a warm and friendly family run service.Under the same family ownership since 2005, the Tam O Shanter Guesthouse in Blackpool is centrally located, only a couple of minutes' walk from Central Pier and the Promenade and close to the Beach,Blackpool Tower, Tussaud's Waxworks, Sealife Centre, Coral Island, Bonny Street Market, Houndshill Shopping Centre and approximately 15-20 minutes' walk (or a short tram ride) from the Pleasure Beach, with the night-life of Queen Street a short taxi ride (approximately £5) away or a short walk of about 10 – 15 minutes. There are also several local pubs and bars within a short walking distance, most of which feature evening entertainment.There is free, unrestricted on-street parking, as well as a Pay-and-Display car park at the end of Coop Street and the main, council run Central Car Park opposite the entrance to Coop Street. Both car parks are about a minute's walk. from the Tam O Shanter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Tam O' Shanter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing