We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Osprey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osprey
Ranked #232 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Dennis and sally were very nice on arrival, great breakfast and very helpful. Excellent service and hospitality! Nice rooms and great location for tower e.c.t parking is available on the first come first served basis but plenty parking across the road

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we stepped on to the door step. the room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. it was just a short walk to blackpool front and the shops which was ideal for us as we did not have a car. we will differently be back again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very welcomed from the start. Shown to the room at advised on the facilities. Great breakfasts and always friendly hosts in Dennis and Sally. An excellent holiday made all the better with our hotel which is close to the centre of Blackpool. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hello Tony,
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review on TA.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Osprey whist on holiday last week and found the hotel in centre of all the ammenities. Also very pleased that you had a wonderful weather to enjoy even more.
We hope to see you in the near future and until then take care and give our regards to the family.
Dennis and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hi, every one I recently stayed at the osprey hotel over the weekend of the allumination switch on for 2012< sally and dennis the hosts were so welcomeing and freiendly, the breakfasts were really nice.the room was nicely decorated and clean, I stayed in room 7 where we had a lovely view of the tower allumninated at night. thank you so much dennis and sally for making our weekend stay so enjoable.
B willaims (cumbria)

Room Tip: ring dennis and sally if u are not able to book online, very helpfull and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hello Bena,John and Bryony,
Thank you for staying with us at the Osprey GH on your your recent trip to Blackpool and this review on TA. Yes, it was a great Illumination switch on and we are glad that you enjoyed it very much. We hope to see you you soon and until then wish you all the Best.
Dennis and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great location, Great value, Great breakfasts, Splendid hosts and basically an all round great place to stay in Blackpool.

We will definitely be back soon for another stay. Many thanks to Dennis & Sally for being such lovely hosts. Also to top it off the weather was very kind to us which made it even better.




Dave & Abi.
From Nottingham.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hello Dave and Abi,
Thank you for your review on TA and choosing to stay with us at the Osprey GH on your recent visit to Blackpool. We are glad that you found the hotel location perfect and that enjoyed the breakfast very much. We look forward to your next visit in the near future and yes, bring the sunshine with you.
Regards, Dennis and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I went to Blackpool for my annual trek to the Rebellion Punk festival. After last year’s fiasco of a leaky room and people pulling the fire alarm (for fun) in the early morning hours, I decided to try new accommodations for 2012. So I read the reviews and decided upon the OSPREY to see if I could upscale for the same price of 25 British Pounds a night. The results: success!

Dennis and Sally run a small, family and PUNK friendly B&B. The room was clean, the shower and bathroom sufficient (lots of hot water with good pressure), and the bed was comfortable. In fact, I slept great the whole five nights I was there. One night there was a thunder storm and even with my window open, I slept right through it. I had friends staying in the larger rooms and these quarters were also of good quality and of course much bigger to accommodate more guests per room. My friends were happy, in particular two of them stayed on my recommendation (based on Trip Advisor).

I stayed in a single room at the inn and I will say that Dennis was right when he said it was small. Two people would not fit, but for me it was sufficient. I had everything I needed.

The breakfast was traditional British and filling. You get a full plate with a fried egg, sausage, back-bacon, beans, tomato, a hash brown (the British version, I think), four pieces of toast, tea or coffee, and of course a selection of cereals and juice. I did not ask for anything special, but the hosts are accommodating and I’m assuming special diet needs could be met.

There is a small self service type bar in the front room with some pub table top video games (not gambling machines) and large TV. I was out at the shows most of the time so only used this space in the mornings to finish my coffee and chat with other guests about the bands we saw. Several times during my stay I would nip back to the Osprey for a nap so I would not crash and burn for the headline bands.

One of my main “must haves” is wi-fi. I travel with an iPAD and this is my main way of keeping in touch with family and work as I’m coming in from overseas. The wi-fi router was sharing space with other appliances for plug space and a few mornings and late evenings it was unplugged and no service was available. Otherwise, the signal was always strong and a few times I even streamed NetFlix.

Getting there was pretty easy. I flew into Manchester and then took the direct train to Blackpool and walked to the inn (10 minutes). Map it out on MapQuest in advance so you don’t get lost. There is a service that requires you to change trains, but I thought the direct was better, and I arrived in time to catch it as it was leaving.

If your destination is the Winter Gardens (concert venue for Rebellion and other large events) then the Osprey is about a seven minute walk. Just up the road is a laundrette which came in handy as I was living out of a carry on based on too many times that my checked bags have been lost in the UK.

I booked my accommodations by contacting the Osprey directly. Dennis replied within hours and I had my room reserved and deposit paid.

So, if you are looking for a nice and comfortable, well run, and well kept B&B for Blackpool, you really can’t go wrong with the Osprey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwijie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Hi David,

thank you for choosing to stay with us after your previous experience in Blackpool last year and we are very pleased that you enjoyed it and were comfortable.
we also thank you for your very constructive description of your experience on the hotel and I am sure that many people will find it very useful.
we look forward to seeing you and your friends next year and until then wish you all the best.
regards, Dennis and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed over night with a group of friends, Dennis and Sally are so friendly and make you feel very welcome. The rooms were nice and clean, and the beds are extremely comfy. Great choice for a night or two in blackpool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nqycjlc n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Hi Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TA.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Osprey hotel on your recent visit to Blackpool and found it to be clean and comfortable.
we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
regards, Dennis and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#152 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osprey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osprey

Address: 27 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $84 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osprey 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osprey Guest House - Under new management from May 2017...Perfect for families and couples, The Osprey is ideally situated, in a quiet location, in the very heart of Blackpool with short walks to most of the major attractions including The Tower, The Winter Gardens, The Opera House, The Grand Theatre, Madame Tussauds, Sea Life, The Blackpool Tower Dungeon and Circus, Blackpool F.C. The Houndshill Shopping Centre with an array of shops including Debenhams, Primark, River Island, Next, Monsoon and many more is only 5 mins walk away. A short taxi or tram ride also gets you to The Pleasure Beach and South Shore within a few minutes. With our focus firmly on families and couples we offer good clean, well maintained and homely accommodation giving the emphasis on comfort, Quality and value for money. Parking: there are several public car parks within a very short walking distance with reasonable prices and we will be happy to provide full details on request. N.B PARKING IS NOT AVAILABLE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Osprey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing