We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”
Review of The Hornby Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hornby Villa
Ranked #32 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have stayed at some good and some bad hotels in Blackpool, this time I have to say The Hornby Villa was superb! From the moment you arrive both David and Gill make you feel welcome and take the time to make sure every little detail of your stay is covered. The breakfast is lovely, with David and Gill covering all aspects. Rooms are very clean with free wi-fi, and hotel itself a very short walk to centre. Sometimes its the small touches that make a big difference, that being personalised discount voucher for restaurant and hanging clothes up. Thanks David and Gill, we will certainly be using you again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks for reviewing you stay George H in one our standard double en-suite rooms. As a seasoned traveller to Blackpool who has stayed in some of the less desirable B&B's we were very honoured you rated us "supberb". We do our best to provide guests with as comfortable stay as possible & to recieve such a positive review fills us with pride regarding the accommadtion & service we provide...Look forward to seeing you again in the future...Regards Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 530 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at hornby villa for the weekend. I booked this hotel because of the reviews and we weren't disappointed... From the minute we walked in the door to the moment we left everything was perfect. David and Gill do a lovely job and are great hosts. Being able to have a choice for breakfast was great as my daughter can be hungry one morning and not the next!
The location of the hotel is great as it is very central.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemamma22156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you littlemamma for reviewing your 4 night midweek stay in one of our Standard Double en-suite rooms. We are pleased you had a great stay & our reviews which prompted you to book with us lived up to your expectations of what we offer... Glad you liked the different breakfast choices & look forward to seeing you both again .....Regards Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thanks David and Gill you both made are stay very welcoming, breakfast was excellent couldnt fault it ,will be recomending to friends and family the location is just about right far enough from the main hustle but located not too far from the tower and the winter gardens ,would definitley stay here again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Many thanks domo73 for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your break & breakfast & found our location ideal for stay. We get a lot of guests staying for events at The Winter Gardens being only a 5Min walk away. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.....Regards Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

wonderful two night stay.. david and jill were very welcoming and as it was our 30th wedding they even went to the trouble of putting baloons and banners up in our room.. very clean and tidy room and the whole place was a pleasure to stay in.. and the breakfast was superb.. will be booking another stay next time we visit blackpool..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcfc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Many thanks lcfc07 for reviewing your 2nt stay in our Superking en-suite room, We are pleased you had a great 30th anniversay in Blackpool & were suprised by the room deorations. Glad you enjoyed your "superb breakfast" too....Here's to another 30th years together & see you again on your next visit to Blackpool....Regards Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our hosts were extremely welcoming. There was a welcome pack in our room and David and Gill were able to provide other information we asked for such as restaurants. The breakfasts were excellent and the room comfortable.

The location was ideal as we were only 5 to 10 minutes from the centre of Blackpool which meant that we could leave our car at the hotel and lots of things were in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Many thanks Gillian w for reviewing your 2nt stay in a standard double en-suite room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay & found our location ideal being only a 5-10 min walk into the heart of everything. Pleased you enjoyed our hospitality & our recommendations on finding somewhere nice to eat out....Look forward to seeing you both again Regards Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I chose this B&B instead of a larger hotel because of the fab reviews. David and Gill are fabulous hosts friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and warm and the bed was so comfortable.The en-suite was small but had everything you need even toiletries and the shower was fab.There was a menu in your room that you can select items for breakfast the next day ( you can of course choose on the morning but ordering the night before speeds up the service)there is of course the usual cereals,orange juice a selection of yoghurts and more.and as much tea/coffee and toast as you would like. A 10/15 minutes walk to the promenade just enough to be out of the noise in the evenings.
Have already booked again for October

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looby0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hello looby0127 Thanks for taking the time to review your 4nt stay in one of our standard double en-suite rooms & we are pleased you had a great stay. Due to the layout of the building & room sizes it's difficult to incorporate large en-suite's into some rooms. We feel that guests these days prefer a smaller en-suite to a shared bathroom option especially with the extra toiletries we provide. We know we have provided a great service all round when guests rebook before leaving so we shall look forward to seeing you again in Oct & thanks for rebooking....Regards Gill & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I chose this B&B because it won a Trip Advisor award. And that award was clearly justified; it is a great place.

My room was clean, nicely decorated, with a big comfy bed, powerful compact shower, TV and fridge. Also wireless internet and car parking for only three pounds a day – very reasonable.

But what impressed me most overall is the level of attention the hosts pay to details. For example, when I arrived, owner David met me at the door and greeted me by my name. As I checked in, he referred to the various emails we’d exchanged; this is a great level of personal attention. I was also very impressed that he took the time to note my girlfriend’s name and remember it. She is Chinese and her name is pretty hard to remember and pronounce for a non-Chinese speaker – but David took the time to do so.

The B&B also offers a great breakfast, with a full range of items; the standard juices, cereals and yoghurts, but also a wide range of cooked items. There is a menu provided in the room and you can select the items you’d like the next day (guests can also just ask for what they want at the breakfast table, but ordering in advance speeds things up.) Here too the attention to detail was obvious – David knew I’d asked for brown rather than white toast, tea instead of coffee. And he remembered my choices the next day, too. Also Gill came into the room just to introduce herself, as I’d not met her up to that time.

Now of course there is no magic here; all it takes it attention to detail. But it shows that Gill and David have thought hard about how to make their guesthouse as good as possible. And they have succeeded very well; the Hornby Villa is run to a very high standard, and the hosts are friendly and welcoming, with a genuine desire for guests to enjoy their stay as much as possible.

I would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Many thanks David M for reviewing your 3nt stay in our Superking En-suite room & providing such in depth information to other potential guests looking for a nice B&B to stay. We are pleased you felt our award was justified, liked the room & found the car parking reasonable for internet bookings...it's handy that when guests like yourself book our accommodation online & request the parking in the special request box that they have peace of mind that they have a space guaranteed for their stay. I'ts all about attention to detail & giving good customer service & we are pleased this was duly noted in your review & hope to see you both again in the future....Regards Gill & Dvaid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#13 of 864 in Blackpool
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#40 of 864 in Blackpool
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 864 in Blackpool
806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waves Hotel
Waves Hotel
#35 of 864 in Blackpool
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#3 of 138 in Blackpool
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hornby Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hornby Villa

Address: 130 Hornby Road | Lancashire, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hornby Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HORNBY VILLA 4*B&B is not a party hotel/B&B, We do not accommodate Stag/Hens, Group bookings of Single or Mixed sex OR Late Night Nightclubbers....We specialise in relaxing breaks in a homely environment for Couples / The solo traveller / Families / Delegates attending events & conferences..... ABOUT US..The Hornby Villa is a late Victorian house providing the traditional experience of a seaside B&B with a homely ambience while awarded a 4*Guest Accommodation status by Visit Britain for our excellent standards of Cleanliness / Hospitality / Breakfasts & the presentation of our Bedrooms which do vary in size & this is reflected in our pricing structure. LIMITED CAR PARKING IS AVAILABLE BUT MUST BE PREBOOKED BEFORE ARRIVAL BY CONTACTING US DIRECTLY .Perfectly situated at the top of Hornby Road away from the hustle & bustle of the noisy nightlife & Ideal for event & conference delegates being only a short 5 min walk to the Winter Gardens. The National Express coach station is at the bottom of Hornby Road, along with The Sealife Centre, Blackpool Tower, Central Pier, Town Centre & the Promenade also a short 5min walk away--- ROOMS...All En-Suite & accessed by stairs, non smoking,tastefully furnished & each room with it's own sense of identity. Rooms have Free WiFi, Freeview TV ,Tea & coffeee making facilities with complimentary beverages. We supply big bath sheets,hand towels,toiletries & Hairdryers are provided in every room. Our Superior Double/Twin - 4 Poster Room & Superking Rooms also have a Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Hornby Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hornby Villa Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing