We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel in blackpool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hornby Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hornby Villa
Ranked #27 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best hotel in blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

when we stayed at the hornby it is very very clean and it is a nice place to stay there they are to very nice people .cant wait go back there we had a wonderful week they make you welcome.they do lovely porridge and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many thanks Sam E for reviewing your stay this time with us. We are pleased you & the family enjoyed your stay again, it's always nice to see returning guests year after year & as we go into our 6th season here in Blackpool we're sure we'll see you & many other familiar faces this year returning to pay us another visit...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    46
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
133
241
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for a week on October and it just gets better. Stayed July and I said wow now even better. Rooms so clean and the added toiletries just amazing. Breakfast always excellent but now even better. Gilly and Dave the perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for a wonderful week. We'll see you next year. No where better to stay in Blackpool

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank femaleowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks femaleowl for reviewing your stay again with us for a week in a standard double en-suite room,we are pleased you had a great stay. We pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness & hospitality which has been rewarded with our new 4*rating from Visit Britain this year. Glad you liked our new breakfast menu from the light choices to the full works & a couple of Gill's speciality dishes on the menu too...Its always nice to welcome returning guests back & have a catch up...we'll see you again next year...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carperby, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our second trip to blackpool this year. Stopped again at Hornby Villa, could not fault it David and Gilly are very welcoming could not ask for two nicer hosts. We loved this trip this time as we were able to see the lights which were fantastic. Cant wait to return next year :)

Room Tip: We have stayed in both room 9 and room 7. Room 7 is more of a family room as bunk beds for kids very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Amanda R for reviewing your 2nd stay with us...After visiting us in the Summer we were delighted to to see you again for the lights with the Children. Glad you all had a great time & loved our Family 4 room with the bunk beds & great view of the illuminated tower at night...Look forward to seeing you all again next year..Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Myself and my mam have been to blackpool for 3 years running now and we are so pleased that we found hornby villa on the internet. After our first time stayng there we loved it and we loved Dave and Gill (the owners). Everything was great with our stay! we had a great laugh with Dave and Gill and they made us very welcome. The room was spectacular, very clean AND LOVELY AND WARM! We woud never stay anywhere else.
This year me and my boyfriend got engaged at the hotel and when i walked into the room Dave and Gill had decorated it with banners, balloons, chocolates etc. It was so lovely (something i will never forget).
I would highly recommend staying here as its our favourite place, cant wait till next year! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks Emma M for reviewing your 3nts stay with us again in our Superior Twin en-suite. We are also pleased you found Hornby Villa as that last weekend of the lights just wouldn't be the same without you two now you've been here for 3 years in a row. Glad you always like your room, it was a very cold weekend but with the heating on full blast we are glad you were lovely & warm....It was a covert operation keeping secret the arrival of your fiance to be...glad you liked the room decorating for you both & don't forget the wedding invite...lol All the best for a great future together...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

this was our 2nd stay at hornby villa just as good as the first spotlessly clean accomodation,
excellant breakfast and you could not wish to meet anyone more friendly than david and gill
nothing was too much trouble and we have already booked to return next year
looking forward to seeing you next year sylvia & colin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank image13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks image13 for reviewing your 2nd stay with us...we are pleased you enjoyed your 3nt stay in one of our standard double en-suite rooms. It's really nice to see returning guests year after year & have a good catch up & i'ts a good job you mentioned your dates next Oct as you managed to book the last room for next year before you left ....So see you again then Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

After booking our weekend away back in Feb 2012 My hubby and i could not wait to go to Blackpool and see the lights for the first time. We went with Garys Mum and step dad this time and have enjoyed the stay very much. We had the 6' bed in room 9, which was clean and very pleasant only thing was the room was very cold. We tried to turn it up but the thermostat was not even fixed on the radiator and so could not be adjusted sadly. The windows were always condensated up when we got up and with the heating only just trying to warm our room we were always so cold. Our inlaws were in room 5 and compared to ours theres felt like an oven.
Overall though if it was not for the room being cold then we would give a 5 star rating. The breakfast was lovely, all hot and tasted gorgeous and the owners could not do enough for us. The on site bar was a bonus too. Overall i would say book this place, the heating issue can be looked at and maybe when you stay it will be sorted out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AygoGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Nye71 thanks for reviewing your stay , glad you liked the breakfast & our bar area. Sorry you felt cold but it's just a shame you left it until your departure 3 nights later to inform us about the radiator which we could have resolved for you..other rooms that weekend such as your inlaws room had the radiator on number 5 as it was a cold weekend & as you said thier room was like an oven...On inspection your radiator was only on number 2....we had no problem turning the thermostatic valve back to 5 for new guests arriving...However you still enjoyed your stay thats the main thing..Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during October half term and would highly recommend this to anyone. The facilities were fantastic and the reception from David and Gill was second to none; they couldn't do enough to help and the breakfasts were superb. Everything is within walking distance and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again; first class in every way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_and_family_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you rich_and_family for reviewing your 3nt stay in our Family 4 ensuite. We are pleased you had a great time here with the children & found our location ideal for all the attractions you visited during your stay. We are located in a quieter area at the top of Hornby Road yet Its only a 5 min walk to the bottom of the road where you'll find the sealife centre, tower & coral island. Glad you all enjoyed your breakfasts too & we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the future...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#26 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaplins Hotel
Chaplins Hotel
#29 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#10 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Norwood Hull Road
The Norwood Hull Road
#25 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#35 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hornby Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hornby Villa

Property: The Hornby Villa
Address: 130 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hornby Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HORNBY VILLA 4*B&B is not a party hotel/B&B, We do not accommodate Stag/Hens, Group bookings of Single or Mixed sex OR Late Night Nightclubbers....We specialise in relaxing breaks in a homely environment for Couples / The solo traveller / Families / Delegates attending events & conferences..... ABOUT US..The Hornby Villa is a late Victorian house providing the traditional experience of a seaside B&B with a homely ambience while awarded a 4*Guest Accommodation status by Visit Britain for our excellent standards of Cleanliness / Hospitality / Breakfasts & the presentation of our Bedrooms which do vary in size & this is reflected in our pricing structure. LIMITED CAR PARKING IS AVAILABLE BUT MUST BE PREBOOKED BEFORE ARRIVAL BY CONTACTING US DIRECTLY .Perfectly situated at the top of Hornby Road away from the hustle & bustle of the noisy nightlife & Ideal for event & conference delegates being only a short 5 min walk to the Winter Gardens. The National Express coach station is at the bottom of Hornby Road, along with The Sealife Centre, Blackpool Tower, Central Pier, Town Centre & the Promenade also a short 5min walk away--- ROOMS...All En-Suite & accessed by stairs, non smoking,tastefully furnished & each room with it's own sense of identity. Rooms have Free WiFi, Freeview TV ,Tea & coffeee making facilities with complimentary beverages. We supply big bath sheets,hand towels,toiletries & Hairdryers are provided in every room. Our Superior Double/Twin - 4 Poster Room & Superking Rooms also have a Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hornby Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hornby Villa Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing