We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“real fun day out for all the family.”

Sandcastle Waterpark
Ranked #13 of 79 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sandcastle Waterpark, in Blackpool, is the UK’s largest indoor waterpark, with 18 slides and attractions, open year round and fun for all the family. Amongst the slides and attractions are Master Blaster - the longest indoor Roller Coaster waterslide in the world, Sidewinder, Aztec Falls, Montazooma, Thunderfalls family slides and more!
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“real fun day out for all the family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on 20th march and had a really fun time (2 adults and a 9 yr old). The slides were great and the queues were not long. Would definately recommend the extra 5 pound charge for the extra slides (loved the sidewinder). Also I would recommend prepaying for food/drink/gifts, this way you dont have to carry money or keep going to your locker (50p). only down side is that the seats and tables get reserved by people leaving towels on them so get them quick. Plenty for everyone to do and will definately be going back very soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,694
    854
    405
    204
    151
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Leave wet, exhausted and happy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

What to do on a freezing winter break with small kids when the snow and wind keep you off the beach! Go to a tropical world of slides and waves.
With two (essentially) non-swimmers aged 3 and 5 we weren't sure how much fun we'd have. We need not have worried. There is plenty for even the smallest fishes to do.
The price tag (for non-locals at least) is not cheap - £45 is not a cheap swimming pool. But the Sandcastle is more than a swimming pool - it's a day out. We were there from 10am - 3pm (on the first Saturday of the season - 23rd March) and it was essentially like being somewhere warm by the sea - though the noise is pretty horrific as the place fills up.
Top Tip for visitors - when you want to sit down - head as high up as you can get ... it's much warmer near the roof than by the poolside.
Top Tip for the owners / managers - let me open a Subway concession inside - people want so much more than chips and oily nuggets these days.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KP508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fun for all! Just don't go in the school holidays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've been here over 10 times and the kids love it (so do I) we have a 4 year old, 12 year old and 15 year old and it really is the best value day out in blackpool! Less than half the price of the pleasure beach and tower. We once made a huge mistake and went during the holidays though! Never again, they let far too many in and it ruins the whole thing, massive queue's and its just a constant battle trying to move around, they pack it literally full and its not pleasant. We learned our lesson and usually go on holiday and visit sandcastle during term time now (not possible for everyone I know) If you want a brilliant day out that adults and kids can enjoy you won't be disapointed, there's plenty of slides for older kids and adults and loads for the smaller kids and some slower slides for adults that don't like the fast slides and you can also sit smaller children on your knee on these ones. We always take our own food and put it in a poolside locker (which you are allowed to do by the way lol) always book online (its cheaper) and never ever go during school holidays and you will love it!

Helpful?
Thank richlee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Brilliant for kids ...again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our second visit with a three and five year old. The place has had a revamp..not sure how much it needed it but it was great. The kids can't go on all the rides due to age but that made absolutely no difference to the fun they had and they can go on ample. Where else can you just sit and watch a three and five year old play for about 2 hours without having to do much!! They loved racing down the slides and riding the rapids. There are loads of inflatable rings to use which adds to the great safety here. The place was busy so you would expect some irritations but it was managed extremely well and the staff were so friendly. The amount of life guards on duty was fantastic and I felt very very safe with two kids on my own. The place was warm and very clean. I was particularly impressed with how they kept the changing rooms in such nice condition given the amount of people there over half term. That certainly does not happen at my local pool. This was again a great value day out. The kids are already asking when we are going back...and as there are slides etc for all ages I think it will be on out hit list in Blackpool for sometime to come.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good water park, poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Water Park is fabulous, warm, safe and clean. But deary me, the service is terrible, I stood a whole 3 minutes (which is a long time when there is no que and 3 staff behind the counter) while the 3 girls behind the "snack shack" gossiped about colleagues and there previous night, one very rude lady, who was obviously wearing last nights make up, advised me "were not open ya see, move along".
Again i tried an hour later to get a cup of tea, again was stood waiting for a while while she finished her conversation.
I would return due to the facilities but the staff service level is dangerously low. Beware.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTommyCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Waterpark also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Sandcastle Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing