We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcoming, smells damp and cleanliness not 100%”
Review of The Trafalgar

The Trafalgar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Trafalgar
Ranked #454 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The owner of this hotel was very rude on arrival claiming he did not have the rooms we had booked as we had "changed our booking so many times", even though we had let them know of the final changes four days before and should not have affected anything!
We requested rooms at the front of the hotel on booking but was given 1 back room (out of 3), we were promised a large double to fit in our babies travel cot (room 5) but this suddenly became unavailble on arrival?? The evening meals were nice as was the breakfast. The two owners came across as rude most of the time like anything you asked was too much trouble (couldnt be bothered attitude), when they were polite it seemed fake, unless they were talking to their regular guests where nothing was too much trouble.
We went down into the bar area that smelt damp and looked dirty, we were givien out of date bottled cider and crisps when purchasing at the bar. The rooms were not 100% clean, lots of dust, old clothes tags on the floor, lipstick on the mugs and the sugar,tea bags and coffee were stored in a dirty bowl. There are better more friendly hotels to stay for sure, look before you book! We will not be staying here again!

Room Tip: Dont stay unless your a regular guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

I see you did not go into details how many times you changed your booking and it was because of this Room 5 was not available.and it is obvious that is why you have chosen to put several untruthful remarks in your review I note you made no comment on the help I gave you with your car on which the tyres were so illegal you would have been summonsed for it if you had been stopped.but thankyou for your kind remarks about the food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

Definitely not a five star, but I didn't expect one. The Good: This hotel was clean and comfortable. It was in a good location and the staff was very nice. There was always someone at a desk which made it seem very secure. There was an in-room safe. There was a coffee/tea maker although they told me via email that there was not one. The "less than good": The bathroom was designed by someone who was inexperienced. Perhaps remodeling an old hotel was a challenge. The shower drained outside of the bathtub, onto the tile, which had another drain. The sink had a flat bottom which limited draining when you brushed your teeth, and the faucet went directly into the drain. The lighting in the bathroom at the mirror was terrible, and the magnifying mirror had no light. The furnishings were modest, which surprised me for a Hilton.

I would stay there again though and would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shastaboz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Hi You have obviously reviewed the wrong hotel We do not have in room safe ,bath tub etc so I do not know where you stayed but it was definitely not with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

What a super stay we had. From the start of our holiday to the very end we were made to feel part of a lovely family atmosphere. My daughter has four disabled children and everything was done to make their holiday really special.The rooms were most comfortable and decorated with good taste.The food was excellent . well presented and substantial portions.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience a well run hotel that welcomes everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boobetty5824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Found the hotel very clean and comfortable. Our room was lovely with a well stocked hospitality tray. The en suite was also spotlessly kept. The food was very nice, well presented and varied. We found the staff, Michael and Sharon great hosts where nothing was too much trouble. Also particularly loved the bar area with pool table! The hotel itself was in a great location which was an added bonus. We would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodgate_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Recently stayed at the Trafalgar Hotel, Blackpool and can highly recommend it. Very clean, lovely comfortable room, great meals and very friendly staff. Would definitely book again. Cant recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeshrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I was reading reviews prior to entering my own and found one from a lady who had a bad review of the very same room i and my family stayed in. The room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable.The meals were plentyful, well cooked and well presented.Service was excellent from start to finish and i would like to thank Michael and Sharon for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boobetty5824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Excellent, loved it, i stayed here with my husband and my 3 children, one of our children has physical disabilities and one has mental disabilities, they made us feel most welcome and helped in every way possible with the children, the male owner carried the children's equipment up the stairs while my husband carried our daughter and the lady owner carried our baby, they catered for our child's dietary needs at all different times of the day, i wouldn't stay anywhere else in Blackpool these people made us feel extremely welcome and helped in every way they could, lovely couple and clean rooms, the hotel always smelt fresh and is decorated and kept to a high standard, love the place, friendly helpful people and lovely presented hotel, well done to the owners!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smemster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar

Address: 106 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $61 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trafalgar 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing