We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenmount Hotel
Ranked #587 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2011

just came on to write a review about this B&B and cant understand the last 2 reviews . me and my wife have stayed here for the last 7 years and have always had a fantastic time. On no website does it say that this place has a balcony or terrace. The room we were in was spotless and the breakfast was amazing. nick the owner couldnt do enough for us and he kept the bar open so people could enjoy a drink. this is a 3* B&B not hotel which is reflected in the price (hotels are much more expensive). The fire alarm did go off but that was due to someone smoking in 1 of the rooms which isnt allowed. i would much rather a fire system be working and be safe than have none. i would highly recommend this place to anyone and urge people to stay and make your own mind up. Cant wait to stay here again as it is so close to all of blackpools attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

Firstly, you have to realise that this hotel claims to be 3 star and charged 25 pound a night for B&B which is above the going rate for this type of hotel.

The hotel looks great from the outside but once you get in you realise it's smoke and mirrors The hotel is meant to have just been renovated but it didn't feel like that.

The cups supplied in the room were filthy. There was a bedside lamp but we couldn't find anywhere to plug it in. The wardrobe had primark paper bags in it and a few receipts so obviously hadn't been checked. The bathroom was okay except the toilet seat was about two thirds the size of the bowl which was strange.

The owner, a guy called Tony could at best be described as eccentric and could be quite rude. The place accepted stag groups and was really noisy until the early hours and the fire alarm went off at 4am causing Tony to storm into our room to stand on the bed to sort out the smoke alarm. Without so much of an apology, later we could hear him arguing with his partner that he's sick of the fire alarms going off 'when somebody farts' which would have been amusing if we weren't so tired from the noise.

Breakfast was fine and Tonys partner who I didn't get the name of was quite cheerful and sociable.

All in all though, the hotel wasn't up to scratch. Dirty in places and overly expensive. There are much better and cheaper places in Blackpool. Font make the mistake of believing the pictures on the website as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Booked the four poster bed, website promised jacuzzi,balcony/terrace,iron + board and many other extras. What we actually got was just the bed and a minuscule shower toilet sink area. The whole place is falling apart even though it's supposed to have just been renovated.there was no point trying to watch tv as one of the bed posts blocked the view, at breakfast time, you got full English wether you wanted it or not and one of our party found a dog hair in theirs, bottles of alchopop were out of date, then just to make matters worse, the fire alarm went off at 4 in the morning.which apparently is a regular thing.I won't go on but you get the picture. Will not recommend this place to anyone and never again stay in such a hovel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridlinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Speechless!!!! Still recovering from the shock at staying at the place!!!! Never ever again is that a place we would stay at.... Put it this way the streets are cleaner!!!! One place I certainly wouldn't recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soapnwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

we stayed at Hotel on JULY . IT was great from start to finish
nothing was to much trouble for Nick , good food
and great fun , our party ranged in ages from three to fifty six

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamiltonMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We booked on line only to establish that we then had to pay more money but hey ho you don't mind paying for comfort but this was NOT the case! On arrival the HOTEL 1st impression was that the windows need cleaning, it was freezing, the wardrobe smelt, the toilet was dirty, the water supply in the bathroom was merely a dribble, the window had a broken handle so it didn't close not to mention lock, skirting boards missing, wallpaper hanging off, the whole place was dusty and the bedspread was a CHAVY berberry design!!! I could go on but don't think it warrants my time! NEVER EVER again!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yido4life1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Stayed at the Greenmount on a Saturday night with a few mates for a night out in Blackpool.

Can’t fault the place for what we paid. Great value for money at £21 per person per night. Our room was clean and comfortable with a double bed and a bunk bed. Bathroom small but that wasn’t really an issue.

Owner very friendly and a nice reasonably-priced and well-stocked bar with a pool table, TV and fruit machine.

Great location, just off the sea-front and a short walk to the buzzing nightlife of Blackpool.

Full English Breakfast included in the room rate, perfect for aiding the hangover recovery the next day.

Would definitely stay here again when in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeberino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenmount Hotel

Address: 27-29 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greenmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Greenmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing