We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T DO IT.....”
Review of South Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Crest Hotel
Ranked #797 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Where do i start... Not at all welcoming, dirty from the front step where there is a bucket full of fag dimps right up to room 8. I booked bed and breakfast for 2 nights with my daughter and her 2 children, we arrived at around 6pm and were gone by 8am next day, we didnt even stay for breakfast because if the kitchen and dining room was as dirty as the bedroom we would have been seriously ill. Beds hard a lumpy, carpets never even seen a hoover, light shade thick with dust, toilet took forever to flush, old antwacky furniture.The bathroom was minging, mouldy shower curtain and chipped toilet seat. These people should be sued for false advertising. The photos shown on their advertising page is not a true representation of the ransid squat that this place is. We ended up paying more money out to stay in the travelodge that was just a short walk away from the pleasure beach. Please dont think this review is exaggerated in any way it is an HONEST review of the SOUTH CREST HOTEL.

Room Tip: choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rawlinsongm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here February 2012. Website info and pictures sold it to us.
From a cleanliness point of view it was "minging" as we say here. My son lost a toy under the bed. When we moved it, I don't think it had ever been hoovered. There was a thich layer of dust, hairs of all lengths and colours, plus a couple of odd socks, sweet wrappers etc. The toilet was a tiny space with a sliding folding door. If you were slightly overweight, you,ve had it. The shower didn't work at all, but was just as well as the corners especially had black greasy areas with hairs. The Lino floor was similar and a slight smell of pee. We were only staying 1 night, and had our showers at the waterpark the next day.
The weather was very cold at that time and the radiator was badly needing bled as barely any heat was being thrown out. Additionally, the bed was next to the window and it was Baltic in the tiny room on the top floor. However we went to tesco,s and bought a very cheap small electric fan which solved that problem.
The breakfast was good and the owner seemed nice. I think they had just bought it recently, but they really need to sack the cleaners and get more involved in the management of the business, as it was completely unacceptable despite the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACS033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My boyfriend and i booked this b&b as we decided to go to blackpool for the weekend. We did not rea any review before going and were shocked to see what some people had said.

The staff were nice, friendly and helpful, the room was VERY basic (no mirror) and the room was clean.

Perfectly fine for the price of the room and for the length of stay, with the room being so basic and the lack of plugs and tv not working i dont think i could have stayed for longer than that but for a one night stay an for our budget it was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stay at this hotel in month of December I think I stay here wong time of year. I find sanitary towel stuck on my pillow, there were mould round toilet seat so i poop in shower. I asked for scramble egg and get shell in my egg. A tramp would even refuse to stay in hotel here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My review is going to be quite mixed as we went in a group of four and the experience was quite different for everyone in the party. Me and my other half had a nice but very small room which overlooked the sea . Our room was nice and cosy on arrival although there was no toilet roll in our bathroom which wasn't handy after we had been travelling a couple of hours. Unfortunately our friends who stayed with us had a very poor stay as the quality of their room was that bad. They had a room at the back of the building which smelt of damp and was freezing , there didn't seem to be any improvement when adjusting radiators. There tv also wouldn't work leaving them very bored on a night. Overall the stay in the hotel was very average . The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast is nice but the hotel itself could do with alot of improving (this is probably why is is so cheap to stay) . Me and my other got lucky with our room but our friends really didn't . We wont be back as there is so much choice in Blackpool.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccixox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed there for 11 days whilst working in Blackpool. The first thing that you noticed is the state of the forecourt which looked like it hadn't been cleaned all season. The hallway carpets could also do with a good clean, as they were badly stained. The welcome was unfriendly and we went to the rooms which were clean and warm, but tiny with a view of a brick wall! Breakfast on the first day was pretty good but deteriorated throughout the stay. My colleague asked if he could have brown bread one day,and was told if he bought it they would do it! A girl at the next table asked for a glass of water and was told that she would have to buy it from the bar! We were also asked if we wouldn't mind sharing a room on the Saturday night as they were double booked....that got a swift reply! We got 'upgraded' to a sea view room for the second week which had better wifi access, but once again the rooms had seen better days even though they were clean and warm. Rooms are serviced every 2 days.....by that I mean the towel is changed and the bin is emptied. I would't recommend this hotel at all. On a safety note, there are no fire notices in the rooms and the only exit in the event of a fire is the front door as the other signed exit is through the kitchen which has a locked door only accesible with a key code.

Room Tip: Dont even book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1southcrest, Owner at South Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thanks for your reply but we are not understand whats your complain one hand you say rooms was clean and warm and breakfast was good than whats your complain for we not provide brown bread to your friend because we not do brown bread but your friend every day asking for six eggs scambled egg and we make for him you not wrote this.you book just one breakfast for each not six we give every day two toast for one person but you you take eight toast every day and your friend and you told white bread not good than why u had eight to ten toast every day.And your friend and you book just one single room and your friend want six seven tea and coffees every day no one give u more than one bag but still we are good with u and provide you tea/coffee three four every day.Are u a fire inspector because we had fire inspector came to check my hotel every year he know we had two fire exits not one for your kind information all hotel running in the blackpool under rules and regulation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were on a tight budget visiting Blackpool on a short out of season break. This hotel/bed n breakfast seemed to fit the bill. The positives: the room had a sea view (requested by us on booking). We were not charged for this, though I believe other residents have been charged for a room overlooking the prom. The room was lovely and warm, and there was plenty hot water. The room had clean, crisp bed linen, and a working tv. The full English breakfast was great value at £3 a head. On the day of our departure, check out was 10.30am, and our train was not till 5.20pm, but the owners kindly kept our luggage for the duration of the day free of charge, which allowed us to explore more of Blackpool for the day without carrying heavy bags about. The negatives........the public area, especially the lobby, is tatty. The carpet is filthy. The rooms ARE small - be warned. They are also VERY basic - no hairdryers, no irons, no shampoo, no shower caps, no glass on the sink, and the pillows are flat as pancakes. That said, it was cosy, and I did feel the bed linen was clean, and there was an ensuite - basic though it was with its 70s concertina style door :). One other thing I would mention is the hotel is quite far up the South Promenade - probably ok in peak season when the South Pier and Pleasure Beach are operational, but out of season, you're quite a walk from the Golden Mile and Town Centre amenities.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 which was small but had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfakitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#347 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Crest Hotel

Address: 359 Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #797 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $63 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Crest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Crest Hotel is situated on the promenade mid-way between central and south piers. Our location is such that you may leave your car on our car park yet still be with in easy walking distance of Blackpool's main attractions i.e. Tower, Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle and all three piers. Trams and buses stop right opposite the hotel. The railway station and airport are both within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing