We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Guest House”
Review of Caroldene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caroldene Hotel
Ranked #123 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Basic Guest House”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for one night, the decor is basic and dated. My room a single en suite was clean, lots of retro fit electrics all wall mounted in conduit, not exactly attractive. An ancient CRT TV and Freeview box, which were not exactly easy to use, no hot water in the bathroom, and I could not get hot water from the shower either. Breakfast was cooked to order and good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorksdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    33
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
88
25
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights in july. Its a friendly place, and parking can be arranged which was handy as its not easy finding a space. The hotel is clean but very dated, The ensuite was very small and the shower didnt work very well. The breakfast was ok. its good enough for a couple of days in Blackpool. The good thing was the location, very close to the seafornt, and mid way between south and central piers, good walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockchic911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife and two kids in a family room. Sue was very friendly and helpful and arranged parking for us in advance on a private plot at the top of the street which cost £7 for two days.

The hotel is very clean and our room was very good with a double bed in one room and a separate room for the kids, breakfast was also spot on with cooked, cereals, yogurts and fruit on offer. The hotel was full but we didn't hear anyone else from our room and had a good nights sleep.

As for blackpool we enjoyed the pleasure beach and the piers and spent a fortune but had a good couple of days and we will be back next year and will definately stay at the Caroldene again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great family environment. Great location and sue is very helpful and nothing is to much trouble. We had 2 rooms one me and my partner and we gave the girls a room of there own The breakfast was perfect and really filling. I would recommend to stay and we will be staying again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granitza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

stayed for 3 nights midweek, myself and partner with 2 daughters. Sue the owner was very welcoming and couldnt of done enough for us, even made us a toastie at 9.30 at night! bedrooms were spotlessly clean as were bathrooms and towels were provided. food and drink were exceptionally reasonably priced and it was like home from home sitting in the bar area. nothing was a bother ever for sue and we will deffinately be returning to the caroldene again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashmac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed overnight during the week. Due to prior work comittments, was only able to get into Blackpool at around 9pm - phoned up beforehad to check if this would be OK and was told it wasn't a problem. Great welcome when checking in by the owner, who explained about the facilities downstairs (lounge area with TV, bar with Strongbow, Guinness, Tetley Bitter and a few others on display), and breakfast - normally served between 9-9.30. However I had a train to catch the next morning at 09.45 so was able to have breakfast half an hour earlier, which was great.

Room was on the first floor at the back of the B+B. On the small side, but adequate and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee provided, TV with Freeview, bedside reading lamp, desk and chair, and a wardrobe with the safe inside. Bathroom had a decent shower and hairdryer. Decor is a bit dated, but apart from that there were no problems and had a great stay.

For those not aware, Blackpool has two main railway stations - North and South. The Caroldene is nearest to the South station, but Blackpool North has much more frequent services. Taxis can be expensive, so the best option if you don't have much luggage to carry is to turn right out of Blackpool North, use the subway under the road and go up the ramp to the left. Turn right and head straight down the road to the sea front. You should see the North Pier directly ahead. If you turn left there should be North Pier tram stop - get a tram heading towards Starr Gate and ask for a single to St. Chad's Road (£1.50 when I used it). When you get to St. Chad's Road stop, double back on yourself and Woodfield Road is one of the first streets on the right - the Caroldene is on the left hand side around half way up the road.

If you can get on a service to Blackpool South, exit the station by the stairs or ramp to the road bridge and turn left. Head down towards the roundabout and Tesco. Turn right at the roundabout and head up Lytham Road. Woodfield Road is on the right hand side after about a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We are just back from blackpool having stayed at the CAROLDENE ,.The hotel was great,nice clean bedrooms. lounge downstairs really comfortable.There is a good stocked bar. we enjoyed the food and found sue the landlady a nice person and helpful. Sorry but we found blackpool very run down.The tower seams to have been taken over so you have to pay to get into the tower then extra for the ballroom and again for the circus it goes on and on. They want you to buy a ticket that gets you into several attractions but at a cost of £35 so if you have kids there are no cheap days out. The hotel is well placed for the piers and pleasure beach.Would i go back to the caroldene yes without doubt thankyou sue

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONESTJOHN-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#20 of 70 in Blackpool
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#58 of 70 in Blackpool
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jays Mayfair
Jays Mayfair
#105 of 856 in Blackpool
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caroldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caroldene Hotel

Property: Caroldene Hotel
Address: 12 Woodfield Road, Blackpool FY1 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caroldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits everyone at the Caroldene. We have been awarded a three star rating by Visit Britain for quality and tourism. We pride ourselves on the high quality personal service given to all our guests. The Caroldene is a pet-friendly establishment. We are situated off the promenade between central and south pier, just a short walk from all major attractions, including Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower and The Zoo to name just a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caroldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing