We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite creepy, but not too bad”
Review of Parisienne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parisienne Hotel
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite creepy, but not too bad”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm a firm believer in 'you get what you pay for' and with hotels in mind, you can't expect 5 star hotels for 3 star prices. Myself and my partner stayed here in August with another couple, having pre-booked the hotel online paying a deposit. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly receptionist and were asked to pay the remainder there and then - which is odd and different to other hotels I've stayed at where you pay your bill at the end of your stay. (However, I'm sure this isn't the only hotel that does this). The first thing you notice when you walk into the hotel is the 'french' music playing softly in the background and resonates throughout the hotel - very creepy! On arrival we were given a parking permit for our stay, which was one night, but were assured that we could use the same permit throughout the following day after we'd checked out. This was not the case in the morning though, as we were informed by a different receptionist and we were consequently asked to move our vehicle. Although a pain, it was not the end of the world as there is ample parking further down the road and it is very reasonably priced.
To get to you rooms you have either a choice of stairs (which are a maze) or a lift (tiny and looks/feels like it's come straight out of a horror film!!). The rooms are not huge but are comfortable. While the room we stayed in didn't have a shower, it did have a bath which was fine. The couple we stayed with did have a shower room, which was so small you could probably use the toilet at the same time! My partner and I stayed on the top floor and had an awful nights sleep due to an air conditioning unit, or something, clunking away throughout the night directly above our room. However, the couple we traveled with were also on the top floor and did not hear anything, so this must have just been bad luck on our part!
Breakfast was great, your standard full English tea, coffee etc. Would have been perfect if it wasn't for the slightly louder creepy 'french' music playing in the background with the same song on repeat!
The location of the hotel is also not so bad, just a shot tram ride into the main center of town and just a bit further to the Pleasure Beach.
Before venturing off into the night we sat in the bar to have a few drinks and listen the cabaret singer. Although not to our tastes I can see that he was quite good and that the more mature hotel visitors were enjoying it.
Overall, the hotel served it's purpose of a bed for the night and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerB504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    169
    149
    86
    163
See reviews for
119
228
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a good weekend,food good,room excellent,friendly staff as always especially reception who were very helpful also was nice to see Kevin back as the compare.Looking forward to our next stay which will be for 5 days at Christmas.Thanks again to all the staff.

Room Tip: 302 Has a good sea view........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we payed £100 for a double room for 1 night bed and breakfast, having stayed at the imperial and the metrapol for less we thought we would be getting a decent hotel, it was shabby, the room was tiny and so was the bed, there was no shower just a tiny bath that you caould hardly fit in.breakfast was dismal, would not recommend and wont be back.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kejove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good points:-

On the sea-front
We had a large bedroom at the back of the hotel
Clean bed-sheets (but not bed-spread) & comfortable bed
Were allowed to book for just 1 night

Bad points:-

We asked the receptionist ‘is ours a nice room?’ (having read someone else’s good advice on this site – she replied “I hope so”
Filthy windows/net curtains
Stains on bed-spread
Could only open 1 of the 3 windows
Central heating radiator full blast and no knob to turn down (maintenance man did come and switch it off altogether after our request)
Tiny bathroom and silverfish (insects) crawling between filthy (peeling back) bathroom lino/rotten wooden door frame and bedroom carpet
Saying that the hotel décor is dated and shabby is an understatement, rough around every edge – you just didn’t want to look too closely at anything (especially in the bedroom)
Got woken to move car so another guest could leave (despite leaving our car key at reception on hotels suggestion and request) – they didn’t have anyone available to move it when required.
Waiter swore every time he dropped a knife etc. whilst clearing our table – thought it was foggy out while eating our kiddie’s size portion of breakfast but realized it was just more filthy windows.

Have stayed in other B & B’s half the price and cleaner/more modern accommodation – won’t be returning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFOLK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

we have just come back after having 5 days at the parisienne hotel the staff was very nice the food was excellent could do with making it more disable friendly by taking some beds out and making them a twin room we had three beds

Room Tip: if you have a disabil please ask for a lower floor as the lift isnt very practical
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YUMMYGRANNYSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

i loved my stay at the parisienne. the staff were excellent and very helpfull the room was very comfortable food excellent full english breakfast and five course menu every night with a choice to suit everyone even vegetarians. we stayed three nights and would most defenitely go back would recomend this hotel to anyone. entertainment was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked online with Book.com at a bargain price of £88.00 including breakfast for me, the wife and daughter. The book direct price was some £140.00 for the night and worth bearing in mind that "The Imperal" (4star) was £145.00 per night and booked up? So we viewed the pictures online and in line with the four star price, bargain, we thought and away we went. On arrival it would be very fair to say that the £88.00 for the night was about £80.00 over priced! The receptionist was delightful even upgrading us to a sea view. Then we entered the room!! Dear god! What had I done to my dear wife and daughter? The beds were solid the cleanliness was poor, the windows condensed and then the bathroom. In their infinite wisdom someone decided to convert a cupboard into an ensuite. There is not one moment of exaggeration when I say "you could use the toilet, shower and shave at the sametime without having to stretch a limb, which was good when you consider you could never have streched you hand without knocking a toothbrush off a shelf or adjusting the water temperature in the shower whilst using the toilet! A tip, if you do have a bump to the head and venture near this place and should you need the toilet, you'll find it easier to walk in there backwards". So depressed we went to explore the town as my daughters tears had subsided, only to return two hours later Tobermory told, " we've had to move you", why?, "because the ceiling in your room as collapsed into the room"! You know, runof the mill type of stuff. The room we were moved to was described as "not having a view". How right the duty manager was! It did have a window, a frosted glass one in the corner of the room and when opened the pigeon crap was volumous. The bathroom had got bigger though, this time you could only use two of the facilities in there and not all three. Bonus!! Come bedtime my daughter says "dad, why is my bed wet?" it wasn't, that was the damp!! The dampness was so bad any material in there felt wet. Then at 445am we had the pleasure of listening to someones conversation at full volume. Breakfast, described as a full English translated to a wartime ration! The coffe came in a teapot, the tea in a coffee pot, the toast cold and a feel of rubber. Checkout time couldn't have come quick enough and were we or anyone else asked, have you had a pleasant stay? No, because you knew by the look on the receptionists face that asking that question would have only added to the disappointment of hearing "NO" for the hundreth time that week!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReporterOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Hotel and Spa
Rose Hotel and Spa
#64 of 73 in Blackpool
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#41 of 73 in Blackpool
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
829 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
205 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parisienne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parisienne Hotel

Property: Parisienne Hotel
Address: 240 - 244 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RZ, England (Formerly Royal York Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parisienne Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the fashionable North Promenade, The Parisienne Hotel not only offers a friendly welcome but value for money and fantastic home-cooked food, a stone's throw away from Blackpool's many shops, bars and attractions - the hotel is in a prime location for all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parisienne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parisienne Hotel Blackpool
Royal York Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing