We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Rubens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rubens
Ranked #115 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This is a very superior B&B and it is a surprise to find that it has dropped from being the #1 Hotel in Blackpool to the #70 B&B! It is a B&B really but even so, it's a very good one. The service is friendly and attentive, our room was tastefully presented and spotless, breakfast was good and the price was realistic. We didn't hear a sound from any of the other rooms, or indeed guests on the staircase. It is short walk to the town centre, Winter Gardens and Tower. One can park outside overnight but not in the day between Easter and 10 November, though there are fee and free alternatives within easy reach. The area itself is clean and quiet. Our only niggles were a lack of hanging space for dresses and a concertina-style shower 'curtain' which is guaranteed to soak the bathroom floor every time! Nice place. Nice people. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
107
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had three nights at the Rubens Hotel and really liked the place. Lara and Ashley are extremely helpful and attentive, and gave us great recommendations on restaurants, etc. The traditional full English breakfasts are lovely. It is very well located, just minutes from the town centre and seafront. The room was not huge but it was clean and comfortable. All in all, good value and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have just stayed over at the Rubens hotel and have got to say pound for pound it beats all of the large hotel chains hands down.

You will receive the warnest welcome from Ashley and Lara with nothing being too much trouble for them, in fact this morning (sunday) we needed to be away befor 8am and our lovely hostesses got up at some unearthly hour to ensure we had breakfast before we left.

We would like to thank you both for the wonderful hospitality and for keeping your lovely hotel in such beautiful condition and comfort Jim, Susie and Ellie xx

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barratudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excellent 43
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great, Warm friendly and central for shops and bars, just a wonderful place to stay, clean friendly and made extremely welcome, well worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Excellent43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days and lara and ashley were very friendly, making us most welcome.The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfasts will fill you up for the day. You will not go hungry ,thats for sure. I noticed someone commented on the rooms not being serviced ,however, Lara and Ashley just let you do your own thing and you only have to ask for anything you need. The hotel has an excellent location and free wifi was a bonus (take note expensive hotel chains) yes we will use again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmac888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I read the reviews of this hotel on here and have to say that I really was expecting great things of Rubens Hotel. Saying that, I have no major complaints but I can't agree with a lot of the reviews on here that it is particularly special.

Yes, the rooms are spotlessly clean but there is no room servicing which I would expect of a hotel, however small. The shower in our room was poor and only gave out a small trickle of water with no real power to it.

The breakfast was fine but again nothing outstanding, just a regular cooked breakfast. We had hoped to make use of the hotel's bar but each time we returned back to the hotel it was all locked up and closed with no sign of any staff. Again, when an establishment calls itself a hotel you would, I believe, expect a hotel's bar to be open and not closed at 9.30-10pm.

We didn't get the 'bend over backwards to help' feeling from the hosts that others have described and we actually only saw one of the team during our stay. She was friendly and reasonably welcoming (with a dry sense of humour evident) but that was as far as it went for us.

So all in all, Rubens Hotel was ok, reasonable, but for us, not as speical as others have described on here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bezzabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed in Rubens for a week and have to say that Ashley and Lara run an exellent hotel. We travelled to blackpool for a honeymoon and recieved a bottle of wine! I really don't think we could have went to a better hotel as Ashley and Lara were so welcoming and helpfull for the full lengh of our trip. The breakfast was exellent every morning and very filling. The rooms were spottless, cosy and really nice. The bar was nice and very well priced and and exellent pint! Rubens is a top little hotel with top owners and is in a great area which we felt was quiet and friendly as well as being located perfectly for the blackpool attractions, eateries( had some great recomandations from Ashley and Lara!) and train/bus stations. We could not rate Rubens any higher and would like to thank Lara and Ashley for a great week! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyrfc1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#6 of 858 in Blackpool
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Seacroft
The Seacroft
#267 of 858 in Blackpool
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#103 of 858 in Blackpool
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brene Hotel
Brene Hotel
#122 of 858 in Blackpool
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#19 of 858 in Blackpool
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Northern Star
Northern Star
#343 of 858 in Blackpool
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubens

Property: Rubens
Address: 39 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rubens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley and Lara offer a warm welcome to all customers old and new to Rubens . We are conveniently situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool, and is only 200 yards from the North Shore British Rail and Coach Stations. Less than 100 yards from Rubens, the new entertainment complex now comprises of the new Flying Handbag, the multi million pound new Flamingo Club and the now world famous “Funny Girls”. Just a short walk takes you to the promenade, Winter Gardens, theatres, town centre shopping and of course Blackpool Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubens Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing