We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money shame about the bus trip.h@m newcastle upon tyne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2009

like i said great value for money,but the buse trip down to normanton was too much too trashy and time wasting,which will put alotof people off doing it again,yes its understandable having to change but not getting picked up at 5am/6am/7am.then hanging around normanton for 2 hours,abit too much you just want to get on your way.right hotel very claen tidy,friendly staff,very poliete,always said morning,afternoon and goodnite.the rooms were very airy,always clean towels changed beds maked,friendly chambermaids,one even comented on my nufc top she said she loved alan shearer (who doesnt) and the way geordies talk.food in the hotel was great the best i have had on shearings or any other coach holiday,plenty of choice,and they didnt scrimp on the portions either,alwats nicely presented.entertainment,we went out to to shows down town but got back for leyr d johns(poof)what afunny guy,never laughed so much in my life,even if you arent in this hotel go and see him ,but whwt ever you do dont go to the loo when he is on as he will pick on you,but means no harm.kiely hampston she was a good singer too and bruce was too on weds nite,cant leave anyone out can we.floor boards were noisey but were getting fixed when we were there,so making a improvement there.hotel is abit way out but plenty buses and trams but abit pricey,oaps can only use buses free not trams so beware oaps.would recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NufcShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 630 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2009

A 4 day holiday with shearings that was 1st class from start to finish the rooms were spotless,spacious,with every thing one could want, The food was great with plenty of choice the waiters and service were excellent.
the excursions pleasant despite the weather.the trip to the lakes with beautiful scenery was amazing.the evening entertainment with leye d Johns
was wonderful the only fault i found was the journey back home from Blackpool to home it took 10 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My husband and I chose your hotel to celebrate our very special Pearl Wedding Anniversary, as we are both very active and saw that your hotel offer "Guests luxury accommodation and superb leisure facilties. We have our very own luxury Health and Beauty Club on site, offering sauna, sunbeds and spa and exercise room". None of these exist and we feel that you are going against the Trade Description Act. As it rained the whole week these facilties are definitely required and we were only able to jog on a couple of days. We asked one of the waiters about the leisure facilties and he said that it should be in the basement but that floods!

We were glad that we had paid extra for a sea view for at least we had a large bedroom and a full bathroom, with plenty of hot water, but some of the guests were disappointed with theirs being small . The polish waitress we had was lovelly and efficient, and the food was good and hot. We thought the hotel overall could be more friendly.

The entertainment possibly suited the older generation and the bar prices were far too expensive. Would it not be better to have a Happy Hour at least once or twice a week, which would help people meet each other and make the evening more sociable and friendly.

Overall we are disappointed and for what we paid could have had a better Pearl Wedding elsewhere. Very disappointed for this special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disappoinment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinHeywood, PR manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

Firstly - I must make it clear that nowhere on our own websites ( we are not allowed to list them on here apparently - even in response to this review) do we mention the presence or inclusion of a health and beauty spa. We do not have these facilities at present, and have not advertised them in over 4 years.

Secondly - we're sorry about the fact it rained during your stay. We've had a word with him upstairs and he says he'll give you a few sunny days next time you visit.

Bar prices at the venue are in line with other hotels and establishments of a similar size in the town. We offer great value for money

Finally - our staff are incredibly friendly, and courteous - read other reviews on this page and they're a testiment to that fact. We're incredibly proud of them and to do them a dis-service of saying they could be more friendly wouldn't befit them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This hotel was excellent, all the staff were friendly, helpful and compassionate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was excellant, hot and plentiful with happy friendly staff waiting on you. the entertainment was excellent. would recommend this hotel and go back again.
From the Eckton Family
SOUTHAMPTON

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinHeywood, PR at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatonpheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $91 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing