We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gala weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
hull east yorksshire england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gala weekend”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just got home after a long weekend at the Liberty's,from the reception to the waiters/waitress the staff were more than helpful....I had read the reviews on this hotel before we went and to be truthful wasn't looking forward to it,it was nothing like people were saying.We were in a refurbished room and it was fabulous ....food was great always piping hot...we will certainly be visiting this hotel again and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us here at the Liberty's Hotel, I am really pleased you had a enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the staff helpful and friendly. I believe the staff here at the liberty's are real asset to the hotel and I am glad you agree.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments to the team and we all hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    212
    89
    47
    18
See reviews for
91
314
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we booked with National for a gala weekend the rooms are a great size not cramped the bathroom is nice and clean and a good size. the meals were great with good choices the staff went out of their way to put 2 groups of us on the same table in the dining area. the waiter service is very good. There was entertainment each evening so no need to go out when its cold. Will be going back to this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your dining experience.

I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to Rob and his team in the restaurant.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the last weekend of The Illuminations, the main reason for our visit and well worth it.
Did the self drive option but the hotel car park (£5.00 a day) was already full when we booked our stay so we paid £9 for 72 hours in the Public Car Park opposite. The only downside to this was that if you take the car out at any point you may not find a space on your return so we kept the car there and used the excellent public transport.
The hotel itself is like many of the other Bay Hotels.
On check-in to our room (101) I found a ladies wedding and engagement/eternity ring in the bedside cabinet which I promptly took to Reception. I hope the owner realizes their loss and gets them returned. These should have been found by the maid.
There were minimal hangers in the wardrobe and some of these were broken but a visit to reception sorted the problem.
We paid for a sea view double bedded room, large bathroom with bath and good shower. The bed was lumpy and pretty uncomfortable and the mattress definitely needs replacing.
The good point was that being above the bar we were able to get Wifi in our room. The bad point was that the entertainment and music being directly underneath us was noisy.
You no longer get biscuits or hot chocolate on the beverage tray but they can be purchased in reception.
The entertainment was not to our liking and not the best "Party Weekend" acts we have seen.
The food was fine and the service was very good. We were served by various waiting staff so it was hard to decide who to tip. We gave it to the waitress who had served us most at dinner. Not sure if the tips are shared.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galapagosbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Liberty's, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and found the staff friendly and helpful.

I'm disappointed to hear your stay was not perfect and in reply to your comments we have a on-going refurbishment plan which will see 16 newly refurbished rooms available to us early next year, I am sure if you return you will find them much more comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

went for weekend but it was very cheap food was good but some places need upgraded bedroom bathroom needed upgraded tiles need grout carpets in bar taped up need new carpet for what i paid it was ok enterainment was average to much bingo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fergie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi and thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, in relation to your comments about the hotel we do currently have a refurbishment programme on-going which has seen 16 rooms refurbished this January and another 16 to be completed early next year. I do hope you visit us again, Our newly refurbished bedrooms are available for a small supplement of £5.00 per person per night.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Recent coach trip to Blackpool, staying at Libertys Hotel Blackpool.
It was an ideal location just past the north pier in Blackpool,
very handy for all the shops pubs and transport ie, trams buses etc.
The hotel had a lot steps every where you wanted to go within the hotel
it was either up or down some steps.
There was a lift but it was at the other end of the hotel, so if your room was
near that was ok, but if you had a room at the other end it was stairs.
Not very good for anybody with walking difficulty.
The food and service was very good nice meals....

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the lift....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay here at the Liberty's Hotel, Myself and the team are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

For future reference when you book your next holiday with us, you can request a room near the lift at the time of booking and we will be more than happy to allocate this for you.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked with late rooms for a Sunday night stay. We arrived at 4.15 in the afternoon and were given the room key promptly. The room was quite large and modern with 3 windows, unfortunately as they were all filthy on the outside there was no sea view and a long handle on a feather duster would have removed the cobwebs. We were told entertainment was on so we stayed in the hotel,the drinks were pricey and the bar closed at 11 even though many people were still in there. We did not use the dining room at night as we had eaten in the town.we went in for breakfast and had we're not acknowledged for ages then told to sit where we had been the night before and had to explain it was the first time we had been in there. I had to ask for toast made with brown bread after white had been put in front of me and then had to send the cooked breakfast back as it was cold and served on a cold plate, not that there was much of it! The portions were tiny. I would have been gutted if I had paid the full price of £90 and think we still overpaid. They need to pay more attention to detail and customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and our own high standards we set ourselves.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was average. But for the money I suppose you can't complain. Very good location. Near some good bars, shops and tram stops which was useful. Walking distance to the Tower.

Good points: Clean hotel, good bar, friendly staff, loved the games room (with pool and darts), good view of the beach from the room, decent TVs with good signal, decent bath/shower, large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, plenty of drawers for clothes, food tasted nice, decent breakfast, hand the keys in before you go out so no risk of losing key, nightly entertainment (although I’d say it was more for the older generation, kettle in the room, hair dryer, hand soap provided, plenty of towels.

Bad Points: Bed and pillows firm/uncomfy, loud and creaky floor boards, games room boiling hot and stuffy (air con didn't work - no windows), food was ordered and on your plate within a minute which makes me question how fresh it is/how many microwaves are in the kitchen, waiters didn't clear tables well between courses so found table was cluttered with old cutlery/plates, tables were small and felt squashed together, when we asked for extra water/tea it took a while to come...

In all it wasn't a bad hotel and was cheap so can't complain too much. Enjoyable weekend and will definitely come to Blackpool again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haydon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Liberty's, All feedback is vital to us Positive or Negative and all your comments will be discussed with the team. I am really pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, but disappointed it was not a perfect stay.

Once again thank you for your review, We do hope you visit us again.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#40 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing