We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the 'old' Blackpool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Northwest England UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A taste of the 'old' Blackpool!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it was first opened. It only offered continental breakfast but you could stay in bed until 10am! It's sister hotel was the Royal York just around the corner (now the Parisienne which offered full English breakfast.There was a good age group mix but the hotel mainly appeared to appeal to younger people (not juveniles!) who appreciated the late lie-in and weren't bothered about full English....what a change!
I was surprised we could get in at such late notice (I phoned to check for a double en suite availability on Friday night for the Saturday). We only wanted 1 night and it was during the illuminations season so I didn't realistically expect to get in but we had no problem. It cost us £70 for the stay including breakfast.The hotel is clean and comfortable and the reception staff are really helpful and friendly. The hotel has a lift....a must as there are three floors and 2 flights of steps to get up to each floor.There were no spaces in the car park but we managed to park in the private car park across from the hotel and could see our car from our room. It cost £12 for 24 hours but so did the hotel car park. I'm not sure if parking would have been free for hotel guests.
The lounge and bar area is large and the hotel provided entertainment for the night. However........having changed to venture out we discovered that many guests were already gathering to claim their seats in front of the entertainment area. There was a large table set out with a tea urn and lots of cups and saucers etc. Now I am not age prejudice (I'm 60) but it very quickly became clear that this hotel caters mainly for the elderly....and there were very many of them. It is a Bay hotel and contracts with Shearings holidays.
My only real gripe is the time set for breakfast...8-9.30am on a Sunday morning????? Our British hotels really need to get a grip of this (in Paris breakfast is served until 11am). It is so uncivilised to drag people out of bed at this ridiculous time for breakfast but of course...I'm forgetting that in general, older people need less sleep and are awake very early in the morning but perhaps I'm wrong. The breakfast was adequate but 1 rasher of bacon is not enough for my husband. It seemed to me that the portion sizes catered for the smaller appetites. Service was excellent with pleasant professional staff but I was surprised to see that vacated tables were not cleared promptly. I know that dealing with guest's requests is priority but leaving tables cluttered with used crockery etc left the dining room looking untidy.
I think in future we shall be seeking a hotel that offers a later breakfast as I don't mind the alternative of a continental/buffet style meal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front mainly have sea views. Choose lower floors if you have mobility problems as the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altnaharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, especially the friendly staff.

As we were very busy we did not have any spare spaces in our car park, We charge £5 per day to park in our car park which can be pre booked with us at the hotel if required.
Our Breakfast times have been the same for many years and never really caused much issues to customers but your comments will be taken on board and discussed with the team.
I can assure you we cater for all ages of customers at our hotel.


Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    214
    91
    48
    18
See reviews for
91
319
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a few doubts about this hotel given other reviews, however having stayed three nights I feel the negatives are unfair.

The welcome was good, the public areas very clean and warm as were the bedrooms. On two days the were very strong gales but the hotel remained warm.

There are steps almost everywhere so not ideal for persons with mobility problems.

Clearly its not 5 star nor does it pretend to be, you need to take shampoos, etc. Our sea view room (201) was spacious and was great for watching the firework display on North Pier.

There was entertainment on two nights which was enjoyable, the food was typical of a seaside budget hotel but was well cooked, plentiful, warm and served by friendly polite staff.

The bar had a good section of drinks (beer £3.40 per pint) and the staff friendly polite and helpful.
Car parking charges are £5 per night booked in advance (its cheaper in the Car Parks opposite but places are limited).

Tip: If you have an English free Bus Pass you can travel free on both the buses and trams, (both of which are staffed by helpful, friendly professionals.

So if you want a great value budget hotel in a good location this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Sea views rooms spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review, We aim to provide a comfortable and friendly atmosphere which is value for money and i am really pleased you found this to be the case.

I do hope we see you again here at the Libertys Hotel

Once again Thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

just returned from a five day break with shearings to libertys on the square this is the best hotel
with shearings we have been to. staff were so polite and helpful the food was excellent thanks to
dominic for the great service.our room 127 was great it was large well decorated nice and warm
the bathroom had plenty of space and a good shower over the bath the entertainment was very
good.the lady singer on thursday night was very good great voice she had everyone in stitches
we had a great driver peter he pointed out all the places of interest on the trips out
thanks for a great holiday john and mary nuneaton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NuneatonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking to review yor recent stay with us, Myself and the staff are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and i will pass all your kind comments to the staff.

We aim to provide excellent cumstomer service to our guests and i am pleased you agree.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned after a 2 night stay, Hotel is in a good position, had a seaview room 202, very spacious and very clean, complimentary tea/coffee and flat screen tv. Very friendly and efficient staff in all areas.Food was of a good standard,with good choice of menu to suit all tastes. Evening entertainment was a bit flat due to lack of audience which is not the fault of the artists involved,wondered where everyone goes at night, can watch t.v. at home not on holiday!

Room Tip: sea view room was worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi and thanks for your positive review of the hotel, We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Libertys and found all aspects of your stay enjoyable, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments about the food to our Head Chef Andy and his team who will be delighted with the comments.

Myself and the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Found this hotel to be great , food excellent served by Patrick who was more than helpful, the lady on the desk who lent me her umbrella for three days. The room was clean and cosy after all that rain,and it rained for three days but did not spoil our break, will certainty go back to Libertys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Libertys, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be certain to pass on your kind comments personally to the staff.

And we all hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 day weekend to see the lights, the food was good and staff very polite and helpful
The only moan I have the room was good but if it gets cold no way to put heating on. I would use this hotel again as their gave good service and what entertainment they put on was good.
Would book car space worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dusty1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your great comments, I will be sure to pass them onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you again at Liberty’s Hotel.
Kind Regards
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from our 2 day stay we had a great time all the staff are brilliant nice room nice food entertainment very good we love libertys blackpool roll on october what you see is what you get if you expect the ritz go some where else for the money liberty is fantastic alanbuster2011

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanbuster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Alan thank you for your positive review regarding the staff and hotel. We do aim to offer value for money breaks and are glad you were more than satisfied. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 70 in Blackpool
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing