We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stressy or what?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Took a 3 night DBB deal here, never again. Breakfast 0800-0930 dinner 1830-1930 take it or leave it. Don't worry about the breakfast being so early there is no way you are sleeping past 0730 the noise was unbelievable with the squeakiest floors in the world. Never again I'm afraid with unfriendly staff (not the waiting staff they were excellent) who didn't speak and below average food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IanLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your weekend break at the hotel, I am surprised to hear your comments regarding unfriendly staff customer service is an area we are always getting praised for. Yes you are correct the hotel does operate set times for meals.

Kind Regards

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 637 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I guess nothing lasts forever, and Liberty's on the Square is no exception. We stayed at Liberty's six years ago (2007) and were surprisingly impressed with the quality of the accommodation, food, and particularly the entertainment. So, we booked again (3013) for a three day stay.

Although clean, the Hotel is now showing its creaky age, and is in need of refurbishment. The food is adequate, but of canteen standard, it cannot be classed as 'restaurant' fare, and the service is far too rushed.

For us,the main reason for visiting Liberty's again was the entertainment, which unfortunately has now become a one man show, and can only be described as somewhat 'embarrassing'.

If you're on an organised coach trip, Liberty's may be adequate, but I cannot recommend it for independent travellers.

Room Tip: Sea view supplements are very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy_Toed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with the entertainment (the inmain reason for your posting), there has been no cabaret for over three years now bringing the hotel in line with all other Bay Hotels.

Kind Regards

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from a four day self drive break, excellent accommodation, given room 202, which had been refurbished, (new flat screen TV).
Food was of a good standard, especially the breakfast.
Entertainment was fine, local singers every night, quizzes & occasional bingo (3 nights).
Our waiter Tom, was very attentive without being overbearing, nothing too much trouble.
All staff were a credit to the hotel.

Only minus being that Kaliber alcohol free lager on drinks menu not available on all 4 days, no suitable alternative product available, low cost substitute could easily have been sourced from local supermarkets.

All in all great value for money, would certainly choose Liberty's again.

Played golf at Blackpool Park Golf Club (Stanley Park), an Alister MacKenzie (Augusta National) design, again great value, 2 green fees and Motakaddy only £36, course fairly flat and in first class condition, catering in 19th hole excellent, service from Pro shop also excellent.

Room Tip: Pay for a Sea View, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LochLeeGlenesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review we’re glad you liked the refurbished rooms.



Kind Regards

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a short weekend break to celebrate a family member and friends birthday. We had a sea view room which was comfortable and clean.the bathroom however needed a little attention there was slight. Mould on the grout along the top of the sink but the plug hole was clean!
The breakfast was good and as we had opted for half board found the evening meal to be adequate. The dining room staff were all friendly and helpfull
The evening entertainment was verging on being embarrassing the resident entertainer? Was not entertaining at all, but as we were going into town this was not a problem to us.
All in all we had a good time and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

HI Carolyn we are glad to hear your weekend break with family and friends was enjoyable and thank you for your positive comments regarding staff. Hope you enjoyed the Blackpool night life.

We hope to see you again at Liberty’s Hotel.

Kind Regards

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Shearing's Our Choice Holiday. I read the previous views for this hotel with mixed feelings, however I am of the opinion that you should always experience something for yourself and remembering the old saying that one mans meat is another man's poison, we went with a totally open mind. Our first impressions of the hotel were that it could do with a lick of paint here and there. We checked in quickly and without any problems. We were allocated room 211 on the second floor. Our room was spotlessly clean, cosy and comfortable. We were well stocked with tea, coffee, milk etc. Our room was bright and airy. The only improvement that could have been made would have been a new mattress on the bed which was a little flat. The staff at this hotel are all extremely friendly and very accommodating and welcoming. They were always smiling. Our meals in the restaurant were varied, were served nice and hot and there was something for everyone's taste. Our waiter, Patrick, was excellent. He was extremely pleasant and made sure that we were well looked after.The entertainment each evening was very good. We enjoyed it all. Michael, the resident host was very good, Bruce McClaren is an excellent singer, and Claire Louise was just brilliant. A very bubbly lady.Throw in a day out up in the Lake District, a trip to Fleetwood for the markets and all in all it was very good value for money. I would definitely go back to this hotel, and if you like Blackpool this hotel will suit you admirably. Thank to all at the Liberty's hotel for making us welcome and looking after us so well

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JoeJoe674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

It’s great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Liberty’s. I will pass on all your fabulous comments to the team and we will look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the furure.
Best Wishes

Russell and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived in time for dinner which was very good, although dining room bit dark. Went up to room to see torn curtains and broken cupboards. Mentioned it to reception who offered immediately another room, which we accepted. On closer examination the floor had not been hoovered as there was paper and a tablet on the floor. Bed very comfortable and clean. Had to keep curtains pulled in bathroom as lower panel of glass was transparent, could be seen on toilet and while getting washed etc. Could not open bathroom window to air room. Had to turn toilet water off as running all night. The hotel is generally in need of updating and maintenance as daylight can be seen when climbing stairs, not reassuring. Also disabled access is not good as stairs to lift and along corridors. Rooms need sound proofing as could hear talking next door and through bathroom floors. Floors very creaky and door locks very flimsy. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors need updating and maintaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us your comments will be discussed and reviewed by myself and the team. A vast amount of visitors enjoy their value for money holidays and I do believe we are very good at what we do but sometimes we do get unsatisfied customers. We do apologise for any problems you came across and a simple report regarding the toilet etc would have resulted in an immediate repair, the light you can see walking up the stairs is a window?.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A shabby looking hotel, our room looked as shabby a huge tear in the curtain (was reported) a hole under the carpet between the beds that went down as you walked across, the sink plug was filthy,In the bar top prices for wine, for the cheapest bottle £14.95, the only dryer in the mens loo didn't work, I am told the hotel is due for refurbishing its well over due, on the plus side the food and staff were excellent, I wouldn't stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hi Gareth H, all your comments will be looked into and discussed, I am afraid the bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel if you look around here we are one of the cheapest. We have no fault reported with the gents hand dryer and I have checked and all is ok?, there is also an automatic towel dispenser next to the dryer. Thank you for the excellent comments regarding the staff and the food.
Best Wishes

Russell and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $77 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing