We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrived apprehensive, left delighted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Tees Valley
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“arrived apprehensive, left delighted”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

After a miserable 8 hour journey, we arrived at Liberty's in the snow, apprehensive that our stay would be as dire as the journey- we we ever wrong.
We had a large room with a sea view, it was warm, comfortable and clean.
Whilst the food would not get a Michelin star, it was always hot, a reasonable choice and served well. Patrick was an excellent waiter,
very fast and attentive.
The entertainment was better than we have experienced in some hotels,
Michael (entertainment manager) was very friendly, took time to talk to the guests.
Housekeeping, fast, efficient always a smile and "Hello"
The "Stars" of Liberty's were reception - so pleasant, helpful, nothing was a problem for them,both day and evening staff were brilliant. I use a mobility scooter or wheechair which has proved to be nuisance to some hotels, not at Liberty's, the reception staff were happy to help-
Thankyou Ladies.
Russell Bradshaw- you have a great team at Liberty's but you must know that already, I have now retired from the hospitality industry
otherwise I would have been tempted to poach one or two of your
"stars" !!

To sum it all up, we had a great stay, would we return - of course we would.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yankowskionhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi SueTeesValley thank you for your great review, you are 100% correct I have a great team and we all work well together to make sure our guests have a great holiday and leave with the thought that they would return again. After reading your review you obviously had a great time and would return which means our goals and targets are being met. I will pass on your kind comments to all and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Russell and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    215
    92
    49
    18
See reviews for
92
322
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Where else could you go for 5 days 4 nights for £99.00 & get - Cooked Breakfast, 3 Course Evening Meal, 4 drinks voucher each per day , 2 trips, & entertainment each night including Coach return to Blackpool ?? Well that's what we paid with Shearings Holidays at their hotel 'Bay Liberty 's, ' for our Break ....... Excellent value for money!
This was our 1st Shearings holiday - & it was " Truly EXCELLENT! " from Pick - up point to Hotel & back again.
When we arrived at this Hotel we were greeted by the Manager Russell, who explained what would be happening when we booked in - where to go for refreshments etc. All was done, so effortlessly & efficiently by the reception staff ( I think they had done this before!! ;-))..... We were given our key to our room & within 30 mins our suitcases were delivered outside the door! It was that quick!! .....
The Food was EXCELLENT! All freshly cooked - NO Micro wave food in this hotel!! We didn't have a bad meal at all.. The choices were good - believe me - I am very "fussy" over eating out! The waiting staff were like "worker bee's", all were Friendly, VERY, VERY EFFICIENT... & we never had to wait between courses. Our waiter Patrick, was so attentive & "boy" was he quick! He was like lightening!! He made our ' dining experience enjoyable each evening - A BIG Thank you Patrick...
The ' housekeeping ' staff were discreet but efficient & respected your ' privacy' too...
The evening entertainment seemed to be ok for those that stayed in the hotel. We had booked to go to 2 shows whilst we were there, so only got 2 nights entertainment. Not my choice of entertainment, but like I said - all in for the price... & my personal view only...
Yes... The Liberty is 'tired' in some-way's, but the decor was not what we went to look at! As long as We had some comforts & felt relaxed, that's all that bothered my husband & I ....
Overall .. We feel that this has been 'Excellent Value for money' & would recommend it to others who want to stay in this hotel for a short break.

Lastly.... We would like to say a Big Thankyou to the Staff at Bay Liberty's for such Excellent Service .... & also to the Coach drivers, who got us safely to our Destinations in the Heavy Snow...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Loveabargainbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
WOW thank you for the amazing posting, we all work so hard all year round to provide our guests with value for money holidays and after reading this review I am sure you will agree that is what we are providing. I will make sure all of the team get to read this and I am sure it will put that extra bounce in all our steps as we have another satisfied customer.
Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Russell and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Blackpool in August for a cheap break and stayed at the Liberty hotel. Not the poshest place in town. the hotel was a little run down to say the least and the room was not the best in the hotel(right next to the stairs it was very noisy with the firedoor slamming every time people came up. However, the food was quite good and the staff on the whole were polite and friendly. Entertainment was not bad at all but the bar prices were at the top end. All in all this hotel with it's creaking floorboards is close to all amenities and the promanades, amusements and shops. We enjoyed our long weekend in blackpool pity about the rain well, it is not Spain is it?
Would we stay there again? Certainly not in that room it is necessary to ensure you get a good room with a sea view

Room Tip: rooms at the top floor with a sea view are the best we have stayed in one of these in 2009
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank percussionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi and thanks for the posting, I will pass on your comments to the team especially the great comments about the staff being polite and friendly. Yes we are close to the town and all facilities Blackpool has to offer. You came for a (cheap break) and I can guarantee that is what you would have got so yes we would not be the Ritz but we do offer good clean accommodation with good food.

Best Wishes

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just had the most amazing new years eve ever, and it is all down to the host Michael Hudson. His energy is enviable, he put 200% effort into the whole evening and more, and I would like to tell you that he made the event very special. Thanks also to his beautiful wife Angela for her kindness.
It could not have been easy for him to be working over this period and so i really do want to say a huge thank you to him and hope that you will pass the message on

Thank you Shearings for giving us the talented Michael Hudson. may he and his wife have a wonderful 2013

Jim

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Jim J we are so glad you enjoyed your New Years Eve here in Blackpool. I know Michael will have already read the comments you have put on as he checks what our visitors post on a regular basis. I will however give him another pat on the back for the great work he puts in to keep us all smiling and happy. We hope you have a great 2013 also.
Best Wishes
Russell and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

liberty is a nice change from the typical b&bs around blackpool

the weekend entertainment is realy good, the room isnt big but gets you close to the acs and is warm and freindly,

the food and service is exellant, for a shearings hotel. waited on and staff are very efficiant.

my room was adequate for my needs, it faced the small car park. bit dated and could do with a refurb. theres only one lift so be patient at meal times if you need it.

the hotels close to the beach, north peir and plenty of nightlife in a short walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Billy G and thank you for your positive review after your recent stay with us. I will pass on your excellent comments to the team and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me my wife want short weekend away before Xmas decide to come Blackpool and seen this hotel and thout we try it out on first getting to hotel we new we had to pay for car parking witch we just put in the car across the road quick checking in on Friday we was up on the second floor witch of a nite you heard loads on creaking floors boards room was nice and light just orange walls look bit dirty and tried but we did not mind went down for dinner and was shown to table then witch was quick (Patrick who seat us ) food was very good then we had few drinks in the bar and then went out breakfast was very good the bacon was cooked prefect to what I like we went out for the day Xmas shopping :( got dragged around shops Shirley tolds us about the hounds hill witch was good then we went in for dinner I had the beef curry and was very nice so really understand the las comment but can't please every one my wife had fish was very nice went into bar few drink with vouchers we got but only 4 drink free and can't carry them over to next dayshame really michael on Saturday nite was great kids singing all tipes with them and few dance moves on check out was fast and quick will be booking up again in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jason201099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for such a great review after your recent stay with us. Your comments that you can’t please everyone are very true, people like different foods etc and all you can do is take any feedback into consideration and improve where you can. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the curry, we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Wishes

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went with friends for a xmas weekend break, checked in quick went upto room. Room was large with a bay window but was absolutley freezing, turned radiator up and went down to the bar area.
Bar area nice but again found room to be cold. Upon going back upto room it had warmed up thank god. Bathroom could have been cleaner floor coming up from back of toilet, bat left a lot to be desired used the shower instead which was over the bath, quick shower and out.
Evening meal was crap. Breakfast was ok small portion but ok. Saturday night me and my husband went for the chefs special - BEEF CURRY - it never saw a curry it was beef chuncks (possibly out of tin) in gravy type sauce with rice one small mouthful saw me calling the waitress over to complain given the other options on the menu we went without.
Entertainment was good but not on long ended up going to bed at 11pm.
Could not sleep with people banging fire doors, singing etc and the bed was very hard and not at all comfortable not slept with sheets and blankets for years why have they not modernised and gone for duvets,
Room was dirty could have done with a good clean, bay window fithly, paint peeling from walls
Would not stop there again even it was free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jelly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Regarding your heating complaint the heating is on at prime times to ensure sufficient heating is on while guests are in and around the hotel which has not caused any problems in the past, had you informed us that you felt cold we would have made sure you were warm by supplying extra heating. If your room was not clean enough I would have liked the chance to discuss this with you, I am sure I could have rectified any problems you had with my housekeeping team. Regarding your comment about the curry we had 120 guests in and no one had a problem with this dish, as you can see from other recent trip advisor postings they praise the curry and say it was very nice. Take my advice if you have any problems with a future break please give the management a chance rectify these for you.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#52 of 70 in Blackpool
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 70 in Blackpool
1,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 70 in Blackpool
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 70 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing