We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shearings holiday”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have just got back from a 5 day break with shearings. The staff were polite & helpful, food was excellent. The only down side was the bath was coming away from the wall due to the grouting coming apart from the wall.

Also the bed was old & could feel the springs of the mattress & the side of the mattress was torn & could see the filling. The entertainment seemed to be fore the over 60's

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsblobby32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi Mrsblobby32, I have checked our rooming list to see which room you were in so I could look into your comments, maintenance has now resolved bath issue and a new bed is now in place please accept my apologies . We rely on the guests that sleep in our beds to bring any issues to our attention so thank you. It’s great to hear that you thought the food was excellent and the staff were helpful.
Hope to see you again
Best wishes Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    217
    94
    49
    18
See reviews for
93
325
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed recently for one night in Room 220, on way back from Scotland,on a Shearings coach tour.On retiring to bed found that BOTH mattresses in twin bedded room were very badly worn such that the springs could be felt through the mattress surface, ( the foam/ wadding inside the mattresses had obviously perished through wear and age ). Had to put towels and bedcovers on top of both mattresses to reduce the springs being felt when laid on!! DO SHEARINGS MANAGEMENT EVER SLEEP ON THIS HOTELS MATTRESSES? I think not but they expect their customers to accept inferior beds!!!
On a positive note the evening meal and breakfast were good with efficient service.
Blackpool as a town is unique and there are signs that the council are trying to improve their seafront image ( witness the new tram system). Shearings Management need to improve this hotel by investing some money in firstly NEW MATTRESSES and secondly the decor which is dowdy and has not changed since we stayed there seven years ago.
That is probably not going to happen as after all we are only their customers!!! We certainly will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are sorry that you were unhappy with the beds in your room when you visited, if you had made us aware you were unhappy we would have gladly changed your room or supplied the room with new beds. We rely on feedback from our visitors to help us so thank you as the beds will now be replaced. We are currently on a programme of redecoration I’m sure all who read will understand in the current climate we can only do so much at one time. Thank you for the pleasant comments regarding the food and service. Regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel located a couple mins walk from north pier. Room was clean and comfortable (cleaned daily and tea/coffee in the room was replenished daily) and we had a sea view which was lovely. Staff were friendly and polite especially in the dining room. This hotel seems to cater for the more mature guest (it's a shearings coach tour hotel) and the entertainment was a let down, consisting of the same bloke singing on both Friday and Saturday. No entertainment was on the Sunday night. We stayed half board and the cooked breakfast was nice with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, toast and jams, marmalade and honey, but evening meals were plain and basic and served warm. Great as a base for exploring blackpool and an ideal retreat at night to avoid stag and hen parties as its just out of the main pub circuit - so ideal for young families! Would definitely return with the children next time if family rooms are available.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollypop12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for your posting, for you to say you would return in the future means we have hit our target and have provided you with a value for money break. It’s great to hear that the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly I will make sure your comments get passed on. A little confused about the comments regarding the same entertainment on both nights? our host did the Friday night himself and then on the Saturday he hosted the evening but we had a visiting cabaret artiste on the Saturday night?, maybe you just saw the same host so presumed he was on again. Yes we do have family rooms and a new games room so families are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaartios1366
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I visited this hotel in July 2012 as I got a good deal via the Shearings website. In my opinion the hotel has a few negatives and a lot of positives.

The negatives would be that areas like the room, bathroom, lift and stairs are tired and could be freshened up (similar to a lot of hotels that I have visited in the past). 10am check out could be extended for no extra cost.

The main positive for me is the staff team who couldn’t do enough during my visit. At reception I got a warm welcome and the receptionist printed a web page for me that I really needed during my visit. The barman was friendly and seemed to be covering a lot of areas as well as the bar. The restaurant team were very efficient and the real key to my pleasant stay. The food was served very quickly, there were no mistakes with the orders and food was reasonable quality considering the cost of my deal. Robert was the waiter at my table during the trip and the guy clearly works very hard with a lot of passion for his job.

The restaurant, bar and entertainment areas are large and nicely decorated. There are a few steps throughout the hotel which the older guests commented on but they didn’t bother myself. The hotel is a short walk from the North Pier which was excellent for me as this meant that it was only another short walk from the main pub area and the tower.

Blackpool has been in decline for several years and if you book a trip to this town then you probably shouldn’t expect too much. I would rate the hotel facilities as a reasonable 3 star and the staff service as an excellent 4 star. I would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stellaartios1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Blackpool and thank you for your honest review. If anyone asks for a later check out we will oblige where we can, we base it on a 10am check out as we have to turn these rooms around for the next visitors. It’s great to hear that the team helped you where they could and you found the service very efficient, we work hard on all areas so when it gets noticed it’s a great feeling and these comments are there for all the staff to see so thank you. Rob is great at his job and again your posting will make his day.
Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits in Bognor
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We went on a coach trip to Fort William and had a stop over on the way in Blackpool and stayed at this Hotel. Not a very pleasing location and when we pulled up outside we thought it looked a very sorry place and on entering things did not improve. We were given rooms on the fourth floor and to get to the lift had to go up and down steps through a bar and small dance floor very badly lit and through a door to get to a tiny lift which took us to our floor. Cannot fault the cleanliness of the bedding and good sea views. Restaurant ok and service good but lack of fresh vegetables spoiled what could have been a nice meal. I cannot give it a rating as defitely would not want to stay there again and really cannot believe it is still one of the stop overs that this well known coach company use given that the majority of people on the tour were not youngsters.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments all will be discussed with my team. The highest floor we have is the 3rd floor which is serviced by the lift, this is a very popular hotel which is owned by Shearings and is used on a daily basis by Shearings guests there are a few small steps to the lift but this rarely causes a problem. Your good comments regarding the cleanliness will be passed on to my housekeeping team, it’s a shame you didn’t enjoy the meal as we get great feedback from other guests. Our lift comfortably takes 4 people at a time so I would not say it was tiny it sufficiently services our hotel with no problem at all. Best wishes on your future travels
Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good location as easy to get to everywhere. We paid quite a bit of money as we thought paying that bit extra pays off. Until we entered our room. Plaster was coming of the walls the window which was looking over the sea ( which was lovley ) looked like a dogs wet noes had been smeared all over it, the bathroom floor is sticky and awfull!! Dust is gathered in the corners of the rooms, we couldnt close our door too from the outside which was a pain.after waiting ten minutes for the night porter to let us in we found out that our window was letting cold air in which made a very loud noise and our bed side lights didn't work we moved to another room which was a twin room ( we paid for a double ) so we had to move our stuff again. ( this was at half past 1 in the morning) check out is at ten and breakfast is on till half nine. We didn't even bother to try that !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Csadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review which I will fully investigate, however I do have a few comments I would like to add firstly I would like to say that you checked in at 6pm as I saw you in reception, you were given your key and went upstairs. My reception team then had contact with you when you and asked for directions which we gladly gave you, had you mentioned then that there was a problem with anything in your room we would have dealt with it straight away. On your return at 1.30am you requested a room move so we gladly moved you to a Double 3 which had a double bed and a single, this meaning you were not moved to a twin as opposed to a double. It was your decision not to go for Breakfast but I can assure you all that did enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel on the 4th june to 8th June and we relly enjoyed ourselves. We travelled with Sheerings and found it a very pleasant trip. Portorage to your room is a big help as was the speedy check in. Our room was a sea view 103 and was spotless,the bed was comfy if a little lower than our bed at home but no problem. The restaurant served good food with a limited but adequet choice of three courses and fairly fexible times,the staff in all parts of the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we can say we enjoyed the evening entertainment as well,the quiz was light hearted and fun as was a short Bingo game and finaly the artists and compare were good value We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a lift but it can sometimes take a little while to arrive so if your okay to walk upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prayterpieeater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
We try very hard to please all our visitors so it‘s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Blackpool. We aim to provide value for money breaks and it seems we have done this during your holiday. All your great comments will be passed on at our next meeting. We hope to see you here or in one of our other hotels very soon. Kind regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#43 of 73 in Blackpool
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing