We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Just back (2nd Mar) from a Shearings 4 night trip & really enjoyed it despite the withdrawal of the inclusive bar & replaced with 4 drinks vouchers per day.The staff were friendly & efficient, food was better than acceptable & rooms clean & a decent size.
There were 2 drawbacks.Firstly this is an old building & the floorboards creaked very noisily & often disturbed our sleep.Secondly although the food is O K we found that the "sweets" were cheap massed produced tasteless rubbish ( if you like bread & butter pudding then don't bother). You have been warned.

Room Tip: Ask to see a top floor room.This might aleviate the noise from the creaking floor boards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us here in Blackpool, your header for the posting is GOOD VALUE if you read my other replies this is something we know we have to provide and work flat out to try to ensure this is the case. It's great to hear that the staff here are friendly and efficient. I am very surprised regarding your comments about our desserts, this is something that we never get complaints about however some of the choices may not suit all of our visitors. All in all it seems you had a good holiday with us and we would like to thank you for your posting and hope to see you again in the future.

Take care

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    175
    86
    44
    16
See reviews for
76
271
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

the service at this hotel is very good the food are exallent and entertainment are spot on and the staff are very friendly its a nice place to be at this hotel because you are welcomend in and anyone comes to this hotel they will enjoy them self so my advice to people is come and enjoy your self and you will be happy this hotel is top class the room and food and entertaiment are exallent and the staff is top class we will be booken again at this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joshua m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hi Jonathan, thank you for another great review after staying with us again. The girls at Reception pass on their regards and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes and take care.
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

i was at liberty,s weekend of 24/02/12 hotel was reasonable , rooms clean, food not bad but very small portions, bar prices expensive also watch for bar tender adding his tip to the bill, i asked for receipt he then gave me the correct change. also the lounge was cold, no entertainment on sunday but it was supposed to be a cabaret weekend. also the floor board creak very loud not much sleep.. must stay catering staff were very i will not be going with shearings again or to libertys again. very very disappointing.

Room Tip: avoid libertys there is good rooms that i seen anyway. lots of creaking corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tonymc110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hi tonymc110, firstly I would like to go straight to the comment regarding the bartender adding his tip to the bill, I feel it is very unfair of you to state this in a way which could lead people to believe my staff were stealing from you, I can guarantee and assure you this is not the case. After discussing with my bar team no one recalls the incident with yourself however if there was an under payment in change it would have definitely been an honest mistake. Our food portions are the same every day and we rarely get any complaints, thank you for noticing the room was clean. It was a cabaret break which includes the special visiting act on the Saturday night which was provided. It saddens me to hear you will not be back, after all you have stated that the room was clean and the food was okay. I believe your comments to be somewhat unfair we had over 100 guests in that weekend who enjoyed the value for money break we delivered.
Kind regards
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day coach trip, staying at Libertys. A very enjoyable stay. Staff very friendly and efficient especially the waiter Dominic. Food very good and also entertainment. Enjoyed it sio much will be returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Hi Ann C, we are very pleased to hear that your break away with us was an enjoyable one, it’s great to hear guests saying they will be returning soon. It lets me know that my teams hard work is paying off.
Looking forward to your return.
Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

just returned froma a weekend break,firstly i will start with the good points about this hotel, the staff are lovely really freindly and nothing is too much trouble for them. the bar area is quite nice abit cold but fine for a couple of drinks, we had booked 2 rooms my mothers was nice quite big and warm with a lovely view sorry cannot say the same about mine and my husbands it was freezing cold the bathroom was a nightmare the extractor fan in the bathroom sounded like a jumbo jet taking off the only thing good it was clean thats the only positive thing i have to say, the restaraunt is nice but the food isnt not for me anyway i dont eat meat and am allergic to fish so my choices are limited i understand that they cannnot cater for everyone but even i dont want to eat bean casserole 2 nights in a row.ok now for the part that has really annoyed me my mother is in a wheelchair so why werent we told about the amount of steps there are when we booked., stairs up to the restaraunt. toliets and even up to the lift you couldnt use the front door beacause there is no ramp you had to use the side door, how can this hotel be suitable for peope with dissabilitys surely shearings could put some ramps in, i dont blame the staff but i do blame shearings for being totally misleading.,if we had been told on booking we would have gone somewhere because why shoud someone who just wants a good weekend break have to struggle to use the steps, would i go again . no and its a shame because it could be lovely but its not suitable at all for people in wheelchairs sorry

Room Tip: upgrade to a nicer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank d e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your posting, the first question I have is when making your booking you should have been given the option to be put through to the special help desk which is for anyone who has mobility problems, were you given this option?. The helpdesk would inform you of all steps etc in the hotel and ask you if you would be able to manage these prior to booking, they will also make sure you get one of our rooms which are directly serviced by the lift. If this didn’t happen then I am very sorry. You say your room was cold was your radiator on (as all other rooms were heated sufficiently) or was there a problem with your radiator?, our maintenance log has no record of a reported fault, if the fault was reported I can assure you it would have been dealt with that morning the same goes for the extractor fan. Thank you for stating the rooms are clean, our housekeeping team work very hard to maintain high standards. We cater for all dietary requests, all guests need to do is let us know of their requirements and we then go through the weeks menu to ensure there is something on the menu to the guests liking. Yes there were 2 casserole dishes on that week on different nights but they were not both bean, 1 was a meat casserole and the other was the vegetarian option. I feel a little disappointed that you think we as a company mislead you in any way, as previously stated the help desk option is there to help guests with difficulties, we have thousands of visitors in this hotel as well as our other 49 hotels who are assisted by our help desk team. We are sorry you will not be returning and wish you well in your future travels, please remember if you book with us again use the helpdesk and all your needs will be catered for.

Kind regards

Russell B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just returned from 5 day trip with Shearing’s. Room adequate, very hard bed and had noisy creaky floors in the room and hallways. Choice of food very good, cooked and presented well. Our waitress was very efficient. Bar staff were very hard working.Best entertainer was Claire, she was hilarious,others were made bearable by free bar!.
Would I go again? Yes as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: If you cannot manage stairs ask for one on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtaylor_104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your review again it is another one which states value for money, this is what we work so hard to achieve and it’s a great feeling when it’s recognised by our guests. I will pass your comments onto the staff at our next meeting. We hope to see you again.

Regards

Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Always try to be fair and The Liberty is the best and worst of both worlds. Before people judge the Liberty they need to remember how cheap it is when going with Shearings. As with all of the other Shearings Hotels the Staff in all areas of the Hotel were of the highest standard and couldn't be more helpful. The entertainment was geared more for the over 60s than for under 40s but was enjoyed by the majority. The breakfast was excellent and as good as any other Shearings Hotel I have stayed in. The only two complaints have to be mentioned but I would stress it is a cheap Holiday and you will not be charged Hilton Prices here.
1 – The room we stayed in had plenty of bare plaster around the window, wall paper coming off and the window in our room and other we spoke to would not shut properly. As there was a howling gale it was cold and imposible to sleep. The radiator had no knob to adjust the temperature and the taps were slightly broken and very very old.
2 – Much of the food served such as fish or chips is frozen. (Fair enough like I said it was cheap)
The food was all cooked as it should be and portions ok. Service in the resaurant quick and friendly as is always with Shearings. This is the odd bit. The Chef has not a clue and I mean not a clue what
to serve with what. IE:
Fish and Chips with Califlour.
Sweet and sour pork with swede and brocili.
Rost Pork dinner with Chips instead of potatoe.
I could go on, it was almost comical how badly the menu was thrown together.
Still the place does offer good value for money and in my opinion the pluses outwhey the negatives.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for a sea view. The window is tiny and not worth the £18 pp
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Here at Liberty’s Hotel we value every single review we receive as it helps us to give our feedback and see what areas we may need to move forward in. We do have some older rooms within the hotel but they are kept extremely clean, we as most hotels that are open all year around have an action plan in place where we can refurbish so many rooms each month so we are in the process of getting around to some of the older rooms to bring them up to a more modern standard. We will look at the window and see what the problem is? I just wish you would have come and said something to us as I can guarantee that the problem would have been rectified. Thank you for noticing our restaurant service is quick and friendly, I will immediately look into what vegetables etc are being served with which meal, people have different dishes each night and may not agree with the selection but we will sit down and review, again thank you for mentioning this as we now know small changes may need to be made. Your review is very honest and fair and it’s great to see that the value for money factor has again been achieved.
Best wishes for 2012
Kind regards

Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#29 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing