We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience, rundown hotel.”
Review of The Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coast
Ranked #311 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Booked this hotel via laterooms.

Parking wasn't a problem, streets around were empty and restriction free.
Hotel common areas smelt bad and were untidy and messy.
Room smelt very bad due to it being a smoking room, non smoking ensuite wasn't availible. Bathroom smelt pretty bad too. Most of the room was clean, the cabinet above the sink was dirty and rusty. Shower was very poor and practically unusable.

Breakfasts were *OK* full english availible, but to be honest the breakfast room and the hotel in general was in such a state, I didn't really feel comfortable eating in the hotel.

The owner is a nice guy, shame the hotel is so poor, rundown and smelly.

I don't understand why this has got such a high review as the basic necesseties of a hotel are absent, maybe it's the bring your own booze policy?

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ks_explorer_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collingwoodhotel, Owner at The Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Sorry you felt you had to leave such a negative review, however let me clarify a few points that you seem to have missed. You booked a smoking allowed bedroom, we give everyone a choice on Laterooms, and you selected that when you booked. We air the rooms as much as possible before a visit but as a non smoker I'd have suggested booking a smoke free room instead and paying the couple of extra pounds we charge for the priviledge. You paid £13 per person B&B. I'd love to charge the same as the hotel you avoided staying in, that was conducting your business meeting, it would allow us to conduct a few "spruce ups" here and there, but then you wouldn't have stayed with us at a guess.
The other people on here, and the 95% of people who reviewed us positively on Laterooms judge us on a competitive price compared to modest quality, and not on what you might get at top international hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2008

We used to go to Blackpool quite often then Ryanair stopped the flights from Stansted and I couldn't face the 600 mile round trip.
However this weekend we decided to drive to Blackpool.
The Collingwood is Excellent value for money.
Our room was just what we needed, en suite, complimentary tea coffee making, hairdryer etc.
Most importantly spotlessly clean and the bed very comfy.
The fella who ran it was very friendly and helpful.
I have been to Blackpool so many times and I have stayed in some nightmare places.
We go to Blackpool for the clubs, bars etc (Funny girls is my fav) and our accommodation needs are basic as we really dont spend much time at the hotel. This hotel is bring your own drink as it has no license
I have stayed in other hotels that are unlicensed and licensed and I wouldn't want to have a drink in them,However I would have had a drink here if I had bought some.
Overall this is one of the nicest places I have stayed at in Blackpool, If you want a bit of luxury the Hilton is close by ( I stayed there about 4 years ago and not good value for money or luxurious) about 200 yards away
I will definitely be re booking this hotel.
Lovely owner.
Spotlessly clean room
Good location
And superb value for money

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Absolutely superb hotel, as they say, its Home From Home. Welcomed by Paul who carried our bags in from the car, made a pot of coffee before we could catch our breath and looked after us from there on in. Nothing seemed to much trouble for him. We had late keys, rooms were lovely and clean, taxi's were ordered and arrived in minutes and the bar really works well. You bring your own booze and they provide the glasses, soft drinks and a fridge to keep it all chilled in. Didn't half make a difference to how much we spent during the week.
Breakfast was served at 10am for our group as we had a few late nights, but they also did it at 7am for some business guys, so very flexible, and you get full english freshly cooked for you. Only thing we didn't like is that Paul is too good at Billiards!
All in all a 10/10 and we'll all be back soon, if they'll have us:)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheCrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

The Collingwood was a great place to stay. We were there on a hen weekend and were looked after with info on where to go and deals for attractions. Paul and Toni were great and the breakfasts were brilliant. Rooms were clean and some had sea views. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_Mackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

we stayed here last June for my daughters hen night. Paul and Toni great let us book the whole place out 23 of us of various ages. Arranged a buffet for us to get to know each other as some travelling from North other from South. Had a great time they could not do enough for us. Breakfast was arranged to suit us. Paul even stayed up to greet us on our return and serve us our own beer, which was great. Ideal location only 5 mins in taxi to all the pubs/clubs Paul even booked them for us. We will be back. Thanks Paul

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chunkymonkey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

The Collingwood hotel is situated on the North shore promenade directly opposite the sea.
We recieved the warmest of welcomes, Paul and Toni the hosts are very friendly and accomodating, the atomosphere is informal and relaxed, it really is a home from home. On arrival we were offered a tea/coffee (complimentary).
The hotel is unlicensed and we were invited to 'bring our own', to be served on request, soft drinks are readily available in the bar. In the bar is a bar billiard table(challenge Paul to a game), puzzle games and tv.
Breakfast can be taken at any time by prior arrangement, cereals and full hot breakfast is available.
The hotel is clean, (check out the photo mural on the dining room wall).
The bedrooms are small but fully equiped, including hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities, En - suite with shower.
The hotel has smoking rooms (if you are a non smoker you can request a non smoking room).
We will definately return!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I stayed at the collingwood in blackpool on Saturday night and found everything about the hotel perfect for a girlie weekend! The rooms were very clean and were not too small and there was a nice view of the sea! the owners of the hotel were very relaxed annd friendly and had no problem with us coming back late and were relaxed about checking out times! Breakfast was made to order so was hot and tasty and made just to our requirements. Overall the stay was really great and I would recomend the hotel to any young people who wnat a relaxed and clean atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bec7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Collingwood Hotel
The Collingwood Hotel
#278 of 861 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#211 of 861 in Blackpool
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#109 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast

Address: 394 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England (Formerly Collingwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $24 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing