We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Into double figure now :) (Lisa I)”
Review of The Hounddog Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hounddog Hotel
Ranked #229 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Into double figure now :) (Lisa I)”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed with the fab'tastic Phil and Julie at least 10 times now. It's like our home from home. Even after so many stays with them nothing is ever too much trouble. Greeted with a warm friendly smile and a cuppa, bags taken to our room for us. Room perfectly clean as always, Breakfast and evening meal to die for every time. They are genuinely warm kind hosts. I never want to leave, and now when i return i return saying "am home". :) As that's how it feels. We are even spending part of our honeymoon there. Before our first stay at the hound dog we had stayed in other hotels but were never looked after to this high standard, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If your looking for home comforts while your on your holidays look no further than the Hounddog Hotel, nothing is to much trouble for Phil and Julie, your made to feel at home from the minute you step through the door, if you don't want nice a lovely room, amazing food and a genuine warm welcome and the perfect hosts then don't stop here because its what you get from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave and i can guarentee you'll want to stay again or like us stay an extra night because we didn't want to leave, the best B&B in town

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor because they have a lovely big bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suexandercage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed with Phil & Julie a number of times now and it just keeps getting better and better. They are such a lovely couple who can't do enough for you to make sure you have a wonderful stay with them. Room very clean and enough food to feed an army. We couldn't fault it, that's why were going back in 9 weeks for Christmas & New Year!! Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeky1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we have just spent our honeymoon at the hounddog hotel where julie and phil were once again outstanding hosts.we were greeted with a lovely cuppa, shown to our fantastic room with four poster bed which was amazingly comfortable.the breakfast was brilliant as usual and the evening meals left us full indeed.cant think of a better way to start our married life than stayin here with an amazing couple.thank you julie and phil .see you soon karen and fintan mcpherson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

As normal great time with Phil and Julie, breakfast great! room great! very helpful always there to help in any way in which they can, great location to central pier and the town. Many many thanks Martin, Teressa and all the family.

Room Tip: Room 3 for large familys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Definetly the best B & B in Blackpool thanks to Julie & Phil. Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The evening meal was great. We had chicken one night, beef the next & gammon the last night with all the trimmings. The puddings were just as good. Phil & Julie even stayed up with us having a drink & nattering with us. They are so friendly. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice cuppa. The beach is just a five minute walk away & the town just a 15 minutes away. Aready booked up for the illunimations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedbeauty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me my mum and my little girl all stayed in this b n b it was brilliant food and brilliant company.would 100% stay here over and over again.i made the most of a cooked breakfast every morning and was offerd a great selection of cold and hot breakfasts choice.thank you julie and phil you helped us have a fantastic weekend

harriette,veronica and gracie.xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hettybettyboo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#242 of 856 in Blackpool
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#97 of 856 in Blackpool
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#232 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hounddog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hounddog Hotel

Property: The Hounddog Hotel
Address: 25 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Hound Dog' is a small, friendly, family run hotel / Guesthouse located just off the promenade in Central Blackpool. Being only seconds from the promenade and Central Pier; and only a few minutes walk from the Tower, Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre and all the town centre shops and attractions you will find the Hound Dog the perfect location from which to base your Blackpool holiday. The 'Hound Dog' has 6 tastefully decorated bedrooms (4 family and 2 double), 3 of which are fully en-suite. All are maintained to a high level of cleanliness. Your full English breakfast is cooked to order and served in our light and spacious dining room. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice. Families, Couples and Senior Citizens will always find the warmest of welcomes from what is rapidly becoming one of the most popular small hotels in Blackpool. 'Never treated as a room number, but as an extended part of our family.' One night bookings also accepted. Own keys are provided so you can come and go as you please. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing