We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canny hotel for a stop over.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #780 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Norton,United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Canny hotel for a stop over.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My self husband and our son stayed over for 1 night for a little break, hotel was clean, staff very welcoming, bonus free parking. Would say over again for a night stay.. Didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on food quality, you can add breakfast to your stay if you wish, we chose not to this time!
Rooms have coffee and tea, lovely after a day of walking for hours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    52
    34
    42
    101
See reviews for
121
81
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked for the 24/08/2013 & 25/08/2013 Me and my partner booked this hotel from the good reviews, what a mistake. the Asian owner's were very nice and polite however the first thing I noticed when we walked in the hotel was the smell of curry and must, we where met at reception by an Asian woman, think this was Honey? the first thing she asked for was the payment for the room. this was a first for us as we usually pay on departure. we paid for 2 nights £65 per night bed and breakfast £130.the room was very small, the view was the back ally not a pretty site, the bed was small and uncomfortable,
bedroom furniture was dated and cheap. No parking spaces £7.50 to park on the road for 12 hours, we've had enough I booked us in the big blue for the last night, what a difference, didn't mind losing my payment for Sunday. Wont be returning to this hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Don't pick one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesst63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

good hotel clean and bright rooms nice but need a little tlc hosts lovley and very helpful it is in a good position on the prom breakfast is very good onley let down is the evening meals starter was either soup or friit juice every night not much choice of the main course and dessert was a piece of cake with custard or plain ice cream with sauce

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here for 5 days after being let down by the disgusting pontins at Brean Sands, Somerset. It was quite central to all areas, and was very homely. Spotlessly clean and the owners were lovely. Lovely power shower in the bathroom. Only downside was our sea view room was over the cabaret bar so was quite noisy late at night, but we were so tired from all the fun during the day we went to sleep no bother. Evening meals were a bit pricey for us so we just ate out. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camsmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Blackpool for a overnight stay and stayed at the Kensington hotel on the prom the hotel was great staff were excellent food was really good would recommend it to any one going to Blackpool the rooms were very clean and very comfortable next time u r in Blackpool try it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

2 night break at the Kensington last weekend.excellent location excellent clean comfty room.staff very very polite & accommodating.no trouble in hotel would highly recommend honey & mike & the Kensington

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolabeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I went to Blackpool on the spur of the moment for a two night break.We chose this hotel because of it's location and the good information on the hotel's own website. You are given lots of details about the rooms,prices and hotel amenities and this helps you to know what you are getting before you book.When we arrived we were made very welcome by Mike and Honey,the owners.They try very hard to make your stay as nice as possible and we think they are doing a great job.Our room ,and the rest of the hotel,was clean and well looked after.The food was hot and tasty and served by friendly staff.The hotel is licensed,with a "day bar" and an evening cabaret bar with reasonably priced drinks and light bar snacks.There is free (but limited) guest parking on a first come-first served basis.Overall this is a very nice hotel run by a lovely couple and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a short stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 69 in Blackpool
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#63 of 69 in Blackpool
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#26 of 69 in Blackpool
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#39 of 69 in Blackpool
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gainsborough Hotel
Gainsborough Hotel
#741 of 858 in Blackpool
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 285 - 287 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #780 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is a family-friendly Blackpool Hotel situated on the Blackpool Promenade, mid-way between the Central and South Piers.Our fantastic location means you'll be within easy walking distance of Blackpool's main attractions - such as Blackpool Tower, Pleasure Beach, The Sandcastle and all three piers. If you'd like to travel further afield, we are also across from Blackpool's famous trams, as well as local bus and train links! We can even offer you very good prices so you can get the most out of your holiday to Blackpool! Of course the Hotel itself hosts excellent entertainment in our own Ballroom, bar and Games room, including dancing, sing-alongs and regular cabaret! Our modern dining room serves mouth-watering cuisine across a wide menu, including vegetarian dishes. Most special diets can also be catered for (please contact us for more information). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing