We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Sorrento House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sorrento House
Ranked #71 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a lovely place !
Recommended by my son in law , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with David and Agnes .
Very welcoming and spotless clean .
Breakfast was beautiful and it made such a change to find somewhere as close to the front that was as nice !
Definitely will be going back !!
Thanks again , Nicky and Eva x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biggmacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    11
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
73
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from another fabulous weekend at the Sorrento in Blackpool. David and Agnes (originally from Scotland) go out of their way to make it an enjoyable stay and it honestly is like a home from home. It's true that you get what you pay for and the Sorrento is value for money.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Coral Island and the shops and the front which was a great location for our stay. Check-in was quick and the rooms are all individually decorated to a high standard and very comfortable. The rooms and the public areas are absolutely spotless and Agnes and David go the extra mile with their special touches in the rooms - TV, kettle with tea,coffee, juice etc, mini fridge and wee things like shoe shines, wipes, sewing kits and things you would expect in a hotel chain.

Order breakfast the day before - the full brekkie is delicious as is the selection of cereal, fresh fruit and different teas.

The bar prices are very reasonable and David and Agnes will sit and have a blether (thats an informal chat for the non-Scottish) with you over a drink with music in the background.

2 choices for parking nearby - Hornby Road and Charnley Road - Charnley Road is just across the road and £9 for 3 days cannot be beat. So don't let parking put you off from staying here - 2 choices and both only a 5 min walk away at most!!

Great hosts, great hotel and we'll definitely be back. I highly recommend this hotel and I wouldn't consider anywhere else now having stayed at the Sorrento twice in the last 12 months.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john_boy_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best hotel in blackpool by far the cleanest i have seen its spotless all over....agnes & david are fantastic people very welcoming love a good chat with them my girls of 7 & 3 love agnes shes great with them love rading there sweets she keeps at the front door lol....breakfast is great
great choice & lovely selection off fresh cut fruit cereals & cereal bars girls again loved the fruit selection....you can see agnes & david take great pride in there hotel & it just feels like home for the burts!! C u again next year & thanks for a lovely wkend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cburty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at Sorrento House in a single room for four nights @ £30 per night bed & breakfast to attend a musical event at the Winter Gardens.
Have been visiting Blackpool for shows for many years and have tried various places to stay including the Hilton, Best Western, Premier Inn, Big Blue, Travelodge and too many b&bs to list.
Whilst the chain hotels offer a known quality none of them can offer the convenient location of a very short walk to the Winter Gardens. A taxi ride is preferable for some, certainly at night.
So its down to picking a handy b&b.
Quite frankly, one never knows quite what to expect when booking a seaside bed & breakfast, I have experienced some unmentionable horrors, and a smaller number of absolute gems.
Thankfully Sorrento House is amongst the best I have visited, actually, make that THE best.

The location is excellent being directly opposite Charnley Road, very close to the Winter Gardens, the Tower, and the centre of town. There are plenty of off street parking areas nearby, which seem to all have a reasonable fixed price, or you can pay more in the multi-storey car park at the Hounds Hill shopping centre, which is more secure but £20 per 24 hours.

I booked my stay directly with Sorrento House by e-mail from their website.
On arrival I was greeted by David, and efficiently booked in within minutes, and made aware of the location of my room, the availability of complimentary Wi-Fi, breakfast times and offered help with my bags. Agnes popped in to say hello, and introduced herself, and her daughter Debbie.
What a lovely start to my stay.

On entering my room ( #2 ) I was immediately struck by how spotlessly clean everything was, and how the room was bigger than I expected ( some singles are tiny ), it was obviously freshly refurbished, new vertical blinds, new bathroom fittings, shower cubicle, complete with coloured flashing lights on shower head, new carpeting, bedding, etc, and lots of delightful details, like LED ceiling lights, tiny decorative touches that had obviously taken great care and thought. Very nice.
The flatscreen tv had good reception ( not always the case ), there was a hair dryer, a kettle, a basket of tea, coffee, chocolate, milk, sugar, and a small selection of biscuits. One surprise, a mini fridge, perfect for chilling a bottle of water, or pop. There were plenty of towels etc.
Even the handwash was colour co-ordinated with the purple décor, Imperial Leather Jasmine & Sweet Violet Touch. Finally, there was a handy booklet with house rules and local info.
In short, the room was a delight.

To briefly mention breakfast, there was a system to choose from a full cooked English breakfast, with egg, bacon, waffle, mushrooms, black pudding, fried bread, tomato, sausage & beans, or selection of half a dozen options, you ticked your choice for the following morning. Very organised. I plumped for the full breakfast each morning and it was very good.
In addition, there was fresh toast, coffee, tea, fruit juices etc and a cereal bar with self service choice of cornflakes, rice crispies etc.
Very happy with breakfast.

Throughout my four day stay I only really saw Agnes or David briefly at breakfast.
Like all good hosts they are easily found when needed but not obtrusive.
On my checking out Agnes took the time to enquire whether I was happy with my stay.
I confirmed I was by booking again for next year.

My only slight disappointment, I had read in reviews about Wallace the dog and was looking forward to shaking his paw, but never seen him.

Apart from that my stay at Sorrento House was a pleasure from beginning to end, and I won't stay anywhere else in Blackpool.
Thanks very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wendell_Pierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful room, the owner was lovely, welcoming and friendly. Went out of her way to make sure all our needs were met. Delicious breakfast.
Smallest problem, tv on the wall was at an angle that made the picture very dark so difficult to watch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrentohouse, Owner at Sorrento House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Elizabeth , glad you had a good time and enjoyed the time you spent here at the sorrento , sorry about tv , I just wished u had said while you were here, it took my son in law 2 mins to tilt bracket , hopefully this won't prevent you from returning , as you were lovely to accomadate, x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We had a brilliant stay! The location was superb just a 5 minutes walk from the town centre and the local famous attractions. We stayed in a lovely room which was perfect for us! The breakfast was also spot on with a choice of continental or cooked you couldn't have had a better choice. You also got to choose what you wanted for your breakfast which suited me as I am a very fussy eater! Overall the stay was brilliant and hopefully be back down again in the future.
Thanks to Agnes and David for the great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ryan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thank you Agnes and David for a very welcoming and pleasant stay at Sorrento Hotel. Our room was spotless and decorated to a very high standard! The breakfast was delicious too, there was lots of choice! Both Agnes and David were extremely helpful and nothing was too much bother. We definitely recommend to anyone wanting an amazing B&B in Blackpool. (Perfect location.) Thanks again, Leanne and Steve :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flower_L10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#87 of 856 in Blackpool
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Norwood Hull Road
The Norwood Hull Road
#24 of 856 in Blackpool
659 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#33 of 856 in Blackpool
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trentham Guest House
Trentham Guest House
#37 of 856 in Blackpool
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chorlton Hotel
Chorlton Hotel
#56 of 856 in Blackpool
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches Hotel, Blackpool
The Beeches Hotel, Blackpool
#114 of 856 in Blackpool
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrento House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento House

Property: Sorrento House
Address: 83 Coronation Street | Central, Blackpool FY1 4PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrento House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the very heart of Blackpool, a family run hotel for families. Home cooking and a warm welcome await you at the Sorrento. Close to the tower and the winter gardens makes us an ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sorrento House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing