We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty nile!!!!!”
Review of Golden Nile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Nile Hotel
Ranked #757 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty nile!!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Well well well where do I start with this that they call a hotel, got lost on the way due to bad directions from mrs ghandi that eager for us to stay she phoned us pestering serveral times asking for our details down the phone then told us to stay where we were her husband would meet us so we could follow him needless to say I only just managed to follow him as he nearly caused an accident and was going about 60mph!! On arrival the hotel on the outside looked welcoming boy was I wrong on entering the hall way smelt of urine and larger with empty beer cans and serveral crisp packets laying about, nobody even introduced them selfs the first thing that was said by mr ghandi was.... Thatll be £25 each please (even though on the website it states £18 a night) when we questioned him on this he reluctantly dropped the price to £22 which said to us he was trying to fool us as we are only 19 year old!!! And It dosent stop here when showed up to our room we we're amazed of the size and quality of the room the word dirty was an understatement there was dust on every fixture in the room the curtains were hung on by a thread an looked to be coverd in vomit!!! Then to look up an see a light buld not working and an over head lmap was hanging by 1 screw an was most deffinatly unsafe to sleep below there are limited plug sockets which to discover when we pluged our telly in it did not work! We immediatly reported this to Mr ghandi in which he came up with several tools banging around the room trying to fix is. After this me and my friends began to get ready to go out we went down stairs to view the lounge and bar area which was also dissapointing it umdingd of curry powder and the bar was very limited on drinks serving warm cans of larger and energy drinks!!! We them went to sit in the seating area only to find a porn DVD whixh is beyond un acceptable to say the least!!! We then walked over to the dinning area which again looked discustingly mucky, after this we decided to head out...returning to the hotel later on that evening we tried to enter the premises with our given key we tried several times but the door wouldn't unlock which left us stood out in the cold while waiting for mrs ghandi to let us in 15 mins after first rinign the door bell! We came in to be welcomed in darkness and everthing closed up, we then came upstairs to our room to go to bed the room was ice cold no heating bedding was blood stained and had a fusty smell once settleing into bed we saw a woodlouce run across the wall we were all discusted by this and shocked to say the least an didn't feel comfortable staying in the bed for fear of other bugs! The whole experiance was a shambles and would never return again even if it was the last place on earth and was for free!!! ..... What a dive!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carr1e1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    10
    11
    57
See reviews for
26
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed for 9 nights. BIG mistake. We totally agree with the previous review. Upon arrival the smell of curry was overpowering, reception was tatty & outdated, was asked to pay bill as soon as we arrived, was shocked by our room, door didn't shut properly & came off hinges, wardrobe wouldn't shut either & was propped up by piece of wood, one of the drawers was broken & unusable, bathroom door wouldn't shut, had to bang tv to make it work, digibox was stuck to tv by ducktape. Bedding was disgusting, changed once throughout our stay & was worse than bedding removed, radiator didn't work & was given a dodgy portable heater that was a fire hazard. Breakfast was vile, tablecloths & cutlery were filthy & had to be cleaned before use. Mrs Gandhi also hovered around tables while guests were trying to eat. Mr Gandhi was on the whole a rude & unpleasant man. Health & safety should shut them down.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellabelly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2010

this is the second yr we stayed at the golden nile the owners are fantastic very very friendly the breakfast was verygood and they did breakfast early for us as we had to be out early on the 2 days we stayed there the rooms were small but more than adequate the beds were very comfortable and very warm location was excellent we would definatly stay again and good value for the money we paid

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

what can i say that everyone else hasnt! me and 15 friends went down blackpool for the night for a friends birthday, we arrived about 12 o clock and could bearley see through the window when we were walking towards the hotel it was that dirty, we all went in and the place does stink of curry! the owner demanded an extra £10 of everyone for a deposit and agreed to give us it back the next day,we all got our rooms he just chucked us in any room with people having to share beds, the rooms were rotton dirty,scruffy and basically falling apart, i pulled my cover back on the bed and found what looked to be a blood stain so i did not end up sleeping in that bed! there were electric cables just hanging in our wardrobe and other locations around the hotel,there were crums in the lounge area and dust all over. it realy does need knocking down! The owner "ami" just walks in everyones room without knocking and doesnt even care,wich i thought was god dam cheeky!
we did end up having a great night but we didnt end up getting our deposit back because a drawer got damaged wich we were all expecting him to keep our money when we handed it over, wont ever be going back here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dowsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2010

In our 9 night stay our room was serviced twice, radiator didn't work so was given a dodge little heater to warm us up as it was freezing. Poor quality furnishings in room. Breakfast was greasy & cold everyday, cutlery & tablecloths were dirty & we had to wipe cutlery before we would use it. No heating in dining room either. Mr Gandhi also at times was very rude when serving breakfast & made us feel unwelcome although we were paying them to stay in their hotel. Also they state that they only accept couples & families yet on one night there were 2 different groups at the hotel & were very noisy. Save your cash & stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellabellyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I organised the trip for myself & 7 others for a weekend in Blackpool to see the sights and nightlife Blackpool is famous for. After we parked up outside the hotel we never needed the cars again because of the hotels central location, near to the bars & clubs as well as the promenade.

all our rooms were fine and spacious and we were given a good full english, which was very welcome!

The price we paid for our stay seemed very reasonable compared to some of the other hotels we tried so overall I would say the place offered excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Well we got there showed to our rooms straight away the place stunk walls were dirty beds dirty floors never been hoovered since they put them ther by the look of it!!!look out of the window at dirty undies and socks,snotty tissues on the floor,bathroom if u can call it that looked like something on a train station ,then we were told we had to find car parking then when we went to leave our room to look for parkin we realised the door lock was broken the smelly owner had dissapeared we waited till he came bk 40 mins later he said it wasn't like that before and he could fix it but by this time I had seen enough and asked for a refund he then said he couldn't I wasn't happy as to be expected this was 140 pounds then he put me on the phone to his obnoxious wife who said they can't refund so I threatend to get the police then the owner decided he would give us our money back but no deposit that meant 30 pound short but I'd rather leave without some money than spend a hellish nite there they seriously bothered me and their hell hole hotel!!!!!bearing in mind their was a 2 and 3 year old with us they wanted us to stay in that unsecure health hazard of a room!!!pls if anyone even attemps to stay here as a last resort DON'T EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY this place needs the enviromental health out to close them down!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollydanielley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Almeria Hotel
The Almeria Hotel
#341 of 858 in Blackpool
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#451 of 858 in Blackpool
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#231 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#304 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nile Hotel

Property: Golden Nile Hotel
Address: 55-57 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #757 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Nile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Nile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing