We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edenfield Guest House
Ranked #97 of 852 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

my husband I have just returned from a weekend at the Edenfield and have only positive comments to make. Craig and Alec were perfect hosts from pulling up in the car to waving us goodbye on Sunday. Our room was beautifuilly decorated and had a large en-suite. What was nice was the little extras: cotton wool balls, cotton buds, complimentary shampoo etc. Unlimited tea/coffee at no extra charge and even a tea-towel to wipe our mugs. The breakrast was excellent and plentiful, again with the fnishing touches of fine china. Alec even served with his white gloves on !! When we return to Blackpool we won't hesitate to stay there again and have already recommended it to colleagues at work.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSeddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    9
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
279
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

My husband and I together with 2 other couples had the pleasure of staying the weekend at the Edenfield Guest House. What an amazing experience! My husband and I travel abroad quite frequently and often stay in 4* and 5* hotels so we are used to a bit of luxury. In our opinion the Edenfield Guest House offers the same standard as the 4* and 5* hotels that we have experienced. The only difference is that you get that little bit extra with such dedicated and personal service from both Craig and Alec who have got it spot on with knowing what people want. They go out of their way to be accommodating to their guests and should we ever return to Blackpool there will certainly be only one place we will be staying - The Edenfield Guest House. They are perfect hosts and in our view get 10 out of 10 for everything. If you can book this guest house you are in for a treat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassetNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

we stayed at this guest house because of the reviews on this site. We are so glad we did. Blackpool we hated but this guest house more than made up for town. I would encourage any one to find better for the price,location staff and the food. 4 course dinner £10 and a breakfast you would pay the same for in a big hotel is included. Very flexible also. We had early start on the last day and they offered to provide full cooked breakfast half hour before the published time. It was such a fun place to stay and good conversation over a drink or 2 !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streetwalker514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Having for several years done the rounds of hotels and guest houses in Blackpool with parents, we returned alone this year for a 5 night break. We are always prepared to make the best of what we find in Blackpool, as our experience is that accommodation is generally less than desirable. A chance find on the internet led us to the Edenfield(based on the no children under 16 ruling) and to the biggest surprise. It is a gem.
On every score from the warmest of welcomes to large size of bathroom; tastful decor to spotless cleanliness; quality of breakfast to real linen napkins and lovely china - there is little to fault.
We had half board which included a 3 course late afternoon meal followed by real coffee and mints. The menu was always interesting and varied however did not include any vegetarian options. Being vegetarian this could have been a problem however Craig was prepared to cook whatever we asked for. If we were to make one small comment - as choices are made from the menu earlier in the day (we assume to manage costs and minimise wastage) - it would be good to include a vegetarian main course option on the menu each day.
The location is fine - a few minutes walk to the sea front and promenade and just a little further to the main part of town. Dedicated free parking is an asset. The weather was not really good enough to make the best of it when we were there but the delightful small patio style front garden stands out and sets the Edenfield apart from any other guest house/hotel we saw.
We would never consider staying anywhere else now on future visits to Blackpool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M&NMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This was the first time my girlfriend and I had visited Blackpool since we were kids, so we were a little unsure as to where we should stay with the numerous B&B's, guest houses, and hotels available.

We decided to book the Edenfield after reading the fantastic reviews on here, and we were not disappointed.

On arrival we were warmly greeted, almost as if we were family, by Craig and Alec, and after unloading/parking up the car (in one of their allocated off road parking spaces) we had a relaxed chat about places to visit, over complimentary tea and biscuits.

The Edenfield is decorated traditionally but with lots of quirky, unique touches and has a beautiful front garden. The thought and time that has gone into the place sets it apart from the usual B&B's, giving the Edenfield it's deserving title of "Guest House".

The room (room 2) was cosy and clean with a lovely comfortable bed which was dressed beautifully with lots of scatter cushions. An opulent chandelier light added a boutique feel to the room, a theme that runs throughout the guest house. The room was fully equipped with freeview TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a good sized en-suite with fresh towels and linen everyday.

Breakfast was a selection of cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt, toast and of coarse a traditional cooked breakfast which was a good size and cooked well.

The bar has a good selection of spirits and some lagers on tap. A nice touch was the complimentary tea, which is never charged for, and usually served with lovely biscuits and the company of Craig and Alec.

The location is good if you are visiting attractions on the north pier, the Tower and the winter gardens. My girlfriend and I visited the Pleasure Beach which is on the south shore, about a 30 minute walk along the promenade which was pleasant, as the weather was nice. We then got the tram back. The trams run along the promenade frequently and a return journey will cost you about £3.00.

On the whole we had a really enjoyable stay at the Edenfield. We would stay there again and definitely recommend it to others visiting Blackpool.

Craig and Anika

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayp85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Alec and Craig are great hosts.! This is the second time we've been and it won't be the last. Nothing is too much trouble for the boys and their breakfasts are second to none..!
Thanks boys..!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pag21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

After trawling many other B&B's and getting a bit disappointed we spotted the Edenfield guest house, It looks striking from the first glance due to the effort put in to the appearance, and it doesn't stop at the front view. The greeting you receive is as if you are family, Spotless interior and nicely laid out you can tell this is not just a average B&B, it's more than that, it's a Guest house that's maintained with pride and hard work. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Craig and Alec, these guys are funny,friendly and hard working and it was a pleasure staying with them. Our room was comfy,spotless and properly decorated / dressed not just a 'place to sleep', the on-suite was HUGE such a difference from a shower and toilet in a 'cupboard' as most B&B's are. The food is top quality and all homemade and perfectly presented, I really wish we'd found the Edenfield sooner as it beats many of the 'big hotels' as they just cant offer the service these guys offer.

We would highly recommend the Edenfield, and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_JulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#51 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trafford Hotel
The Trafford Hotel
#21 of 852 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Granville Hotel - Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peek a Booze Hotel
Peek a Booze Hotel
#194 of 852 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 852 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manhattan
The Manhattan
#2 of 852 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edenfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edenfield Guest House

Property: The Edenfield Guest House
Address: 17 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 852 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edenfield Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully refurbished guest house offering exceptional standards of accommodation. A real home away from home. Winner of Blackpool in Bloom 2007, rated 4 star accommodation providers by English Tourist Board. B&B and full evening meal menus available. All rooms feature quality en-suite shower rooms, TV's with free view and wireless internet available in all rooms. Licensed bar offering drinks & snacks to guests. Limited free parking available on request. Adults only, no children, no groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Edenfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edenfield Guest House Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing