We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time at The Doric” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time at The Doric”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We have just returned from the Doric Hotel after a great weekend with family and friends. We had a reduced price per person so the value was exceptional. When we arrived we were designated the Doric Suite room which was clean and had recently been redecorated although not a modern look but comfortable and warm. The hotel provided evening meal from a set menu that changed every night. The food was served a little too quickly to be honest, but was good. I think the tables were cleared in time for the eveining entertainment. This included bingo and a singer! Classic Blackpool! The walk into the main town centre takes about 30 - 40mins stroll along the promenade.However the bus route is right outside the hotel on the main road if you don't fancy walking. A cab was around £6!! We were lucky to have great weather so choose to walk. When we got back we took the opportunity to take a dip in thesmallish indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room before the evening meal. The staff were helpful and polite. We would definately go back same time next year before the season kicks in (too much in full season for me TBH). I'm not sure what the normal prices are for the hotel but we had exceptional value for money. One thing to be aware of is that they are in the process of redecorating the rooms throughout the hotel. We were lucky to have a redecorated room, but some of the other rooms need to be redecorated.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat_g1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    250
    86
    31
    22
See reviews for
589
190
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Our stay at the Doric Hotel was enjoyed by all and we went there for my mom and dads 60th wedding anniversary. We went with all the family which included 2 young children and they were catered for brilliantly. The only down side was the heating was too hot but apart from that we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emjem09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

stayed at doric from monday to thursday 3 nights b&b (cost £300) place was very clean n staff were ok room was absolutely tiny (47) think i could have got a lot better for that kind of money , dont think ill be back in blackpool the resort is (apart from around the tower) rundown,dated and dirty.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

an extremely enjoyable holiday stayed two nights in a very clean and comfortable bedroom not the largest but quite adequate. Nice to see refurbishment program taking place improving standrds. Service at both dinner and breakfast was polite and efficient and both meals good wholesome cooking and very enjoyable. Enjoyed our swim in adequate facilities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Me and my partner took our 11 month old twins for the weekend and couldn't fault anything other than that the room was TOO hot! Other than that the room was perfect. It has 2 DOUBLE beds, a set of bunk beds and a travel cot. Everything was clean throughout the hotel. The food was faultless. There seemed to be a shortage of highchairs but by the saturday they had bought 4 new ones much to my delight as for 2 of our meals my babies had to sit in their pushchair. The location was ok for us as we enjoy walking and also the best lights start right opposite the hotel. There is a pub at the side of the hotel which is noisy and doesn't quieten down til the early hours however if it wasn't so hot in the room then we would have probably had the window shut and probably wouldn't have heard it. I would go back again to this hotel and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallysaxo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing