We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at The Doric Hotel”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at The Doric Hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent stay at the Doric hotel. Great food and lovely newly decorated rooms. Sea view rooms a MUST! There is also an indoor and outdoor pool. We did not use the outdoor one but the indoor one was ok. Changing rooms need renovation but not all hotels in Blackpool have pools so really it's a bonus.We all had such a great stay we have booked again this year! :)

Room Tip: Pay extra for a newly renovated sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardb97531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    258
    90
    31
    22
See reviews for
621
198
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

From arriving on Friday afternoon to leaving on Monday morning - a first class experience as usual! We can't praise this hotel too much The staff are fantastic and a credit to the hotel - especially James and his team in the restaurant! Lyndon and Jannette Wade and Ken and Hazel Parker

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenHazelParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

this was our second holiday at the doric ,and we brought more family with us this time! the food is lovely and the staff are wonderful nothing is too much trouble. there's great entertainment in 2 different rooms for all ages, they had great Halloween party for the kids my husband did go as spiderman !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON.LANCS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This review covers various visits to the Doric during 2013 and we can honestly say that we have been totally satisfied on every visit with the friendly and efficiency of the staff, the quality of the food and the cleanliness of the rooms.Any problems are ironed out very quickly by the management and in our opinion it is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side are more sheltered during bad weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAINTGEORGE685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel never fails to impress us and that is why we keep on returning. Staff were great and helpful, food was tasty and plenty of it, hotel was immaculately clean and the cleaners work so hard. Our room was lovely and we got a sea view - only a small extra charge per night and soo worth it! The hotel was lovely and warm so perfect after a nice walk down the beach which is right opposite the hotel. The bar staff were great and the hotel is tastefully decorated. The pool is a lovely addition and we always enjoy a swim and steam in a morning. Would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone, a credit to Blackpool!!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view to see the lovely beach in Blackpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited the doric for the 1st time for a weekend in jan we really had a gud time the food was like eat as much as you can service we loved the room and the view was unbelieveable we stay in a cornor suite with a massive bay window.the staff coundnt do enuff for us especially jason.we cant wait go here again.x

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As always my review will be as I found it.

This will be the 5th year on the bounce we have spent the first weekend of the year at the Doric and this year is by far the worst. If you read last year's review of the Doric you'll find a much it differing to this one. May be things have slipped a little or they were just having an off day.

The Doric seems to play room roulette; they have a variety of different standard rooms from the modern and contemporary to the downright shabby. This year we have been allocated a room that was last decorated in 1987. Twin wallpaper mostly separated by border. I say mostly as there are sections peeling off. The sink and toilet were pink (circa 1968) matched with a white bath.
The double bed has seen much better days and the mattress had the consistency of quicksand. It bottomed out when you sat on it!

The meal of Friday night left a lot to be desired. The 'Lentil & Bacon' soup, although tasting very nice, tasted mainly of chicken accompanied by a dry bread roll. The missus had over cooked 'gammon' in a sickly sweet sauce for her main while I plumed for the chicken. This was a mistake! Dry, tasteless and chewy.
Pudding wasn't much better. The wife went for the chocolate gateau that was as dry as the soup bread roll. I was treated to an almost in-enable and extremely burnt bread & butter pudding.
Our table server was in attentive and unengaging and we felt like we were almost inconveniencing him.
Things were redeemed a little with the meal on Saturday night, all tasted pretty good and served well but had a bit of a school dinner feel about the whole affair.

Not all doom & gloom though, the arcade/amusement facilities have been upgraded, the pool/hot tub/steam room area is as good as it's ever been and a majority of the staff are friendly and approachable. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and everything is run well.

Let's hope things will have improved in time for next years visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
739 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing