We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were staying in Blackpool for the first time. We decided to stay at the Doric.There are no adjectives to this except for EXCELLENT !! The reviews expressed were totally correct .The staff were exceptional,and can you pass on my comments to JAMES in the restaurant who went out of his way to answer a question that ,although he was busy,he got us a satisfactory answer..

Room Tip: Have a smoking section from rooms 67
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Doric Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

nice comfortable sea view room, very helpful staff through out the hotel and the food was exellent we have been several times and have never been disapointed.
however I think the re-enstatement of the indoor shauna would make the spa even better.

Room Tip: 2/3/4 floors are quieter in the evening
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here when visiting our friends and their family, who were all staying in this hotel too. After discovering they were on half board and we were not, we were happily accommodated in the dining room at very short notice with no fuss, paying for the 4 course meal. We were also offered a free 4 course meal on the night of our departure after our friends party realized we had paid a lot more than they had for not booking directly with the hotel, which was a lovely touch.
The indoor swimming pool is very small but its nice for kids and also has a jacuzzi and an excellent steam room.
The room was spacious and clean, if dated in decor and furniture, but all the fittings and fixings in the bathroom were either broken or loose, the bed was comfy but too small. The bunk beds also needed the screws tightening as it creaked badly every time our daughter moved.
The walls are quite thin as we could clearly hear other people in their rooms and corridors and also I didnt like the fact that the bathroom of the room above us was directly over our heads when we were in bed! So you could clearly hear people using the facilities and when the toilet was flushed it sounded like the water was going to come through the ceiling! Despite this the hotel was quiet throughout the night..
Also just one other point, when I booked our room using the hotels webpage, somehow it booked us twice. Whilst the hotel were very quick in contacting me to check if i did indeed need two rooms (which I didnt ) they kept the booking fee of £4 for the room that was cancelled. Now I do understand that this was a non refundable booking fee, but feel its a little harsh given I didnt actually book two rooms, that it was their system that booked me in twice. Also whilst £4 isnt a massive amount, if this happens everytime someone books using the webpage then it will mount up ?!

All in all we did have a good stay here, the staff are very helpful and accommodating and work hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starchypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed in several Blackpool hotels over the last 25 years and can honestly say The Doric is the best. From check-in to departure nothing was too much trouble for all the Staff. Service of food and at the bar was first class with a good choice of meals and portions to satisfy the largest of appetites. Dining room staff were always immaculately turned out and, without exception, very friendly yet professional. Would recommend The Doric to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 30 on the second floor has a great sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martyn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed here with my elderly parents for my 40'th Birthday. My husband arranged for some surprise guest to dine with us which was acomodated and they came out with my birthday cake and the table was decorated all without me knowing. The staff were so friendly and help full, Brilliant. Thank you so much for a great week end break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gripper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like a previous review I also stayed at the Doric for a dancing weekend. We book the hotel every year to accommodate our whole dance school of over 200 people which means we take every single room in the hotel. Each year the hotel manager and staff do their upmost to make our stay very very welcome. They provide excellent friendly service and are always willing to alter their day to suit ours. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and comfortable but unfortunately because we take every room in the hotel there are going to be rooms that don't suit everyone. However, on many occasions the hotel, when notified, will do their upmost to sort out any issues that upset guests including accommodating guests in their sister hotel Park House. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 101Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great find! The staff at this hotel are the GOLD STANDARD of customer service. Everyone was so friendly yet professional. There were seven of us in our party aged between 7 years old and 78 years old and all of us loved it. The pool, although small, was a big hit with the kids as was the evening entertainment. The staff in the dinning room were nothing short of fantastic in a very busy restaurant. We were half board, and with 5 fussy eaters on board I was a bit worried but the selection was very good with both kids and vegetarian menus available...and the meals were superb...4 courses every night plus coffee and mints - my waist line will never be the same again - but it was sooo worth it!
Our family room was in need of decor updating however it was very clean and comfortable with a view from one window of the seaside and the other of the hill and snow in the distance oh and over looking the out door pool too! The other 2 rooms that my family had, had already been updated and were nicely done. Every day our room was cleaned and the beds made/changed as required and fresh towels when required too.
We also took advantage of the free bus trip to Liverpool that was provided by the hotel.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,107 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
429 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing