We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“29 years, and still going. What can I say?”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love this hotel! The food is excellent, its such a great place to be and the staff are so friendly and welcoming, they love to have friendly conversation and really make you feel welcome. Its perfect for children as they provide kids entertainment and disco's. 29 years, and I'm not bored of this place. Its great to come here even as a weekend break. The decor of the hotel is very modern and most of the rooms have been re-decorated and look brilliant. I can't fault anything apart from the weather sometimes! My faveourite part of staying at this hotel is the food. It is beautiful, very fast, its served within a minute and the relationships you create with some long term staff is what makes It worth coming every single time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JadeMayWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

recently checked into the doric with my 3 young grandchildren. parking right outside the front door. tram stop across the road into town centre or cleveleys/fleetwood. a lovely ambience as you enter. residents and staff inviting and helpful to me. we used the swimming pool and facilities which were shallow for the little ones to enjoy. seemed very family orientated, whilst also catering well for the older guests. special thanks to george a bar/restaurant waiter for going that extra mile with the kids ice.creams. unfortunately we had to check out in the evening before sleeping over, and found all the staff along the way very helpful. if i have the chance, will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wildberrytravelFY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The brochure says Blackpool's best known family hotel and voted 3rd best family breaks 2012 in the UK. They certainly live up to their reputation. From the moment you walk in the door you are made welcome. The hotel is friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is first class.
The restaurant is a welcoming place and James Drury goes out of his way to make the experience great. The young people who serve the tables cannot do enough to make your meal enjoyable and relaxing. Even though the snow was a blizzard and the wind chill was very cold, I had a tremendous holiday due to the efforts of all the staff. Value for money. Definitely. Look forward to returning at the end of October. Jim, Grangemouth, Scotland

Room Tip: All rooms are clean comfortable and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Morar1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had another super week on the gold club met up with everyone we had such a super week although the weather wasn't great it didn't keep us in went into Blackpool on Sunday with Doreen and David we went down on the tram ,it was great because
the tram stop is facing the hotel which is ideal for people who can't walk very far.
the staff were fantastic as usual nothing to much trouble,James was his usual chirpy self always ready to greet people when they entered the restraunt the chefs made some great sauces to complaiment the meals although I myself didn't have any only because I am on a diet but everyone commented on how tastie they were,I enjoyed the seafood starter and the pattie more of them please.once again congratulations to Simon,Alex ,John and all the staff for making the Doric such a fantastic hotel hopefully you will be awarded your three stars like your sister hotel the park house very soon here are a few photos hope you enjoy them xx

Stayed: March 2013
4  Thank jacqueline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we have just arrived back from the DORIC HOTEL and i must say without any doubt best hotel in Blackpool.The staff cannot do enough for you,the hotel is very clean,the room we stayed in was adequate,food to die for not for the faint hearted or dieters...Tram stops directly outside.the guests are also friendly . The nightly entertaiment was ok but catered more for the over 60s.overall brilliant value for money.... one downside the heating was not on in the dining room and it was freezing,but due to the weather im sure it was worse than normal....do not let this put you off...BOOK THIS HOTEL NOW.... George was a real hard worker and made you feel very welcome,a mention must be also made to the waiters and waitress,s they too work really hard and a special mention to Dawn,thank you..Me and my family will certainly book again...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHERRYSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful hotel - staff in all departments are really polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Food was first class and the entertainment was varied - there was plenty of singing and all sorts of dancing but you would be hard pressed to beat the comedian on the Thursday night - excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel - this is the 4th time we have stayed there and can fault nothing.

Room Tip: Have stayed in four different rooms and all have been first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel 3 out of the last 4 summers and would highly recomend this to anyone planning on visiting blackpool. everytime we have been there the staff have been great food great and have entertainment on most nights not my cup of tea but the kids and girlfriend enjoyed it. the only down side is the heat somethimes it can get really hot as there is a heated pool indoors but on the other side its great fun for the kids there is also a sauna and pool outside which is good. i cant see me ever staying in any other hotel in blackpool aslong as the doric is open. rates are a bargin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
442 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $91 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing