We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twixmas fun”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
thehuddstribe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Twixmas fun”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for a 3 night stay from 28th dec which the doric class as a twixmas break. We had booked 2 rooms a family room 63 and a double 105 bothe were fine 63 over looked the outdoor pool at the back and had a single, bunk and double beds in 105 was a double on the side by uncle toms pub and had side sea views..this was our 3rd visit since June and we have never had a complaint about anything the food is always hot and plentiful with great choices and if you want a childrens meal or vegetarian meal you can order at reception before 4pm..James the restaurant manager really takes the time to speak to people and is very friendly. The reception staff are always chatty and friendly as are the bar staff and entertainment staff. The pool area in the basement is good as is the steam room.
The hotel is great we can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehuddstribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    258
    90
    31
    22
See reviews for
621
199
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many times I already knew of the high standards at this hotel, but they pulled out all the stops to make sure everyone had a superb Christmas and New Year. The hotel is run very professionally by John Kay and all his staff who go out of thier way to make sure everybody is happy. excellent food and entertainment in excellent surroundings. Thank you and keep up the high standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As regular visitors we already know of the high standards we will receive at the Doric. Although the weather was poor, we still enjoyed our winter break. This Hotel caters for all eventualities, and if the weather is poor, you have the opportunity to meet other guests in one of the lounges, go for a swim, watch T.V. read a book, or watch the world go by from the sea view lounge.
Have you noticed one name which crops up in most of the Feedbacks, James!!. He is in charge of the Dining Room, and is the most pleasant and helpful person you could wish you meet. Whether you are 5 or 95 years old, he can fully relate to you.
The Hotel is comfortable, the rooms are totally adequate, the entertainment is of high standard, and all the staff are pleasant and helpful in every way.
We look forward to further enjoyable holidays at the Doric in future.
Christine & Roland

Room Tip: Obviously front rooms with a full sea view are the best, however, most of the side rooms have a bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having just returned from a 3 night break over the Twixmas Period. I would just like to say a very big thank you to all the staff at the Doric Hotel.
As usual, they made our stay very enjoyable.
Special thanks to James (who runs the Dining Room) and his staff, who are always available for any problems / concerns you might have. Nothing is to much trouble for them.
Special thanks to Stuart and all the bar staff, for providing adequate liquid refreshment as and when required. And always with a smile.
And last of all. A Very Special thanks to Santa Claus. He obviously came all the way from the North Pole (or was it from behind the bar) to wish all the guests a Merry Xmas and hand out presents to all the guests.
This hotel is one of the very best in Blackpool.
In fact its that good, if you dont reserve your next holiday before you leave, you struggle to get back in there.
Top Marks to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Crendon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back from 3 night Twixmas Break. Everything was brilliant - nothing too much trouble for any member of staff, (compliments to James and the restaurant staff who were fab!)
Rooms were spacious, lovely and clean, as was everywhere in the hotel and food fantastic
Excellent value for money 10/10
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a family room with a sea view (31) - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from the Twixmas break. Food good, entertainment superb. All the staff went out of their way to help (especially James and the restaurant staff). Will definitely be booking again for next year. Excellent value for money. 10/10

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just back from spending a great christmas (2012) at the doric. The food was excellent and there was plenty to eat and there was always a good choice at every meal. We would like to give praise to James the dining room manager, and Mark the dining room superviser who were excellent and very proffesional in running the dining room and always having time to talk to all the guests to put everyone at ease and make everyone feel welcome.The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, with porter service available to help with luggage if needed. The entertainment was brilliant with father christmas arriving on christmas day to give all the guests a presant.We have already booked for next christmas and would recomend the doric hotel to anyone who wants a great holiday
dave & jan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
744 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Property: Doric Hotel
Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#13 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing