We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARM HOTEL”
Review of Doric Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doric Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in the Doric Hotel Blackpool. We were received with a very warm welcome and the checkin was easy peasy. The staff were very pleasant (except one waitress in the dining room who gave the impression that she obviously didn't want to be there) the remainder were great, helpful and friendly.

The hotel is well situated and on the tram route. It is within walking distance of the centre.

The rooms are wery clean and the housekeeping staff did a superb and very efficient job of servicing the rooms. Well done.

The lights were fantastic and we had a super visit overall.

One criticism is that the heating was turned up full and it was far too hot in the dining room and throughout the hotel corridors. It was so hot when one got up from breakfast or dinner the seat was left wet with perspiration. It was difficult to cool the room down to be able to sleep.

Our experience overall was very good and I would commend this hotel to you. They do charge £2.00 for Wi Fi (half hour) but the reception couldn't say whether it had to be used in one go or in spurts. I didn't indulge them so I can not answer a question on this.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad location for rooms but it can be a bit noisy on the side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barneyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked after reading all the good reviews and it didn't disappoint. The service was outstanding. Considering it is 2 star, the rooms were contemporary and very clean. The food was tasty and plentiful. I almost dont want all you guys to book it up. We'll be coming back and telling all our friends...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sophnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Doric many times and have never been disappointed.The food is excellent and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.Like most places the entertainment is average and sometimes depends on the people visiting to keep things moving and a good bingo win helps!
I would recommend this hotel it is very clean,has two swimming pools,good food,friendly staff and the location is excellent for public transport.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well where should i start??!!
We were in room 50 for the September weekend, when we entered our room i was a bit disappointed with the decor as it was nothing like it showed on the web site but after having a wee look round the room was spotless so cant complain, Ten out of ten for cleanliness!!
When we we arrived for our dinner, we were well impressed, food choice was amazing..infact the food was amazing so ten out of ten for the food and for the staff..they were brilliant, sooo i would highly recommend this hotel, it's the best hotel i've ever stayed in in Blackpool, will return back next year to see if the decor's been updated ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lync80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The main reason I chose the hotel was for the promise of catering for a gluten free diet and the availability of a swimming pool! We were not disappointed! We were extremely pleased with the care and attention we received in the restaurant from James who looked after our dietery needs brilliantly.This is very important to us as my daughter and husband are coeliac. James was keen to ensure our individual needs were catered for and provided an outstanding service with great knowledge and attention to detail.The food was excellent and overall our break was great value for money. The hotel, pool and steam room were very well maintained and very clean. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We did not make use of the hotel entertainment as this was not to our taste. The pleasure beach and South, Central and North piers were easily accessible by tram with a tram stop right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JannetteGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a fabulous break, the Hotel is clean, the rooms are very spacious with compact bathrooms, but the staff and quality/quantity of food are excellent. James runs the restaurant like clockwork, with nothing too much trouble. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a family suite, obviously a little dearer, but amazing! We had our own jaccuzi in our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

25 people in our group went for a week's holiday. We had no complaints. Food was good as was the service. Rooms were spacious, mostly geared for families. My husband & I had 1double bed & 3single beds in our room. Bathrooms were compact but perfectly adequate. Everywhere was very clean.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
472 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doric Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doric Hotel

Address: 48-52 Queens Promenade | Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doric Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Doric Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doric Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing