We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Corona
Ranked #20 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband & I returned last night from the Corona. I always read reviews on Tripadvisor before I book any accommodation & was very impressed with the rave reviews the Corona had so did not hesitate in booking.

Firstly, the location is excellent. Away from the total buzz & noise but near enough for a nice walk if that's where you want to be. Also very easy to find.

The outside of the Corona looks very inviting. On arrival at reception we were greeted by Paul - check in was swift & welcoming. First impressions were excellent.

We had room 16 which was on the top floor - had everything we needed & was brightly decorated & spotless. The bed/pillows were sooooo comfortable & we had a good sized bathroom with toiletries & lovely, fluffy towels. Refreshments tray.

After a great night's sleep we headed down to the breakfast room which is really bright & welcoming. The breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked & plentiful. Grapefruit segments, prunes, a good variety of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit & scrummy little muffins/flapjacks all on the buffet cabinet. There was a menu with a wide choice of hot breakfast food - full English, kippers, beans on toast etc. etc.
The waitresses/waiter were absolutely charming. Very friendly & efficient.

We also availed of the bar services while we were there. The bar (like absolutely all areas of the Corona) was bright, welcoming, beautifully decorated. Drink was VERY reasonably priced. The bar has patio doors which lead onto a quiet, enclosed area which is fenced all round with plenty of tables/chairs - lots of flowers in tubs etc - really lovely.

Paul & Richard were charming hosts. They have obviously worked very hard to bring the Corona up to 1st class standard & were there to give information should it be required.
Of course there is another member of staff who was absolutely BEAUTIFUL & even has his own staff badge - none other than Reece. A beautiful, friendly boy with huge eyes & long, floppy ears - if Paul & Richard had turned away for a second, I'd have had Reece in my suitcase!!!!

After we checked out, Paul was kind enough to show us some of the other rooms - they are all individually decorated & the deluxe rooms are to die for!!!! The whole place smacks of class.

Thank you guys for making us so welcome - it was our wedding anniversary, which is why we were there & being in such a lovely place with such nice hosts just made our special time even more special.

I would not hesitate in returning to the Corona & would highly recommend to friends, family & anyone who reads this review.

Kind regards,
Elizabeth & Allan Gray

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Well, I really don't know what to say after reading your remarkable rave.
I just cant tell you how proud we are when we read guests reviews that are positive, informative, honest from the heart and of course true.You have covered every detail, informing prospective guests all about the Corona. I couldn't have written a better review if I tried.
It was great to have time to chat with you both, and of course, when I can, I do like to show guests around the different room styles and grades.
I guess we will be seeing you return in the future and that is enough for us to realise we have performed our duties to the best of our ability.
Once again, thank you so much for your fantastic words, it is so appreciated in a tough competitive market such as Blackpool.
Paul Richard & Puppy Reece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    62
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
206
234
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Don't waste your money at to one of the cheaper hotels along the front, it's worth paying a bit extra to stay here. Service is excellent, the rooms are brilliant and well appointed. The Corona is on the South Shore end of Blackpool, just a five minute walk to the pleasure beach. The breakfast is lovely with lots a choice. The hotel has been decorated to a high standard. The bar prices are really good too. It's an absolute pleasure to stay here. Richard and Paul are fabulous hosts.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much, I don't think you could have shouted any louder about the Corona, its great to read your enthusiastic review. I agree what you say about pay a little extra, I say to guests, pay a little more to get a little more. I know there are hotels in Blackpool where rooms are £25.00 per night with breakfast and I am sure many of them are very acceptable, but as you know, we go that extra mile to ensure all our staff are trained to the highest standards and the team appreciate the importance of customer care, cleanliness, and respect for our guests.
I thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time to review the Corona to the world.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

had to write another review just got back this morning had a lovely time staying at the corona. breakfast was hot and made fresh to order staff in the restaurent were very polite and looked after you very well. paul and richard keep a well run clean hotel. bar prices excellent and good measures. will be back sometine. its a great place to stay. oh i must mention the day pass for the tram and local bus we really got our moneys worth just £3.50 each well worth it.

Room Tip: some rooms smaller than others but all high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for putting on another review of the Corona, we know we have many repeat guests and I guess there is only so much you can say without repeating yourself, so thank you. Good point about the tram pass, excellent value at £3.50 for a full day unlimited travel on trams and buses, just ask Richard or Paul about where to buy these when you arrive. We are like Google on legs..........
Thank you ,
Paul & Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just returned from a short break at the Corona. Lovely small hotel in a pleasant area only a few yards from the promenade and a short stroll from the Pleasure Beach. The room was small but we were on an excellent deal so did not mind. Exceptionally clean, great breakfast and proprietors and staff could not be faulted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjulieayhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking time to write up your review,
Some rooms are on the small side and you are right, our deals reflect the rooms we offer. We are more than happy to offer upgrades on arrival to guests checking in from as little as £6.00 per person per day for a superior room with robes, slippers, chocolates and more space. Something to keep in mind.
Will you return? I hope so.
Thank you,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May on a voucher deal. The hotel is in an excellent location, less than 10 minutes walk to the Pleasure Beach and 5 minutes to the nearest bus and tram stops (Burlington Rd West). Rooms are very clean, with comfortable beds, a nicely stocked tea tray and plenty of hot water. Our room was "compact" but this didn't bother us as we were out most of the time and there was enough room for both of us to get ready.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with a good selection, and the bar area and "terrazza" are lovely, with reasonable drinks prices.

For us the stand out aspect of our stay was the warm hospitality of Paul and Richard. It was no trouble to check us in early, they were most helpful in advising us on local attractions and amenities, even coming up to us the following morning to ask how we'd got on exploring the area and giving us a drink on the house when we got engaged over the weekend.

Would definitely return and pay full price, thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 15 is compact, so if you require a bigger room do ask for an upgrade (if available).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandmaria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for all your points about your stay. We do try to ensure all our guests enjoy their time with us.
It is always a pleasure to read reviews that's are so informative.
I hope we see you return to the Corona in the future and pass on our good name among your family and friends.
Thank you so much.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

What a great place. Its very friendly the owners Paul and Richard make people so welcome. Spotlessly clean and lovely decor. Breakfasts tasty and good selection. Nice cosy bar, prices were really good. Enjoyed our little break on a deal. But will definately go back. Well done lads you deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trendyoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your contribution, it really is appreciated. As mentioned we do offer great deals, but this does not mean we compromise on standards or service to those guests who have been fortunate enough to secure one of or unbelievable deals.
I hope we do see you return as I know you enjoy your short breaks.
Until then, travel safe.
Paul & Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great value for money, very clean, fab brekkie, excellent attentive owners. The owner even gave us a lift up to a local restaurant to save us getting a taxi. Certainly a good place to go for all types of holiday. The Corona is in a nice quiet area yet only 5 mins walk to the pleasure beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillofMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello and thank you for the short but to the point review.
We have a selection of rooms and as you had single rooms you will have noticed, we do not add on huge supplements for this.
Perhaps on your next meet up with your friends, you will consider the Corona as your central point to stay, and as you mentioned it is quiet but not to far from the attractions.
Thanks,
Paul & Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#11 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rossall House
Rossall House
#24 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, near Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing