We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not excellent but the cleanest place I've stayed in Blackpool!”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Corona
Ranked #21 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not excellent but the cleanest place I've stayed in Blackpool!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I came here with my friend in August for a girls weekend away. It's a very friendly hotel and it is very clean. On arrival we noticed an issue with the shower not working, it was hanging off the wall and wouldn't turn on. I mentioned it to the owner who instantly moved us rooms as there was a danger of us being electrocuted if water got behind it. This was great however we would have been stuck if the b&b was to full occupancy. We didn't eat breakfast here as we were never awake on time so can't comment on the food, it did smell nice though. I personally didn't like the rooms, they were very clean but I didn't like the decor or size or layout which put me off staying here again. Location was fine, a little out of the way from everything however walking distance to the tram which takes you up and down the prom for only a small fee. If you have booked up or are thinking of booking up I'd say go for it but maybe pay the extra for a more spacious room as the compact rooms are VERY compact. Overall, good hotel I just don't think the rooms look as good as they look in the pictures.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emz956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Can I say thank you so much for your honesty, writing reviews can be a very delicate matter, but you have managed to put your opinion across and still say what you wanted without making the Corona sound like the worst place possible. I remember you staying with us and can understand your concern about the room sizes, it does get mentioned often and you made a good point about the superior rooms. As well as being a little larger, they also offer robes, slippers larger TV's and more enhanced furniture but still very casual, just as we want it to be for our guests.
Thank you so much and although we may not see you again, we hope to se many others who read this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    62
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
214
241
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Sept 15
we have just come back from a 2 night stay at the corona . We were given a very warm welcome from Paul and Richard there standards are very high our room was lovely with every thing you need and top quality towels & bedding the hotel is very clean and of a high standard .we also took our little dog Thank you both for a perfect break I would recommend this hotel - perfect

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatshowstodoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the time you have taken to write your thoughts on the Corona during your stay. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time here. Small dogs are welcome and the best part is, we do not charge. Our dog policy is fair, and this can be viewed on our web site.
I really hope we see you again and of course your little westie.
Many thanks,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed last nite at the corona hotel,everyone was so friendly and helpfull,it felt so peacefull and quiet,which is what we needed,they even given us baby monitors while we relaxed and had a drink at the bar :).i honestly carnt even believe how spotless the place is also,i was even looking for dust and cudnt find any lol.thers a choice at breakfast of pretty much everything,excellent fry up :).rooms was clean and fresh beddin,defo will be going bk ther again everytime i come to blackpool,£90 well worth it xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanbreeze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the outstanding review, we value all our guest reviews and I must say, there is so much we have to thank our staff for. Richard and myself work alongside the staff on a daily basis, in the dining room at breakfast, in the bar and cleaning bedrooms but they are a credit to the Corona and our standards will remain high both in cleanliness and customer care. We hope to see you back with us in the future. Thanks again,
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

5th september just got back from staying at the corona in blackpool . we had a lovely few days there paul and richard the owners are very friendly and our stay was very comfortable and the place very clean. will definetly be staying there again.also near the pleasure beach.

anna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario121275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, its appreciated and we do hope to see you return to the Corona in the future.
Paul & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Just got home after 4 nights at the Corona in Blackpool. Once again the hotel lived up to expectations and in fact each time we come we see improvements, rooms that were totally acceptable yet have been revamped and standard rooms just become much more than that. The food is as good as ever and the service second to none. Lovely friendly atmosphere with a proffessional couple at the helm. Well done Paul & Richard you should be very proud of yourselves and your team for remaining one of Blackpools top attractions. Heres to our next stay and to those looking for a great base in Blackpool you will be hardpushed to find better so what are you waiting for? Get booking and pack your bags and get ready to becoming a Corona regular....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186312Tonyp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for getting to work on your review as soon as you stepped off the train. You haven't wasted any time at all. We are grateful that we have been able to take care of you over the years and have got to know you both, As you know we love our job if you can call it that, it's more of a lifestyle, and every day we have the pleasure of meeting a huge and diverse amount of people, so being able to take time out with you both after getting to know you year on year was a treat for us to relax with you both. You are very kind speaking so highly of the Corona and yes, we are always putting money back in the business to improve bedrooms, public areas and of course staff training.
Thank you again, Paul Richard & Reece
Reece thanks you for the squeaky toys, he loves them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After being let down by another hotel we were supposed to be booked into, we were welcomed into the Corona without any fuss. Having been to Blackpool many times (more than ten year ago) I had known Blackpools hotels to be run down and very dated. The corona was neither, the rooms and bedding were upto date with plasma TV's on the wall. Clean is an understatement, not a spec of dust in the room or other areas of the hotel. Absolutely immaculate. The host is very friendly and food was fab! Great service and well worth the money plus right next to the pleasure beach! We will defo stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawndelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the time you have taken to review the Corona. I know we were not your original choice, but saying that, I believe you were relived that it worked out the way it did. I hope we do see you return to the Corona and that you continue to share your experiences to your family and friends. Thank you.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Corona with my family for a long weekend at the end of January and we was all very impressed. The hotel is nicely decorated and the effort into the set up and presentation is clear to be seen and the room was ideal for us. The breakfast was a highlight as the choice was superb and very tasty too! Paul and the breakfast waiters were all very good especially for catering for one of us who needed gluten free. The team are very customer service focused and very friendly too. The location right at the back of the pleasure beach was great as it was a few minuets walk to the beach, tram stop and 5-10 min form pleasure beach main entrance, sandcastle and south pier. Parking was all on street with a few spaces on front, but its not a problem.

Very good hotel and will certainly be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the in-depth review, we take on all our guests comments and pass these on to the staff in the dining room and bedrooms who work so hard with us to ensure all our guests have a safe, clean and enjoyable stay. So, with our marks so high, I hope we will see yo again? Thank you so much.
Paul, Richard and all the Corona team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Number One South Beach
Number One South Beach
#49 of 858 in Blackpool
299 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#9 of 858 in Blackpool
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 858 in Blackpool
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#6 of 858 in Blackpool
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 858 in Blackpool
1,031 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 858 in Blackpool
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Property: The Corona
Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. By booking by phone, we can often save you that few pounds that we all like to save. Only one small dog 10kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing